Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Dealerships

Old 3rd September 2009, 21:21   #16

manveet sad to read about this kind of socialist age treatment- I mean was this dealer earlier dealing in Padminis or Ambassadors?
Jokes apart please go through the owner's manual and and there you may get the company helpline number. Please record your grievance and tell them about the "discourtesy" at Courtesy Honda!
Also lodge a grievance in the company website and I am sure the issue will be resolved, if at all Honda is serious about doing well in the Indian market!
Old 3rd September 2009, 21:31   #17

Sorry to hear about what happened, Manveet. I personally do not have any confidence in any A.S.S.
You must write to Honda directly and address your problem/experience.

A very stupid and silly suggestion - You think you want to put your older O2 sensor back and see if the display has ANY relation to it? Silly I know but WTH!
Old 3rd September 2009, 22:18   #18

WOW!
This is truly disgusting. Even in these modern times where the media and press are so freely approachable, dealerships try to pull off such stunts. I must say, I'm quite amazed hearing about your experience.
Take your stand, boy! Fight for your rights!
T-BHP is here for you. We'll torch down the dealership if the need be ;-)

DumDum
Old 4th September 2009, 01:53   #19

Originally Posted by ankitahuja View Post
Sorry to hear about what happened, Manveet. I personally do not have any confidence in any A.S.S.
You must write to Honda directly and address your problem/experience.

A very stupid and silly suggestion - You think you want to put your older O2 sensor back and see if the display has ANY relation to it? Silly I know but WTH!
+1 to everything Ankit says. ImmortalZ makes sense too - if the part is the same why the different no.?

Another case of a dealer killing a great car. Sad.

Regarding the dealer's stand that the display was not working when the car came in - they would have had to note it in their job card when they took the car in. If the customer notices that something is wrong within a reasonable time after taking back the car - one can presume that it broke while in the A.S.C. Here, it was not within a short time but was before he drove out. Unless Courtesy and Honda can prove that they make (and sell) display units that conk off instantaneously and without reason - Courtesy better fix it.

Old 4th September 2009, 02:22   #20

It is quite possible they know they have screwed something. And looks like its costly afair to fix and hence trying to run away from responsibility.
as someone has suggested you can try to fit in the older O2 sensor and see if the display comes up again? I doubt if some ECU has fried out though due to earlier stint.

Last edited by the VTEC guy : 4th September 2009 at 02:24.
Old 4th September 2009, 04:23   #21

Originally Posted by the VTEC guy View Post
It is quite possible they know they have screwed something. And looks like its costly afair to fix and hence trying to run away from responsibility.
as someone has suggested you can try to fit in the older O2 sensor and see if the display comes up again? I doubt if some ECU has fried out though due to earlier stint.
Logical & most likely scenario. If not costly mistake, there is nothing that explains their such a big defensive behaviour. Not giving names, numbers, not allowing a fresh service request, getting away suddenly means something wrong has happened & does not warrant any further delay
Old 4th September 2009, 18:45   #22

Unfortunately, I did not have the time to go to Courtesy Honda and discuss the incident thereafter.

Nonetheless I did get the car checked from some RELIABLE guy's I know (not related to Honda) and this is what I have come to know from them.

1. The display is not getting current, some IC in the stereo has conked off - this needs to be replaced. If Honda A. S. S. were to fix this, they would definitely recommend a stereo replacement.

2. Apart from the display, none of the lights on the buttons are working. You know, the ones that make only the alphabets glow so that you can make out which button is which. My dashboard is pretty much blacked-out. In this case the fault lies in the circuit connecting parking lights to the dashboard.

Why did this happen?

Honda A. S. S. connected something to the car that caused a sudden power surge resulting in these two circuits blowing up. As far as I know, this could be the laptop which they connected or perhaps the O2 sensor itself!

