Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Dealerships

Old 4th September 2024, 01:48   #1

Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount

We've all heard stories about JLRs after sales and unreliability, not just in India but worldwide. While off late the reliability seems to have been getting better, one can't say the same about the sales/aftersales going by peoples recent experiences. One such strange experience is as follows -

So a family friend of ours decided he wants a Range Rover Autobiography, and this was after the CKD prices were announced which brought the car to a shade above 3cr on road. This gentleman was in touch with Modi Motors, Worli and gave them a booking amount of 2 lacs in mid June. He was promised a car mid August which seemed to be the standard waiting period.
Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount-range-payment-ss.jpg

Now a week after this, he was offered a Range Rover Autobiography available readily at Navnit Motors JLR. Maybe it was a cancellation of an order they had, but whatever the reason, it was available for the taking. Considering the time saved versus waiting for the existing booking was a no brainer.

Being the gentleman that he is, he had a word with his Modi Motors salesman, informing him of the same and that he may now purchase the car from Navnit Motors considering the availability. But he also offered them an opportunity to see if they could somehow arrange the vehicle for him immediately considering they had shown him the car, given him TDs etc.

He then confirmed with the salesman that his booking amount of 2l would be refunded, to which the salesman replied in the positive. On 26th June he made the booking for the Autobiography with Navnit, and brought the car home on 11th July. All went smoothly from booking to delivery.

Post this, there were follow ups made to Modi Motors for the refund of the 2l, which were replied to in the positive, but with various reasons. Every week they would say its being processed, and various other similar excuses. This went back and forth for about 6 weeks.
Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount-range-refund-ss.jpg

But an absolutely strange thing occured today, the sales manager of Modi Motors, who till a couple days ago was all positive, said the management had refused a refund since the vehicle was purchased from another dealership. This has been asked for in writing, and the sales manager asked to get back tomorrow.

This is something I have never heard off, especially when it comes to a meagre amount for such a hot selling vehicle. Range Rovers are sold out for months, and have become a status symbol these days. This just seems to be a harassment tactic, and is absolutely unethical.

Had the dealer refused his refund when he informed them about his decision before booking with the other dealer, it may have been a different story. But to take someone for a ride, and then come up with a ridiculous excuse just isn't done.

I think JLR is certainly going to erode their image if this kind of behavior is allowed by their dealers. Just recently another member had issues with the same dealership for other reasons.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 4th September 2024 at 01:59.
Akshay1234 is offline   (98) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 08:04   #2

Re: Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount

Taken Live! Thanks for sharing.
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 08:25   #3

101 lesson in how to lose a customer for life.

I bought my 3GT from Navnit but for a variety of reasons, for the majority of its 9 years of ownership it’s been serviced at Infinity (locational convenience; fellow BHP’ian in a senior position at Infinity etc). My Mercedes was bought at Autohangar and very early on itself service has shifted to Landmark.

In one fell swoop, Modi JLR has earned bad public PR, has lost any possibility of the service related business of this customer for his ownership tenure of the Range Rover, and the possibility of any future business with him and perhaps his immediate family members too. This is unlikely his last luxury car purchase and I can’t imagine him ever dealing with Modi again after an experience like this.

I do know certain cases where dealerships have a hard stance on refund of booking amounts. But they had the opportunity to communicate a “no-refund” stance, which clearly they’ve not done - in fact they’ve confirmed to the contrary.

Originally Posted by Akshay1234 View Post

He then confirmed with the salesman that his booking amount of 2l would be refunded, to which the salesman replied in the positive.
Akshay, was this a verbal confirmation or one in writing via message or email? Either way, from subsequent message screenshots it seems pretty apparent that they had promised processing the refund, but still asking.

Last edited by Axe77 : 4th September 2024 at 12:31. Reason: Typo. Missed a word.
Axe77 is online now   (22) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 08:28   #4

Dealers are always low on working capital, however this behaviour is just atrocious.

Was your family friend aware of any T&C before handing over the booking amount?

I think best approach is to get a lawyer and slap a legal notice to VCM motors.

But would suggest to first mail JLR Customer care in detail about the case and if nothing works then approach a good lawyer.
Y@SH is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 10:53   #5

As Axe77 said, trust a Range Rover dealer to lose a 3-crore customer for life over 2-lakh rupees. Not to mention, the bad publicity. Here is another recent Range Rover complaint from Modi Motors - link (Terrible experience with Jaguar Land Rover India and Modi Motors).

The best part about a Range Rover is the styling, how they drive (truly something else!), the comfort, luxury and brand value. The worst part is their dealership network, service network, reliability, long wait periods for parts & overpricing of SUVs (although things are getting better with CKD operations). A Range Rover can never be your only car of the house.

