Old 27th May 2010, 10:01   #1

Which Used car in 1L- 1.2L?

Hello Gurus,

I am in the market for a used hatch within the budget of 1.2 L (max).
This will be a weekend car.

Ideally i would like to get a car in 1L range and use the rest of the cash on ICE, etc.

Now my question is which car makes more sense:
1. Maruti 800 A/C (4 Speed/ 5 Speed)
2. Zen (difficult to find cheap, due to high demand)
3. Esteem (big car, difficult to drive in city condition)

I would keep the car for at least 3years before upgrading, which is the most user friendly, or any other options i can look at?

Old 27th May 2010, 10:25   #2

Esteem at this budget will be quite old, so I would suggest avoid. Even Zen will be on the older side. So I would suggest go for 800 which is around two years old, like-new condition and still has a shine. 5-speed versions were discontinued long back, so 4-speed is the only option.

Better to compromise a bit on the engine specs and go for a 2-year old car, than a very old one. You will have a feeling that you are driving a new car, and it will not pinch your pocket at the service center.

Maruti 800 is a car I still regret selling 3 years back. I dont know why, no other hatchback including the big and powerful ones are able to match the fun factor M800 gave. Probably it is because of the old-school design, manual steering, peppy engine and it is easy to chuck around.
Old 27th May 2010, 12:41   #3

you wouldn't get a 2 year old M800 for 1.20lacs

for 1.20lac you would get a 2003 model w/o a/c at the most
i would suggest a mpfi 800 with a/c 2000- 2002 model
Old 27th May 2010, 12:50   #4

well i didnt mean exactly 1.2 lakhs, but if he stretches his budget by 10 or 20k i'm sure he can get a 2006-2007 model. yeah 2 yr old is too much to hope.

there is a 2006 model in truevalue for 1.4lakhs. maybe something similar, outside truevalue it may be say 5k cheaper.
Old 27th May 2010, 13:37   #5

Good condition car? Within 1L? In Bangalore? Unlikely. You need to increase your budget by few grand. As others said, search for a M800
Old 27th May 2010, 13:42   #6

Yes, I too agree to what many has mentioned. Its very difficult to get a car in the price range mentioned by you. 2005 Altos are costing upwards of 2.2Lac So the price range mentioned by you I guess you will be getting M800 of 2002-03 make.
Infact my friend also searching for a car in slightly higher price range than yours, in case anything turns up will let you know.
Old 27th May 2010, 15:52   #7

Go for the national ride

Go for the car that has carried our nation for years: Maruti 800. This is probably the only car that you will find in this budget.

BTW, Bangalore is a ridiculous market to buy used cars. The cost of entry is high and thus the used car values are also high. Also, most people belong to the service class and thus tend to overvalue their cars.

You may want to see if you get a Matiz in decent condition. I may sell mine in s few months
Old 27th May 2010, 15:58   #8

Thanks for all the replies guys.

So, the general consensus looks like its better to go for a 800 in this budget.

@Rajushank84: Yes i have seen 2004 A/C 800 for 1.3L on true value website.
@mpksuhas: Thanks brother, it would be great help.

I have an offer of 1.15L for a 2000 Zen Lx, negotiation still on, what do you guys think?
Should i chuck the idea of a 10 year old zen, and look around for a 5-6 year old 800 instead?

@Sachinj12: i agree, but have a very tight budget in hand.
Old 27th May 2010, 17:03   #9

Used Cars - Search used cars available for sale in India - CarWale.com

carwale options does not cover values inbetween 1-1.5. This will give u better idea are the other alternatives

latest model in the list is 2004 maruti costing 1.45 L

Last edited by Surprise : 27th May 2010 at 17:09.
Old 27th May 2010, 17:25   #10

I bought a 2006 Maruti 800 for 1,50,000 INR in Chennai.. Its slighlty on the higher side but you should get one in B'lore for lesser. But my suggestion is buy an Alto instead of an 800 since you plan to keep the car for a while. I had seen a 2005 Alto Lx at around 1,80,000 INR. So I am pretty sure you can pick one up for a similar price(or lesser) there too. But you might have to run around an search a bit for a good car at that price.
Other option for you would be 2001-2003 Hyundai Santro (not Xing) which you can pick up for less than 2L.
Old 27th May 2010, 19:17   #11

Maruti 800 like everyone suggested. You'll get a 1999 - 2000 esteem in 1.2 L.
My friend sold his 1996 esteem for 60K recently in Bangalore. Same with the Zen.
But, if you can stretch your budget a little more to 1.5, you could also get a 2000 Ikon or something.
Old 27th May 2010, 19:39   #12

Originally Posted by autexy View Post
Thanks for all the replies guys.

I have an offer of 1.15L for a 2000 Zen Lx, negotiation still on, what do you guys think?
Should i chuck the idea of a 10 year old zen, and look around for a 5-6 year old 800 instead?

I bought a 1999 April Carb ZEN in 2009 Oct at 1.2L. I find the car decent. Though my mechanic did try to dissuade me, he told that there is nothing wrong with the car. Go with a trusted mechanic and check out the car. If he says Okay, this should be a reasonable deal.
Old 27th May 2010, 21:20   #13

My 2 Cents

Palio 1.2 will be a little high on Petrol consumption , But it is really a nice car.

Also you might need to find a competent mechanic
Old 28th May 2010, 03:10   #14

If you are sure that you can't increase your budget, get a Maruti 800 A/C. I think you would get a 2002 model mpfi 5 gear car.
Old 28th May 2010, 10:15   #15

Thanks a lot guys, i shall update how the things goes.