Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 16th December 2011, 16:20   #1786

Re: Insurance Expired

Originally Posted by car.lover View Post
Should not be a problem. I have an MH registered vehicle and live in Delhi. Similar case where I was travelling overseas and could not renew in time. On returning got it done easily directly with ICICI (no agent). Inspection is not a challenge - ICICI employee comes over, sees the car, takes a copy of the registration, takes some photographs and leaves.
Thanks.Got the insurance renewed,thought it would be a hassel for parents but it went smooth.
Old 21st December 2011, 18:11   #1787

Got my Safari insurance for third year renewed with National Insurance as a zero depreciation policy. Though was having only normal comprehensive package for previous two years. Premium amount paid is rs.13272/-

Decided to go ahead with this as the difference was only rs.2000/- approx., in comparison with comprehensive package from national Insurance itself.
Old 23rd December 2011, 10:20   #1788

Re: Automobile Insurance - Ask me

We own a 2006 Hyundai Accent CRDi. Last year we paid a premium of 8053/- towards comprehensive insurance by TATA AIG. Its renewal time for us and sought online quote by Bajaj Allianz which gave a premium of 6050/-. There was an option called "Avail discount by telling us more about you". After providing some info about me like "martial status, age at which DL was issued, no. of vehicles owned, etc.", I got a further discount of around 450/- and now the premium quoted is 5558/- with voluntary deductible amount of 0/-.

The premium was less than expected and the shocking thing was IDV mentioned!! It was around 3,50,000/- for last year given by TATA AIG but Bajaj Allianz gave 3,30,000/- for this year which is way less than 10% of depreciation. Sounds nice but I would like to know if there are "traps" or "pit falls" which might prove a bit costly later. Or is it so that Bajaj Allianz calculates the depreciation in a different way!!

NOTE: the IDV mentioned by TATA AIG was 2,88,000/- and a premium of 6,480/- for renewal with them.
Old 23rd December 2011, 12:48   #1789

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
Sounds nice but I would like to know if there are "traps" or "pit falls" which might prove a bit costly later. Or is it so that Bajaj Allianz calculates the depreciation in a different way!!
I dont think this is a trap, its typical marketing tactics. Also the database of the BA must not have been updated with current prices of vehicle to calculate the present IDV of your model car. Hence the higher IDV. In any case this would be of use only in case of Total loss.
Old 27th December 2011, 11:24   #1790

Hyundai Insurance

I got my car's insurance renewed this weekend.

I went to my Hyundai agency to renew the United India Insurance policy for my i10. But the insurance lady at the agency suggested Hyundai insurance (provided by HDFC ergo). I decided to go for the same.

Anybody has tried this Hyundai insurance ? Any feedback.

Rohan
Old 29th December 2011, 16:28   #1791

Re: Insurance Renewal -- query

Need help!

Renewed my existing Bajaj Allianz policy online, on Monday 27th December.

The transaction went through and the amount was debited from my account, but I did not receive any confirmation email or renewal confirmation/policy from Bajaj Allianz.

Called the Bajaj Allianz 1800 number and they said they will revert, sent numerous emails until today and I get the standard 'we will revert shortly' response email.

Now my existing policy expires midnight of 30th December, that is tomorrow, and I cannot buy another policy as I dont know who is at fault and where is my money.

Spoke to my bank and they say it will take 7 working days to investigate and resolve.

I have sent my bank account statement for the period to Bajaj Allianz customer care with all transaction details of the online payment as well, await their response.

Plz advise since my car will not be covered after tomorrow.
Old 1st January 2012, 09:34   #1792

I have a Fiat Punto 90 hp which I bought in Feb 2011 for an on road price of 7.75 lakhs. Now I got a call from the dealer, Wasan Motors, that the insurance is due for renewal. I had asked them to mail me the details of the premium to be paid, here are the details (i have not made any claim yet) -

Bharti AXA

IDV - 6,01,024
Total own damage premium - 19,732
Less: No claim bonus - 3946
Less: Special discount - 4736
Add: Third party premium - 1105
Add: Service tax - 1252

Net premium payable - 13,407

1) Is the above premium justified?
2) Is Bharti AXA good?
3) I confirmed with them that I can avail cashless transaction with all/any FIAT service centres, if I go with them.
4) I dont intend to take zero dep insurance as my running is very limited.
Old 2nd January 2012, 08:38   #1793

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
IAdd: Third party premium - 1105
You need to check this one again with Wasan/Bharati Axa as it seems to very less. The min TP liability premium is 2750/- with any riders. Add the PA cover for owner - 100/- and unnamed passengers 2L each (if reqd) - 500/-. So the total TP liability premium should be 3.3K. How is it that you are being charged less. Investigate.

