Old 29th July 2008, 19:35   #16

karan,

please ask him to do some basic math.
savings on spark LS versus higher investment in i10 and resale values 3 years down the line. Please understand that current prices are quite rock bottom and it'd take a fire sale to reduce prices reasonably (say more than 10%) below what it is now. I'd love it if someone can do the economics and prove me wrong but I think not
Old 29th July 2008, 19:39   #17

Wait for A-star. It will be launched near diwali, and if after the launch he finds A-star not suitable for him, he can still go for i10.
Old 29th July 2008, 19:56   #18

None of the above.
If you can, wait for the Splash!
Old 29th July 2008, 20:06   #19

Originally Posted by SohailPistawala View Post
karan : dont call me bhai... hehe police is on a lookout for bhais now a days hehe. Anyways i take in ur suggestion, as i mentioned earlier also that budget is the main thing. i also enquired about swift its something close to 4.76lakhs and with accessories like front power windows and other jazz would be at 5 lakhs approx. As wifey is little inclined towards swift, she is currently using a santro, so now wants a change. By the way Swift in ur avtaar looks nice as well as in the gallery.
Well i just bought the Swift Vxi few months back. It did fit my bill & quite happy with it. VFM ! The one in the avtaar is in some sunlight copper color i think. I have the Solid bright red. All the best for your purchase.

P.S : Phamilyman , thanks again . I shall recommend my friend the Spark again.

Thanks everyone for your valuable suggestions!
Old 27th November 2008, 08:00   #20

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post1070052

check this out
Old 27th November 2008, 08:59   #21

Originally Posted by vivekji05 View Post
Old thread alert.

Maybe karan should update what his friend went for.
Old 27th November 2008, 09:47   #22

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Old thread alert.

Maybe karan should update what his friend went for.
JK, The purchase has been postponed with the present situation of economy.
I dont think A Star impressed him much. Mostly i10.
Old 27th November 2008, 10:44   #23

I recommend i10 if the buget is their. It's definitely a better car than the a-Star
Old 27th November 2008, 13:40   #24

If its purely between A-Star and i10. IMO, its a no-brainer. It's got to be an i10 1.2 Kappa
Old 27th November 2008, 14:40   #25

Definitely. And even if he wants the A-Star he's going to have to wait for a long long time..

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
If its purely between A-Star and i10. IMO, its a no-brainer. It's got to be an i10 1.2 Kappa
Old 30th November 2008, 16:03   #26

how about the swift lxi... it's definitely more fun-to-drive than the i10..
although u'll be cutting on the features u'll get on the i10 era....
Old 1st December 2008, 19:57   #27

The A Star and i10 are both modern hatches with great engineering... one needs to check the new star for its new engine, handling etc(Suzukis small hatches must be good as always) but then i10 is now a proven unit, more powerful and quite a plush ride as well for the size of the car.... Swift Lxi is a great contender albeit stripped one at all the features... its power and handling being the best in class as far as hatchbacks are concerned... I think on the lower budget- A Star with all the loaded features or Swift basic and Higher budget- i10, Swift Diesel... All the best in selection...
Old 11th December 2008, 22:34   #28

Dude, A-star will be good drivers car. Its good for both city and highway. I rate A-star driver comfort better than swift, vista, i10, or any such small car. (not palio). A-star has lots of engineering into it. Less roll, good mileage, ergonomics, road gripping.

I10, looks like a car for professionals. Not much of engineering into it. But good plastics and build quality. The car does not feel stable. The driver would not feel as comfortable in i10 as in a-star.
Old 11th December 2008, 22:36   #29

Sorry for double posting. Mods, please delete
Dude, A-star will be good drivers car. Its good for both city and highway. I rate A-star driver comfort better than swift, vista, i10, or any such small car. (not palio). A-star has lots of engineering into it. Less roll, good mileage, ergonomics, road gripping, euro 4 compliant.

I10 has the looks. It looks like a car for the professionals. Not much of engineering into it. But good plastics and build quality. The car does not feel stable. The driver would not feel as comfortable in i10 as in a-star during long rides.
Old 11th December 2008, 22:39   #30

More power less fuel economy i 10
More fuel economy a bit less powerful engine A Star
Looks, ergonomics, driving impressions A Star
Overall choice if I am in your place A Star