Old 18th July 2009, 12:05   #1

Diesel hatchback for wife? EDIT : It's the Ritz!

will be buying a hatchback for my wife in about a months time,so need help from all of you.as it is third car in family-the other two being santro n verna cdri ,we want it to be small n frugal.as it will also be used ocaissonally by my father n sister so want it to be diesel.mom is very envious of the way my verna drinks diesel than her petrol santro,so we were thinking for diesel.budget upto six lacks.what are my options?help needed....
Old 18th July 2009, 13:55   #2

within that budget of below 6L, three options are available, indica vista quadrajet, maruti ritz ddis and maruti swift ddis, choose the one suits your needs perfectly,later two are first option for better ***,spares and long term ownership compared to tata motors.IMO.
Old 18th July 2009, 14:06   #3

Your choices:
Indica vista quadrajet
Fiat Punto MJD
maruti Ritz DDIS
maruti Swift DDIS

For women looks take a good precedence over everything. So Punto would be ideal. Besides it's giving a mileage of 16-18kmpl in city. Above 20kmpl on highways.

You might be intrigued to know that all the 4 cars have same engine (Fiat MultiJet 1.3L)!
Old 18th July 2009, 14:19   #4

Originally Posted by neotraveller View Post
Your choices:
Indica vista quadrajet
Fiat Punto MJD
maruti Ritz DDIS
maruti Swift DDIS

You can add i20 diesel to that list. However, i think the on road price will be close to 7.5L
Old 18th July 2009, 16:28   #5

Go for Red Punto doc,

your wife will love its fresh looks and decent performance.
Old 18th July 2009, 16:39   #6
aZa

look at i20 crdi MAGNA also its costing 6.70L OTR in delhi
Old 18th July 2009, 16:53   #7

Originally Posted by ash_blore View Post
You can add i20 diesel to that list. However, i think the on road price will be close to 7.5L
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
look at i20 crdi MAGNA also its costing 6.70L OTR in delhi
Is it really so difficult to understand the written down limit of 6.0L? Period:
Old 18th July 2009, 17:09   #8

These are the best options you can get -

Fiat Punto MJD
Maruti Swift DDIS
Maruti Ritz DDIS
Old 18th July 2009, 17:16   #9

Is it going to be self driven? Take test drives of Swift, Ritz and Punto. Fiat has made the Punto far easier to drive then the Palio so female driver's shouldn't have a problem. Only issue in Punto that I see is the larger turning radius but if she is a confident driver then there shouldn't be any problem.
Old 18th July 2009, 17:26   #10

Desiderata before the Make-model

Shouldn't one list out the requirements before shortlisting the models?

IMHO, the requirements are:

Essentials (not in any specific order, all are musts)

1) Small size (less parking effort, must share the parking space with at least two other

cars)
2) Reasonable capital investment (under 6 Lakh on road)

3) Pleasure to drive (Power steering)

4) Ride comfort - (decent suspension, good seats with lumber support, Adjustable steering)

5) Lower running cost /km (LNG/CNG?Diesel)

6) Driver convenience (power windows, in cabin RVM control, central

locking, ease of ingress-outgress)

7) Cheerful interior with scope for personalization

8) ABS

9) Distinguished external looks (not run-of the mill)

Desirable

1) rear wiper and defogger
2) Airbags
3) Good factory fitted ICE
4) Hassle free ownership for about 5 years
5) Good Resale value
6) Automatic transmission

Hopefully the above would further shorten the suggested shortlists and narrow down the search.
If no model survives the checklist, some of the "essential" features need to be trimmed.
Old 18th July 2009, 22:11   #11

today wife saw ritz-she liked it.....test drive will be on monday.just wanted to enquire if the clutch in ritz diesel is as heavy as in my verna diesel?and what is the price of base model fabia diesel?does it not come into my budget???
Old 18th July 2009, 22:36   #12

fabia diesel motor has lots of clatter from that PD engine. Also the maintainence and spares will be on the higher side as it is a premium hatch. But your wife will love the ride of the car and the ergonomics.

Did you think about ford ikon diesel? It's old but a worthy car with one of the best diesel engines in India.

Fiat punto/ Fiat palio/ Indica vista cousins are a good option too but your wife may find the Ritz to be more easier to drive.

hyundai getz diesel with Verna engine can now also be had for about 6 lacs.
Old 18th July 2009, 23:00   #13

I think that if a lot of highway driving with family is not the job car has to do, then sticking to a hatch will help.

For you budget, there are options from Fiat, Tata and Maruti. Fiat GP MJD's turning circle is larger than other hatches.
Keeping in mind the A.S & S. quality and network, I would suggest you have a look at Swift and Ritz.

I think Ritz is better because Swift's bulging body's judgements are something one has to get used to do. I did scrap a friend's Swift. Moreover, from Visibility point of view, Ritz is better and is better to drive in city as compared to Swift. The factor of higher seating position and visibility will make a difference in city driving.

Also if you are ready to get a petrol car with alternative fuel option, you have Wagon R LPG that is very well suited for city driving and now the Alto CNG too.
Old 18th July 2009, 23:04   #14

stay away from skoda. your wife will be driving it and she will be very furious if the fabia stalls in the middle of the road. go for RITZ. a very good car, small and quick, easy to maneuver in the city as well. 100% sure japanese cars hardly stall. solid reliability and best after sales service.
Old 19th July 2009, 01:04   #15

Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
hyundai getz diesel with Verna engine can now also be had for about 6 lacs.
+1
I'd suggest you check out the Getz CRDI too. If you and your wife don't mind an outgoing model, this is a very good VFM option - proven performance, reliable Hyundai A.S.S, comfortable and nice to drive.