Alternatively try online quotes to get a better deal. If you still want to stick to Wasan then negotiate with them or else get the Insurance renewal done on your own.
Old 2nd January 2012, 10:58   #1794

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
You need to check this one again with Wasan/Bharati Axa as it seems to very less. The min TP liability premium is 2750/- with any riders. Add the PA cover for owner - 100/- and unnamed passengers 2L each (if reqd) - 500/-. So the total TP liability premium should be 3.3K. How is it that you are being charged less. Investigate.
It has been calculated as follows -

Basic third party charge - 880
Personal Accident Cover for 5 unnamed passengers - 100
Personal Accident for Owner Driver - 100
Legal Liability for paid driver - 25

Total - 1105

Alternatively try online quotes to get a better deal. If you still want to stick to Wasan then negotiate with them or else get the Insurance renewal done on your own.
Online in the sense? Through their websites?

So you mean it can be further negotiated?
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:08   #1795

Basic third party charge - 880
My mistake, maybe for less than 1500 cc this could be the price. I would suggest to increase the PA cover for unnamed passengers from present 50K to 2L which would increase the premium to 500/-.

Online in the sense? Through their websites?
So you mean it can be further negotiated?
Yes, try to get an approx quote from online Insuance websites like policy bazaar. Then visit each Insurance co website and try to get a quote. Once you know the range of premium cost, you can then negotiate with Wasan.
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:18   #1796

I am getting my new Swift delivered next week and I have paid the total invoice amount including insurance from the dealer fixed insurance company. Subsequently I have sold my old car which has 50% no-claim bonus available from Tata-AIG. Now since I have already paid for the new insurance, how can I make use of this no-claim bonus facility and what is the procedure for the same? Thanks in advance.
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:36   #1797

Just for information:

Couple of months back, I have renewed my car insurance with National Insurance and I have paid premium as under:

IDV - Rs.5 Lakhs

(A)
Basic Premium - Rs.11,200
Less NCB 25% - Rs.2,800
Less Discount - Rs.1680 - Gross (A) = Rs.6720

(B)
T.P - Basic - Rs.2750
Other payments - Rs.325. - Gross (B) = Rs.3075

Net Premium - Rs.9795
Service Tax - Rs.1009 = Total paid Rs.10,804/-

Do you think this is reasonable?
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:54   #1798
F50

Originally Posted by nairrk View Post
Just for information:

Couple of months back, I have renewed my car insurance with National Insurance and I have paid premium as under:

IDV - Rs.5 Lakhs

(A)
Basic Premium - Rs.11,200
Less NCB 25% - Rs.2,800
Less Discount - Rs.1680 - Gross (A) = Rs.6720

(B)
T.P - Basic - Rs.2750
Other payments - Rs.325. - Gross (B) = Rs.3075

Net Premium - Rs.9795
Service Tax - Rs.1009 = Total paid Rs.10,804/-

Do you think this is reasonable?
Please mention Make, Model and year of the car. Otherwise looks good. Close to 50% additional discount apart from NCB! Looks Good!
F50 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:59   #1799

Ford Fiesta 1.6ZXi, 2009 September.
(Yes, I had to bargain for the Discount of Rs.1680 as initially this was not given to me.)
Old 2nd January 2012, 18:26   #1800

Re: Insurance Renewal -- query

I had a query regarding auto insurance.I have two cars a 97 800 with 60% NCB (IDV 25K) and a 2007 used civic with a insurance premium of ~ 16.5 K and IDV value 5lacs.My insurance will be due around july 2012 for both cars and wanted to know how much benefit i can get if i were to transfer the existing insurance from the 800 to the civic and get a altogether new insurance premium for the 800.By transfering would i, have to cancel the insurance for the 800 and pass the NCB to the Civic?

Let me know.

thanks all
sumeethaldankar is offline   (1) Thanks