I am not getting time to take the car to Courtesy Honda, and even if I do, am sure it'll result in a lot of tempers flaring and no tangible outcome.
Old 4th September 2009, 18:56   #23

Apologies if this is a really stupid suggestion, but --- have you checked the fuses?
Old 4th September 2009, 19:00   #24

It maybe be foolish and hasty on my part, but due to the MAJOR inconvenience of driving without the display (one cannot even control the AC temperature, apart from stereo/radio) I have got my stereo lights fixed from outside Honda. The guy opened up the stereo, disconnected the faulty IC, and bypassed it by using a replacement IC. So the stereo lights up now fine. Only problem is that the manual dimmer function does not work, but at least we can drive the car with AC on!!

The lights on the buttons still don't work, so when we are traveling in the car at night and we have to switch the AC on/off, we first turn on the overhead cabin light, then press the AC ON button, and then turn off the cabin lights. Makes me feel I am using a car from the 70's !!! It's amazing how important the little things (like glowing alphabets/signs on buttons) are, but we take them for granted.

Anyhow, getting this problem fixed is imperative but not urgent, so I am going to get this fixed the proper way - the way the display should have got fixed - so today I lodged a complaint on "Honda One 2 One" which is their Customer Support Helpdesk. They are supposed to report to me in 24 hrs., let's see how it goes.

Will keep you folk posted.

Last edited by manveet : 4th September 2009 at 19:20.
Old 4th September 2009, 19:02   #25

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Apologies if this is a really stupid suggestion, but --- have you checked the fuses?
Dude, of course I checked the fuses the first thing I returned home that day!

Edit: Refer post 24. I could give you a full detailed explanation of the jugaad used to partially-fix the problem, but that's perhaps out-of scope.

Also, the guys at courtesy Honda KNEW what had gone wrong because one of the engineers himself told me in a casual chat that he's seen this problem before - IC in stereo is blown - solution is stereo replacement. I also remembering telling him that this wasn't likely as the display is not simply a "stereo display" but an all-purpose display and stereo info is just "one of the things" it displays. But of course, I was wrong - they DID blow up the IC in stereo, apart from some other IC/circuit which is causing problems in the button-lights.

Last edited by manveet : 4th September 2009 at 19:15.
Old 4th September 2009, 21:05   #26

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
Dude, of course I checked the fuses the first thing I returned home that day!
<Blush>

I had to ask !
Old 5th September 2009, 01:14   #27

Well i would suggest you visit another dealer with a better reputation or visit someone who cansolve this problem for you!
Old 6th September 2009, 10:10   #28

Originally Posted by IndrojitSircar View Post
Well i would suggest you visit another dealer with a better reputation ..
Another Dealer? A terrible experience with Southend Honda 2.5 years ago made me move from there to Courtesy. Incidentally, that was one of my first threads on T-Bhp, here it is ..

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ce-center.html

Originally Posted by IndrojitSircar
.. or visit someone who cansolve this problem for you!
Oh, I know many people who can solve this problem, but I am waiting to see what Honda is going to do about this. They were going to respond within 24 hrs., and it's now 36 hrs - maybe something to do with it being a weekend. I'll wait till Tuesday and then take the next steps.
Old 6th September 2009, 10:57   #29

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
Oh, I know many people who can solve this problem, but I am waiting to see what Honda is going to do about this. They were going to respond within 24 hrs., and it's now 36 hrs - maybe something to do with it being a weekend. I'll wait till Tuesday and then take the next steps.
Just wait for next business days and am sure Honda will respond. They have a good customer service and would surely revert back as far as i know about Honda.

Pretty bad experience at the serv centre, how can they treat a guy with an Accord like this.
Are you waiting for Honda's response before fixing display using your sources?
Old 6th September 2009, 15:00   #30

IMO, its Honda Dealer's mistake to recommend & put that sensor (you've also given permission to that effect but thats ok we users always believe in what the Manufacturer's autho service station recommends. Aren't we?)

So, Honda / dealer must of course solve the problem without any further cost & inconveniency to you.

If I'm not wrong, it'll be a challenge for you to convince the above to the Dealer/ Honda. This is based on their furious attempts to walk away from the issue on the day of your visit. And also its very difficult to get Honda for replacement of parts. Have read on the forum that they ask 100's question & make it so difficult that the customer starts thinking of getting it done on his own.