Old 13th May 2010, 02:47   #16

If power and mileage is not a big concern, Figo is a really good choice!
Else Beat fits the bill,as it's one of the best hatch available!
Meanwhile, i10 is the safest bet anytime.
Happy shopping!
Old 13th May 2010, 09:23   #17

If it's only city driving, I'll recommend the Santro Xing. It may be old but it's got enough pep city driving and good fuel economy. Hyundai service is pretty good too.
Old 13th May 2010, 09:34   #18

Infractions: 0/3 (12)

You would do well to consider the new refreshed Wagon R and the Ford Figo.
Both lovely cars and for city driving they are a breeze.

While the Santro Xing is a good suggestion, somehow it is rather "old world" now.
and the A Star, I 10, Beat etc are rather too small-ish.
Old 13th May 2010, 09:51   #19

If you want to stretch it to 4.5, I would say Ritz LXI would also be a good option. Good ingress/egress for your parents. 1.2 Engine, power and Mileage.
Old 13th May 2010, 10:19   #20

Originally Posted by motorpsycho View Post
He is apprehensive why a car was did not sell despite it being good or is there some thing wrong with it.
There is a thread dedicated to why the A-Star didn't do well. Here is the link, enjoy.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ling-well.html

In a nutshell, A-Star didn't do well because of the following reasons:
- Overpriced, not value for money
- Looks and styling not to everyone's liking
- Low slung seats and high dashboard
- Poor front and rear visibility for driver
- Limited headroom and legroom for rear passengers
- Almost non-existent boot space
- Cramped and claustrophobic feeling inside the car, especially in the rear
- Coarse 3-cylinder engine, vibrates at idling
- Weak bottom end performance, pain in bumper to bumper traffic

The A-Star does have some plus points:
- Maruti badge
- Apparently good mileage
- Sporty handling

IMHO, A-Star is targeted at youth. I would not suggest it for your father. A-Star would be good to have as a second car, but not as the only car in the family.

When I purchased my car last year, I had seriously considered A-Star (since it was the only car with Maruti's K-series engine. Ritz and new Estilo had not been launched till then). But when I compared A-Star to Spark, Santro and i10 1.1 (with similar price tags), A-Star felt like a joke to me (personal feelings, no offense meant to A-Star owners).

Rohan
Old 13th May 2010, 10:22   #21

You can consider the new Wagon R which is already a good seller and has fantastic resale, is spacious and at 4 lacs for the variant having power windows, steering and of course AC.

The new Wagon R looks fab too !

You have the Beat and i10 1.1 also to consider.

The Figo & i10 1.2 would be more than 4 Lacs if I am not mistaken.
Old 13th May 2010, 11:12   #22

The new WagonR does have a novelty factor right now & they've markedly uped the ante from the old car.
If a.s.s. is not an issue, I'd ask you to go for the Ford Figo / Beat & if is a deal-breaker, go for the i10 1.1.

I'd suggest you keep away from the A-star overall. It may be a maruti & sip fuel miserly, but there're way too many comfort & aesthetics problems with it
Old 13th May 2010, 11:21   #23

Originally Posted by Musicmaker23 View Post
The new WagonR does have a novelty factor right now & they've markedly uped the ante from the old car.
If a.s.s. is not an issue, I'd ask you to go for the Ford Figo / Beat & if is a deal-breaker, go for the i10 1.1.

I'd suggest you keep away from the A-star overall. It may be a maruti & sip fuel miserly, but there're way too many comfort & aesthetics problems with it
I'm also looking for a small car for my wife with:
Same budget(~4 lakh), AC, PS, good visibility, good mileage and low maintenance.

Please share the city mileage of Petrol Figo & i10 1.1.

Old 13th May 2010, 20:45   #24

I have a Maruti Zen. I am 5' 11' tall and I find getting into and out of Zen an issue. Maruti Zen height is 1405 mm as per Carwale. FIGO height is 1427 mm. Will it not have ingress / egress issue with such a height for tall and / or slightly older people? FIGO Owners and experts please throw some light on this ( A bit more paunch on my midriff also is also not helping matters)
Old 13th May 2010, 23:56   #25

Originally Posted by SX4_2007 View Post
I'm also looking for a small car for my wife with:
Same budget(~4 lakh), AC, PS, good visibility, good mileage and low maintenance.

Please share the city mileage of Petrol Figo & i10 1.1.

I was almost in the same situation as you are, with similar priorities. And after lots of research and suggestions went for chevy spark LS variant. It has an AC and PS, visibility is good, good mileage and with 3 yr warranty you are assured a low maintenance or rather no maintenance.
Old 14th May 2010, 21:16   #26

I gave my Dad the feedback about A Star .I had asked him to check out the Figo and it will cost him around 4.3 on road. But the primary concern is the FE is reported to be too low. With him driving around 24 Kms everyday it will be a major cost every month. He also checked out the spark with a OTR of 4.1 Lakhs. At 4.3 Figo is a much more car then Spark at 4.10 . I told him that the Figo will be a better bet. I'll let him decide now since it's he who will be driving .

Again guys thanks a ton for taking your time out to answering my quires.

Thanks and regards

MP
Old 14th May 2010, 21:26   #27

How about the Ritz base variant?

If your dad is more than 5' 6'' or so, A-star might feel cramped.
Old 14th May 2010, 21:40   #28

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
If you want to stretch it to 4.5, I would say Ritz LXI would also be a good option. Good ingress/egress for your parents. 1.2 Engine, power and Mileage.
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
How about the Ritz base variant?

If your dad is more than 5' 6'' or so, A-star might feel cramped.

Couldn't agree more on this suggestion and +1 on it. Much better car from a higher segment, composed and planted ride, A really fab engine and a great FE. Please see if you could stretch to 4.5 lacs, after all, you do not buy a car every day.
Old 14th May 2010, 22:05   #29

Go for i10 or Figo. A star is sporty but is not as practical as i10 or figo
Old 14th May 2010, 22:08   #30

Request to the Father.
Buy Forf Figo for space and handling.
Scorching performance may not be the priority for Dad.
Go out and Figo.