Old 13th February 2008, 17:04   #1

Wait for Nano or Buy M800

One of close friends was asking me a tough question - If he can go ahead and buy M800 at approx 2.4 Lacs OTR Bangalore or wait for Nano till September - October, which he can.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:15   #2

well..well wait for nano and then buy an 800. you will appreciate an 800 i think.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:17   #3

Rightly Said. After Seeing the Nano, u will really appreciate the 800 . An Alto can be a good option though
Old 13th February 2008, 17:17   #4

There will be soem rate cuts on M800 near the launch date of Nano so its worth wait if possible
But still Nano is still far away
Old 13th February 2008, 17:17   #5

wait... once nano is released, either go for it or get 800. am sure that the price would have dropped further!
Old 13th February 2008, 17:18   #6

Look Nano and M800 are different segments

If you are looking at only city drive then wait for Nano (eg if you have time and resource to wait), if you are also thinking of some far of distance / highway drives then go for M800.

Tata claiming a top speed of 104kmph for Nano means you cannot take it to highways. Plus M800 is tried and tested and loved machine !!!

Abhi

Last edited by akroy : 13th February 2008 at 17:19.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:19   #7

Oh!!! I see two more replies and guess all are thinking on the same line!!!! :-)
Old 13th February 2008, 17:20   #8

With 2.4 laks u can buy almost 2 nano as per the current pricing..god only knows whether they will sell it in the same price.anyways worth waiting for

All depends what your friend's priorities are..
Old 13th February 2008, 17:23   #9

Regarding the Nano, it is also possible that the waiting time may be in years. The expected production for the first year will be 250,000 units and the demand will be more. Analysts are expecting and upto 1 year waiting period for the vehicle after its release. Your friend will have to keep this in mind also.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:28   #10

wait for the launch of nano!, this will surely make the maruti guys to reduce the prices, since your friend can wait, why not wait and get a M800 with all the pretty accessories and discounts!

we already know that M800 is a better car!, and can do highway trips when needed!, and the maintainance and the A.S.S. is well known and well spread all over India!, so now you decide over them both!

for got to add! the spares might still be on the higher side for the nano than the M800, you see my M800 1994 model, does not cost me more than 350bucks for the general service! dont know the about the current version, but should not cost you more than 1000bucks for a general service!

Last edited by rider60 : 13th February 2008 at 17:31.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:29   #11

Originally Posted by ravradha View Post
One of close friends was asking me a tough question - If he can go ahead and buy M800 at approx 2.4 Lacs OTR Bangalore or wait for Nano till September - October, which he can.

This link says the Nano wont be available for unconditional purchase. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/687927-post1.html
Old 13th February 2008, 17:36   #12

My suggestion is wait till Nano is released. Then TD botht eh vehicles and then decide. But Nano is meant only for city driving. It will be bad on highways. If your friend will ake it to highways, then don't opt for Nano. M800 will be a good vehicle. Proven. You can even drive in highways. It is more sturdier than Nano.
Old 13th February 2008, 17:37   #13

If your friend can wait till nano then let him wait till then and decide. i guess if the nano is does well then the price of M800 goes down. Can any one guess what could be the final cost of nano? i guess it would be around 1.3 ex. If M800 price is reduced by 30K, which is achievable, then nano will face some competition.

just my 2 paise.

Last edited by kkr2k2 : 13th February 2008 at 17:41.
Old 13th February 2008, 18:05   #14

go for a used m800 for the time being for a price lesser than 1lakh.then live with it till nano is released and after that appreciate it .you can continue like that or sell it and go for a new m-800. after that.
ram
Old 13th February 2008, 18:09   #15

I suggest to stretch your budget a little more & buy a Alto.