Old 9th November 2009, 16:45   #1

Which would have better re-sale: Getz Prime or Indigo CS

I am planning on buying a car in around 4-5 lakh. I commute to office (40kms round trip) on my Karizma and would continue to do so, even after the car purchase. The car will be driven mostly on weekends (city + highway trips). I have short listed two cars: Getz Prime or the Indigo CS (LS). These 2 cars are short listed based sheerly on their looks and the general knowledge that I have about them.

My concerns / criteria are:
1. Running cost (daily or in my case monthly cost of maintaining the car)
2. Dependability: I know for sure that the Indigo is going to way cheaper in terms of FE, but i want a hassle-free service from my car. Apologies in advance for all TATA owners, but i have seen too many people raise their eyebrows when i express my desire to buy a TATA car!!
3. Last but not at all the least, Re-sale: I plan to go abroad in 12 - 18 months. I need to know, that if i had to sell my car, which one of these 2 will fetch me more money !!

@ MODS: Sires, i have searched the forum with my limited browsing skills and did not find any such thread, hence the guts to create a new one! Nevertheless, if you do find it wrongly placed, please do the needful and feel free to send me another Stinker!!
Old 9th November 2009, 17:37   #2

buy a vista quadrajet. I think its a vastly better alternative.
Unless you REALLY need a boot, there is no excuse for buying the earlier gen car when the new one is available for about the same price
Old 9th November 2009, 17:43   #3

@ Greenhorn,

but doesnt the Vista Qudrajet come for 5.6 or something? I thought that car was out of my budget! Will check it out today itself!
But, in terms of the criteria; Re-sale, prominently | what would be better between the two?
Thanks, for the quick reply, btw
Old 9th November 2009, 17:44   #4

I second greenhorn with Vista Quatrajet. If your main concern is the A.S.S i suggest you go for a Swift VXi. Its the best in that category for it's A.S.S. The FE is a good 13km/hr with AC and hassle free ride for at least 3 years with scheduled services.
Old 9th November 2009, 17:46   #5

For sheer resale value, it has to be the TATA. But ownership experience would be far better with the Hyundai.
Old 9th November 2009, 17:50   #6

Are you looking for a petrol car only? If thats the case then both should not considered. The Ritz should be your best bet as its got the newer engine.
Old 9th November 2009, 17:53   #7

You have shortlisted wrong cars, buddy.
Both are outdated and newer generation already available.

For 4-5 Lacs, within hatchbacks you can get Swift P, Ritz P, i10 Kappa, Vista TDi/Petrol, A-Star, Punto 1.2 etc.

Search around the forums for pros and cons of these cars and take a test drives of all these models and decide yourself.
Old 9th November 2009, 18:07   #8

None of the cars mentioned have good resale

If resale is your criteria then it has to be a Ritz or Swift. Even if you pay a bit more up front the exemplary resale value will more than make up for the initial burden.

The cars you have mentioned can only be palmed of to unsuspecting customers who do not know about the service and parts availability of the TATA and the Hyundai respectively.
Old 9th November 2009, 19:40   #9

voido, your price is off by about a lakh or so
the base quadrajet is 4.37L ex showroom.

@ doc, don't be too harsh on tata cars (you have the moral authority to be, but still)

But drpullockaran is right. if resale is important, tata cars are not a good idea. you will lose more in resale, in which case a ritz is a better buy
Old 10th November 2009, 11:33   #10

More research needed

Thanks guys, for all that input!

@ green,
I have to check the prices now. I will be back with the more data on the following cars:
Getz : (Basic model is 4.32L OTR)
Ritz : (will get prices in Mumbai)
Swift P : (will get prices in Mumbai)
i10 : (will get prices in Mumbai)

Thanks for the responses, gurus!
Old 10th November 2009, 12:34   #11

ritz>swift since the petrol ritz>petrol swift, and for a diesel swift, by the time you get it , you'll have gone abroad.
Old 11th November 2009, 13:35   #12

Either a Swift Diesel (LDi) or a Ritz Petrol (VXi) will come near your budget and keep you happy.

Pick the one you 'personally like'.
Their shapes have a 'make it' or 'break it' kind of individual responses.

I'd take the LDi any day over the Ritz.
Old 11th November 2009, 16:27   #13

I hate Ritz's shape!! Its freakishly ugly!!

But i haven't had the time to enquire about the prices. From what i hear from people: Swift LDi or Vista Qudrajet are in my budget!! That i never thought was the case, hence i need to confirm the prices in Thane.

Will keep everyone posted.
Old 12th November 2009, 14:15   #14

^^
Pickup the Vista only if you are likely to have 3 back benchers most of the times, or if you are going to be chauffered around.

If its going to be a self driven car, Swift D is much better.

Swift D would also command one of the best resale values.
Old 12th November 2009, 20:25   #15

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
For sheer resale value, it has to be the TATA. But ownership experience would be far better with the Hyundai.

U mean TATA has higher resale value than all other cars mentioned below ???? in which country ?