Last edited by GTO : 4th September 2024 at 13:18.
GTO is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 11:03   #6

I believe if he had given a different reason viz..change of plans, financial difficulties etc. then he would have got the refund. He trusted the salesman who won't have much powers to decide on financial matters. The Modi motors mgmt. was primarily unhappy about losing the deal to a competitor. Now it will be a much bigger hassle to get the refund back
But then hindsight is always better.
Along with his difficulties, the dealership will get a bad name and publicity. And that will hurt them.

Note : 10 years back, I had cancelled a booking in maruti showroom because I didn't get the favorite colour.I had paid 1 lakh and got back 98 k refund. Meanwhile I had got my preferred color at a competitor showroom and had booked there. Obviously didn't mention that to the first showroom.

Last edited by SidTheChamp : 4th September 2024 at 11:11. Reason: Minor changes
SidTheChamp is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 11:09   #7

It not a big deal actually.

Raise a stink to the GST website/finance ministry/twitter - ask them to check how did the company account for this 2lacs excess funds in their books and how did they invoice it to this client.

A LOT of "VIP" customers cash, err, bones will tumble out. (Hoping your friend is a legit white money buyer)

Watch the fun after that.

Either the invoice has to be raised with a GST amount on it, or they will rush to his home with the money/chq.

Thank God he did a bank transfer!

EDIT********

I just recollected I had raised a stink on a 2021 car purchase. I cannot reveal anything more for obvious reasons, but please do lodge your complaint in the correct manner explaining a possible tax evasion of collecting funds without issuing a corresponding invoice. Note - they will issue a DEBIT note in their ledger - ask them for a copy, then fight it in the court asking them to explain how a debit note was issued for a car that was never bought in the first place.

Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount-gst.jpg

Last edited by svsantosh : 4th September 2024 at 11:26.
svsantosh is online now   (56) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 11:37   #8

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
101 lesson in how to lose a customer for life.

Akshay, was this a verbal confirmation or one in writing via message or email? Either way, from subsequent message screenshots it seems pretty apparent that they had promised processing the refund, but still asking.
One would think that a dealership would want to maintain a long term relationship with customers. I will check how the confirmation was given, but they have now been asked to provide in writing the reason for refusing to give the refund.

Originally Posted by Y@SH View Post
I think best approach is to get a lawyer and slap a legal notice to VCM motors.
All options are being considered. Because its more about the principle than the money itself.

The best part about a Range Rover is the styling, how they drive (truly something else!), the comfort, luxury and brand value. The worst part is their dealership network, service network, reliability, long wait periods for parts & overpricing of SUVs (although things are getting better with CKD operations). A Range Rover can never be your only car of the house.
They are truly awesome vehicles, getting better and better. But their dealers sure know how to muck it up.

Originally Posted by SidTheChamp View Post
I believe if he had given a different reason viz..change of plans, financial difficulties etc. then he would have got the refund. He trusted the salesman who won't have much powers to decide on financial matters. The Modi motors mgmt. was primarily unhappy about losing the deal to a competitor. Now it will be a much bigger hassle to get the refund back
Possibly, but then again, JLR has its order books full and how! They have more bookings than vehicles they can deliver, be it the Defender, Sport or the Range Rover. With that it mind one wouldn't expect a dealer to risk their reputation and relations for a mere 2 lacs. If the car was a special order, or if they weren't selling much, then it may be a different scenario.

Also, in the midst of all this, a Maybach GLS600 was booked too, and then cancelled because the car was too much bling. Autohangar refunded the booking amount without any fuss. Which frankly was a pleasant experience, and goes with Autohangars reputation.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 4th September 2024 at 11:40.
Akshay1234 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 11:42   #9

Under the "Terms and Conditions" for online booking on the Land Rover website (https://www.findmeasuv.in/pages/terms_conditions) mentions that refund has some preconditions and is subject to cancellation formalities with a deduction of 10% as convenience fees. Attaching the screenshot for reference.

Was the booking made online or in person? In case of in person booking, the attached reference may be useful.
Modi Motors refuses to refund Range Rover booking amount-online-booking-only.png  

Motorfanatic1 is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 11:51   #10

Think he will eventually get the money but that will be after a little pestering.

In 2017 I was in a similar situation. Had booked a Ford Endeavour Trend variant from one dealer at Lucknow. After a change of heart, changed it to Titanium variant. The dealer would not budge saying the car is allotted to me.

