Old 27th June 2011, 12:25   #76

Re: Car within 4.5Lakh

Originally Posted by prasana_19 View Post
If i buy, I should buy it from Coimbatore (recently moved, as i work here) or Chennai (native and parents stay there) dealer only, but Chennai Sundaram dealers sucks big time with their sales & after sales service
What is the difference wrt price? And what discounts/ freebies are being offered at either end?
If all other things/ costs are equal, buy at the place where you will get a hassle free buying experience. After all you can service it at any city/ *** centre you want/ prefer.
Old 27th June 2011, 12:35   #77

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
What is the difference wrt price? And what discounts/ freebies are being offered at either end?
If all other things/ costs are equal, buy at the place where you will get a hassle free buying experience. After all you can service it at any city/ *** centre you want/ prefer.

Coimbatore dealers were more responsive than Chennai.Both the dealers are not offering any discount for Diesel version, however, w.r.t petrol version the discounts are;

COimbatore Offers:
Insurance free (GM & Dealer combined offer)
Accessories worth 8K (GM & Dealer combined offer)
Basic accessories like mudflap, etc., free (dealer offer)
Corporate discount 3K
Accessories worth 3k free (Dealer offer) he suggested keyless entry option

Chennai dealer offered only basic discounts, but i din't push him much thou' as i heard a lot about their A**.

As i am going to be settled in Coimbatore, planning to book it here. I asked the SE to come to my office by this wednesday to collect the booking amount cheque (25K), ll wait for diesel version, if not satisfied with price etc., planning to swap the cheque for a petrol version.

Wat say?????
Old 8th July 2011, 17:29   #78

I am sorry for barging into this thread.

But I too am in a dilemma regarding a car within Rs. 4.5 lacs.

The main considerations are:

1. the car will be used by my wife exclusively.

2. The total driving will be 175 kms a month upto Diwali, and 1000 kms a month thereafter.

I have the following deals available:

1. Maruti Swift lxi-Rs. 4.53 lacs-white/silky silver colour.

2. Chevrolet Beat LT-Rs. 4.42 lacs-Bright Red colour.

3. Tata Indica eV2 LS Diesel-Rs. 4.62 lacs-any colour.

4. Hyundai Santro GL plus-with CNG kit-Metallic-Rs. 4.25 lacs.

5. Ford Figo Exi Petrol-Rs. 4.60 lacs.

Please advise.
Old 8th August 2011, 02:35   #79

Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
I am sorry for barging into this thread.

But I too am in a dilemma regarding a car within Rs. 4.5 lacs.

The main considerations are:

1. the car will be used by my wife exclusively.

2. The total driving will be 175 kms a month upto Diwali, and 1000 kms a month thereafter.

I have the following deals available:

1. Maruti Swift lxi-Rs. 4.53 lacs-white/silky silver colour.

2. Chevrolet Beat LT-Rs. 4.42 lacs-Bright Red colour.

3. Tata Indica eV2 LS Diesel-Rs. 4.62 lacs-any colour.

4. Hyundai Santro GL plus-with CNG kit-Metallic-Rs. 4.25 lacs.

5. Ford Figo Exi Petrol-Rs. 4.60 lacs.

Please advise.
First as it is your wife using the car, I am assuming you have another car.

Dont look at diesels as your expected monthly running will not offer any significant savings. The Santro GL is a tried and tested vehicle and offers a decent resale as well. You may also be able to get a Vista Safire aqua for this price. Or you can choose to wait for the new Swift, however I believe it will have a pretty long waiting period.
Old 8th August 2011, 09:55   #80

Originally Posted by torquecurve View Post
First as it is your wife using the car, I am assuming you have another car.

Dont look at diesels as your expected monthly running will not offer any significant savings. The Santro GL is a tried and tested vehicle and offers a decent resale as well. You may also be able to get a Vista Safire aqua for this price. Or you can choose to wait for the new Swift, however I believe it will have a pretty long waiting period.
Thanks for your valuable suggestion bro.

My apologies first.

I should have updated the status here which I have not.

My apologies again.

But after a very painful period of research we have bought a Skoda Fabia HTP classic (Red) in a very good deal on the 21st July.

My daughter has named the car Laal Pari.

I am putting together another thread for the same.
Old 8th August 2011, 11:47   #81

Thanks for your valuable suggestion bro.

My apologies first.

I should have updated the status here which I have not.

My apologies again.

But after a very painful period of research we have bought a Skoda Fabia HTP classic (Red) in a very good deal on the 21st July.

No Sweat buddy! Congrats on your Skoda Fabia HTP! It would look great in Red, put in a white racing stripe and it will be a looker!

