Old 26th June 2010, 12:48   #1

A used (1,500 kms run) VW Polo?

Hello TeamBHP,

Some one is offering me a used(Mileage 1500 Kms) Polo CL for 5.5 due to some financial constraints. He is asking 5.5 Lakhs since there is a long wait list on the car. Suggest if this is the good price. I think If I buy it I will lose lot of money when I sell it being a second owner.

Thanks and regards,

Srinivas
Old 26th June 2010, 13:45   #2

Polo CL on-road Pune is 554845/-. Why buy a pre-owned car for the same price?

Do you need a car now only? Are you looking at only Polo?
If your answer to either of the above 2 question is NO, then do not go for it. There are many other options available in market within same price range.

Reselling would depend on the condition/mileage of the car when you sell it and how you sell it (direct or through agent), no. of owners in this case with only 1500km won`t matter much.
Old 26th June 2010, 15:39   #3

Ask for 4.75L - 5L. This is the best price that can be offered for the used Polo.
Old 27th June 2010, 12:04   #4

As a thumb rule around 15-20% of initial value is lost the moment you drive out of the showroom. As someone said, ask for 4.5 or in the whereabouts, else say good bye.
Old 27th June 2010, 12:15   #5

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : One-liners that add ZERO value to the thread are strictly prohibited on Team-BHP. In fact, they are considered as SPAM. Please do not hit the post submit button unless you have something of value to add to the thread.

We advise you to visit our board rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 28th June 2010 at 16:25.
jatinpatel is offline   Received Infraction
Old 27th June 2010, 12:17   #6

Even if he has not even driven the car, it loses 20% the second the car comes out of the showroom.

Just because a car has a waiting period for a longer time, does not mean that it can be sold for a high price.

If you are in no hurry, go get a new one from the showroom. If you are in a hurry, fnd another car or a variant that you can get fast

You really never know what could be the real problem with the car. And for a margin so thing, it is not worth it
Old 27th June 2010, 15:56   #7

max should be around 4.5lacs as you would be the second owner
Old 27th June 2010, 15:59   #8

I remember somewhere seeing a thread that calculates the depreciation value for a car. I do not quite remember the numbers just apart from one thing is that the car looses 10% of its OTR price as soon as it is taken out of the showroom.
Old 27th June 2010, 17:17   #9

You are right, when you sell it eventually will loose some 20-30 k simply because you are not the first owner. 10% depreciation is fair and he should not be expecting the showroom price for his car. In any case he would be under pressure to sell and should come down to realistic price.
Old 27th June 2010, 18:16   #10

don't pay anything more than 4.75 lakhs.

when you sell it the buyer will be the 3rd owner and you will lose a massive amount then.
Old 28th June 2010, 01:53   #11

I don't think anyone should pay more than 4.5L for the car. Anything more is not worth it IMO, when you can get a brand new Polo CL for slightly more amount, even with a big waiting period it's still worth it.
Old 28th June 2010, 07:53   #12

Do not buy that car for the amount quoted. Liked many on the forum have opined, I think it is important to bring the price down to 4.75 lakhs. Now that is a pretty good deal.

The reason why I insist upon a lower price has more to do with the car itself, than the hit in resale value. Let me explain, a car that has run 1500kms, has almost been run-in. In a new car, YOU get to control the running in preocedure, but in this, it's already done.

However, I would still say, if you can get it for 4.75, grab it. It's a great deal.
Old 28th June 2010, 15:35   #13

If 50-75k is not a a problem for you I would recommend to go for a new car. No point buying it just because you are getting a discount. Try and find out if finance is the only reason to sell off the new car, any manufacturing defects /niggles might also be a reason.
Old 5th September 2010, 16:57   #14

If it is a trusted source, then i dont think you should worry about any faults or manufacturing defects on the car. But IMO it will be a great deal at 4.5 lakhs!
Old 5th September 2010, 21:16   #15

If you have cash then IMO you should go for it ,75K that you save can be used to run the car for one year or more , but if you plan to take more than 50% of the asking price as loan then the economics do not permit , new car intrest rate is around 8 to 11% , used one starts at 12 goes up to 17% ..so you would end up paying more than what you saved initially , down south VW is not giving any significant discounts to discuss .