I took a chance and with a little courage booked the car again, this time non-refundable with a second dealer at Lucknow itself. Got the car from the second dealer as well as the refund from the previous dealer.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 4th September 2024 at 17:41. Reason: Typos and punctuation.
tin lizzie is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 15:02   #11

Originally Posted by Akshay1234 View Post
He then confirmed with the salesman that his booking amount of 2l would be refunded, to which the salesman replied in the positive. On 26th June he made the booking for the Autobiography with Navnit, and brought the car home on 11th July. All went smoothly from booking to delivery.

But an absolutely strange thing occured today, the sales manager of Modi Motors, who till a couple days ago was all positive, said the management had refused a refund since the vehicle was purchased from another dealership. This has been asked for in writing, and the sales manager asked to get back tomorrow.
I feel sorry for the person to be on the losing side of 2 Lakhs, and damn frustrated when Dealers try and pull a fast-one like this.

Let me share a similar experience that I had.

I booked a BMW X5 from KUN Exclusive, Bangalore with a Deposit of INR 2 Lakhs.
At the time of booking the sales executive assured that the complete amount would be refunded, if cancelled.
Trusting him, (we) my wife signed the form (did not read it, big mistake). It was our wedding anniversary - we were excited of the day and this purchase decision.
After a couple of follow-ups we got the receipt paid for 2L - which mentioned that the amount would be refunded for non-CBU vehicles ( which is what a X5 is).
Later, I had to cancel the booking due to personal reasons.
At this time, I was informed that for X5 there are no refunds.
When I escalated to BMW India, I was then given a copy of the booking form that we had signed, and it had a mention of X5 not being eligible for booking amount refund.

No amount of follow-ups and requests were helpful. I did not get the refund, as yet. 2 Lakhs is a lot of money and I am pinched, badly.

Had the Sales Executive pointed us to this term in the form during booking time, or, had not said that the amount is refundable - I would have reviewed the booking form and would not have taken a chance with a booking amount , as high as 2 Lakhs.

My only submission to the prospects is to read and sign, get everything in writing. (This has been said umpteen times in this forum. Isn't it)

Such that any breach of trust/commitment made by the dealership(s) do not arise. Well, almost.

Happy and Safe Driving, Everyone !
VeeEight is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 17:18   #12

Originally Posted by VeeEight View Post
When I escalated to BMW India, I was then given a copy of the booking form that we had signed, and it had a mention of X5 not being eligible for booking amount refund.
Do you have it in writing from BMW India that they cannot refund booking amount on their cars? It is a mouth watering case for Consumer protection courts. Not the footnote on a booking form - I mean when you escalated did they reply in email (official ID) that they will withhold your booking money forever?

I ask again - a car showroom is there to sell a car (or accessories), service center is there to service the car, sell oil and brakes and spares, They DO NOT sell consulting or advisory services to take your money and show it as a income against 'cancellation of booking'.

Take up your fight in the right way, you have a case in point.
svsantosh is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 17:31   #13

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post

As a lawyer, I absolutely agree. The only thing that may play foul is limitation.
raginglasers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 18:15   #14

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Do you have it in writing from BMW India that they cannot refund booking amount on their cars? It is a mouth watering case for Consumer protection courts. Not the footnote on a booking form - I mean when you escalated did they reply in email (official ID) that they will withhold your booking money forever?

@svsantosh:

Thank you for your note.

When I escalated to BMW India, their response was :
1. In matters of a sale agreement it is purely between the Dealer (here: KUN Exclusive, Bangalore) and the Customer, and they would not be able to intervene. They did say that as BMW this is not the kind of experience that they want their patrons to go through, and all said - referred the matter back to KUN/Dealership.

2. KUN responded to me over an email stating that they cannot refund the amount as per their management directive and offered to adjust this booking amount if I were to make a purchase of a BMW/Mini from the same dealership before March, 2025. I am not in agreement - as a principle, or, as a business transaction - because, to me there was no principles of natural justice that's been applied by KUN. I get a receipt that says the amount is refundable and confirmed by their sales executive as well. And when I ask for a refund, I am slapped with the signed booking form which has an altogether negative term on the refund. When I questioned the Sales Executive as to why he said that the amount is fully refundable when knowing it is not, his response was "I didn't believe you would cancel the booking".
VeeEight is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 18:43   #15

Car dealers across the country practises the shady habit of delaying/refusing the refund of the booking amount. I have booked and cancelled XUV5OO couple of times with Mahindra dealers and received refund on both the occasions. One of the booking was with a notorious Mahindra dealer known for shady practises.

One should clearly read the booking agreement and receipt before signing.