Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 9th February 2011, 15:08   #46

Re: Tata AIG's 0% Depreciation Car Insurance

Sam had a great experience with 0% depreciation insurance : Link to his thread.

Originally Posted by gou View Post
Why these riders are available to cars less than 3 years old?
Reason is obvious : Your older (3+ year old) car has been through wear & tear. Offering 0% depreciation insurance can result in inaccurate insurance claims, fraud etc.

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Well, looks like they've decided that if they can't get your money one way, they will get it another. I think that is dreadful.
Thad, to be honest, if he hadn't taken 0% depreciation, then whatever difference (cost of new parts LESS depreciation) would be paid to the service center. How would the insurance company benefit in the second scenario?

Originally Posted by kapilsharma80 View Post
I am planning to buy figo 1.4 exi in Delhi.

TOTAL - 20732
I am not an insurance expert, but nearly 21K for a 5 lakh rupee hatchback is W-A-Y over the top! Cross-shop with other providers, use your NCB (if you have it), but get a better rate.
Old 16th February 2011, 15:19   #47

Model: VW Polo 1.6
Insurance type - 0 Dep highest tier
Company - Cholamandalam
IDV - Rs 7,37,000/-
Premium Amount - Rs 17950/-

please note that this is for a fresh policy without factoring any NCB etc. If anyone needs the contact do let me know.

VW was quoting 36k for the same policy and 26k for the standard one.
Old 19th February 2011, 10:08   #48

My Civic is completing a year in March and I have the following quote from TATA AIG on the Bumper to Bumper cover.

Need inputs on whether this is a good deal to go with.

IDV: 11,50,000 (Last year this was 12 lacs)
Premium: 23,553 (nil depreciation premium, bumper to bumper cover)

Coverage:
1.DEPRECIATION REIMBURSEMENT
2.LOSS OF PERSONAL BELONGINGS
3.EMERGENCY TRANSPORT AND HOTEL EXPENSES
4.KEY REPLACEMENT
5.Repair of Glass,Fibre,Plastic & Rubber Parts
Old 22nd February 2011, 16:07   #49

I got the Tata-AIG quote for my new Figo Titanium Diesel with bumper to bumper coverage for 14.8/15.3 k (with/without additional cover for unnamed passenger ). The agent mentioned that he has given 40% discount on basic premium.

The same quote from Bajaj Allianz (from the dealership) was 20.8k.
Old 23rd February 2011, 18:43   #50

Originally Posted by askids View Post
I got the Tata-AIG quote for my new Figo Titanium Diesel with bumper to bumper coverage for 14.8/15.3 k (with/without additional cover for unnamed passenger ). The agent mentioned that he has given 40% discount on basic premium.

The same quote from Bajaj Allianz (from the dealership) was 20.8k.
Slight correction - TATA AIG with unnamed passenger coverage was 13.5k and with Pearl Addon was 15.4k. Got some additional discount from the agent and finalized for 15k

Thanks to tbhp for making me aware of the 0% depreciation car insurance.
Old 7th June 2011, 17:54   #51

I am to renew my Figo TDCi titaniums insurance which is currently with ICICI. Tata AIG has quoted me around 15K along with insurance on depreciation and NCB, is it a good deal?
Old 7th June 2011, 18:31   #52

Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
I am to renew my Figo TDCi titaniums insurance which is currently with ICICI. Tata AIG has quoted me around 15K along with insurance on depreciation and NCB, is it a good deal?
You can get a comparison quote from Royal Sundaram who too provide the zero depriciation if you are very much keen on it. I guess this would be your first renewal.

Whats the quote you have from ICICI? Reasonable??
Old 7th June 2011, 20:27   #53

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
You can get a comparison quote from Royal Sundaram who too provide the zero depriciation if you are very much keen on it. I guess this would be your first renewal.

Whats the quote you have from ICICI? Reasonable??
I am not too sure if ICICI has that option of insurance on depreciation but the standard comprehensive policy was quoted at ~12k. I have no NCB.
Old 7th June 2011, 20:35   #54

I am not too sure if ICICI has that option of insurance on depreciation but the standard comprehensive policy was quoted at ~12k. I have no NCB.
I would recommend you to go only for 0 depreciation insurance only.

ICICI and Reliance are known to be notorious in their service - please stay away.
If you are interested in a reliable Tata AIG guy in Pune (I bet - he will give you the best quote) then PM me.
Old 8th June 2011, 11:01   #55

My Beat LT's insurance renewed with TATA AIG - Pearl Plan

Premium : 12658/- (inclusive of GST) No NCB

IDV - 347590/- (previous - 379974/-)

Benifits
  • Comprehensive Policy +
  • Cashless facility
  • 0 Depreciation (100% Claim on Metal, Plastic, Fiber & Glass)
  • No NCB lost if repair is done on Plastic, Fiber & Glass
  • Key replacement -25000 (if misplaced)
  • Lost of personal belongings - 10000
  • Towing charges claim - 1500

Vinu
Old 8th June 2011, 11:19   #56

Scorpio's Insurance from TATA-AIG

Premium : 28475/- (inclusive of GST) No NCB
IDV - 887326/-

Benifits
  • Comprehensive Policy +
  • Cashless facility
  • 0 Depreciation (100% Claim on Metal, Plastic, Fiber & Glass)
  • No NCB lost if repair is done on Plastic, Fiber & Glass
  • Key replacement -25000 (if misplaced)
  • Lost of personal belongings - 10000
  • Towing charges claim - 1500
Old 8th June 2011, 14:25   #57

>>>

I recently changed from Bajaj Allianz to Tata AIG (zero depreciation for plastics, glass & rubber, key replacement, 24 x 7 helpline, per diem payment for car/hotel in the event of delayed repairs/theft et.al).

Bajaj was offering some of these but not all. The Tata AIG quote was 60% of the quote by BA. A no brainer really.

Regards, drive safe
Old 9th June 2011, 16:30   #58

@anilisanil: Did you get the better deal from the TATA AIG guy? Please update us what was the deal you got for the benefit of other members.
Old 9th June 2011, 16:40   #59

Originally Posted by RemingtonSteele View Post
@anilisanil: Did you get the better deal from the TATA AIG guy? Please update us what was the deal you got for the benefit of other members.
Hey, I spoke to him and he is on leave, He would revert to me on Saturday. So would update accordingly.
Old 12th June 2011, 18:40   #60

Here is the deal I got for my 1st year Tata-AIG 0 depreciation (Pearl Plan) Honda City VMT Insurance renewal.

The only this we didn't Opt for was:
- Daily Allowance
- Return to Invoice.

TOTAL PREMIUM Rs. 17,538.00

One Note: The Tata-AIG person confirmed that they are offering 0 depreciation on Honda City for upto 6 years from the date of puchase.

Tata AIG's 0% Depreciation Car Insurance-tataaig_0depreciation.jpg

Last edited by RemingtonSteele : 12th June 2011 at 18:54.
RemingtonSteele is offline   (1) Thanks