Waiting for your 'other thread'
torquecurve is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th August 2011, 12:16   #82

Originally Posted by torquecurve View Post
No Sweat buddy! Congrats on your Skoda Fabia HTP! It would look great in Red, put in a white racing stripe and it will be a looker!

Waiting for your 'other thread'
Thanks Bro for the wishes.

BTW, the car drives great, better than the Fusion.

I haven't driven the car much, still.
Old 8th August 2011, 12:57   #83

Congrats dude! if you dont mind do put up details of the deal you got. It can be a reference for other buyers here.
Old 8th August 2011, 14:47   #84

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
Congrats dude! if you dont mind do put up details of the deal you got. It can be a reference for other buyers here.
I got it at Rs. 4.45 lakhs OTR Delhi, with Rear Parcel tray and Zero Depreciation Insurance.
deepfusion is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2011, 08:20   #85

I too am looking for a small car for my family in kerala for 4.5 laks (budget might be increased to 5.5)

1) Petrol, as the running wont cross more than 800 per month.
2) Low maintanance car/brand preferred. My dads likes Maruti because of the same reason.
3) 60% self driven & 40% chaeuffer driven.
4) dad is 5' 11" tall, so need some room for leg.

Please suggest me all the options between 4.5 - 5.5.

NOTE: I had opened a seperate thread and has started discussion but as it was deleted rather than merging i have to start it all over again. Sorry guys, whoever had provided some suggestions before.
Old 13th September 2011, 09:21   #86

Originally Posted by ~~VinZ~~ View Post
I too am looking for a small car for my family in kerala for 4.5 laks (budget might be increased to 5.5)

2) Low maintanance car/brand preferred. My dads likes Maruti because of the same reason.
Maruti Ritz petrol would best suit your requirements. It is a tall boy design, hence suited for tall people.

Being a Maruti, low maintenance and realiability are guaranteed.

Hyundai i10 could also be considered, but rear seat comfort is lacking.

Rohan
Old 13th September 2011, 11:14   #87

Considering that the car is for your dad, You may want to consider one of these tall boys

1. Hyundai Santro (workhorse, just that it's been around for a long while now, reliable and easy on maintenance)
2. Maruti Ritz (If you like the shape, especially rear design, nothing can beat this in this price range)
3. Hyundai i10 (rear seat comfort not too great)
Old 13th September 2011, 11:26   #88

I think the latest Vista suits your requirements. Low on maintanance, high on features and the best back seat comfort.

With your budget you may be able to opt for the GVX version which also comes with ABS!
Old 13th September 2011, 12:59   #89

Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
Maruti Ritz petrol would best suit your requirements. It is a tall boy design, hence suited for tall people.

Being a Maruti, low maintenance and realiability are guaranteed.

Hyundai i10 could also be considered, but rear seat comfort is lacking.

Rohan
Thanks Roshan. Ritz is definitely in my choices list and i10 not in my father's favourite list.

Originally Posted by singleton View Post
Considering that the car is for your dad, You may want to consider one of these tall boys

1. Hyundai Santro (workhorse, just that it's been around for a long while now, reliable and easy on maintenance)
2. Maruti Ritz (If you like the shape, especially rear design, nothing can beat this in this price range)
3. Hyundai i10 (rear seat comfort not too great)
Thanks Singleton.

Santro is been there for a long while now, that is the only reason i did not want it to be in my list tho it is a good catch.

Originally Posted by safari_lover View Post
I think the latest Vista suits your requirements. Low on maintanance, high on features and the best back seat comfort.

With your budget you may be able to opt for the GVX version which also comes with ABS!
Thanks safari_lover, for reminding about Vista, actually had completely forgotten about that option. Yes, GVX is in my budget but i might have to go for GLX to keep the on road price close to 4.5

Just did a small research on the cars available for <> 4.5 laks, below is the options i see to choose from.
  • Ford Figo Duratec Petrol ZXI 1.2 (i love the white color on Figo)
  • Maruti Suzuki Ritz Vxi BS-IV (For tall boys and yeah i do not hate the rear design)
  • Tata Indica Vista GLX Safire65 (have never driven one but it is reliable)
  • Chevrolet Beat LT Petrol (I love the design and my father did not dislike too)
  • Chevrolet Spark LT Opt with Airbag (I will get full option with ABS, airbag and if i pay 14k more then father do not have to think of service too)
What say? And any other suggestions or options greatly entertained. Thank You!!
Old 13th September 2011, 13:33   #90

The Beat sounds to be a good option, but is a bit tight in the rear seat IMHO.
What about the Brio that is to be launched soon?

You could also look at the resale market to get a better price on the same car or more car for the same price! In this case, more options would be opened up for you.