Old 11th May 2011, 11:20   #241

Re: Force Motors SUV to be launched in end-2010. EDIT : Spotted again. Pics on pg.15

Price this at below 10 lakhs and they have a winner.
Old 11th May 2011, 11:23   #242

Re: Force Motors SUV to be launched in end-2010. EDIT : Spotted again. Pics on pg.15

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Price this at below 10 lakhs and they have a winner.
I would say 9.5 Ex showroom to 11 onroad. The interior doesn't look that bad but dated for sure. I think the customers would like the clean lines of the car.
Old 11th May 2011, 11:31   #243

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Wooden gear nob? That's looking really bad :(
We are worried about the whole vehicle and you are only concerned about the gear knob.

Above average quality and price it under 10L and it will sell 50-100 per month for sure
Old 11th May 2011, 11:33   #244

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
I think the customers would like the clean lines of the car.
Here big and cheap sells. More bang for the buck.

Its big, about 1.5 times my Bolero.

Its chinese, so guessing it will be cheap.

Now what break even period the Firodia's are looking at depends how much it costs.

Another observation. While taking the above pics, I was driving at around 80 kmph. The guy seeing my copassenger pointing the N8 camera at him accelerated. I accelerated too. Wonder of wonders my almost a decade old, 1.4 lakh km run, 72 bhp (on paper) Bolero kept up with it. This is the new TG Halli Road towards Peenya. 6 lane one. Average sunday afternoon traffic.

He could not shake me off, so he braked and slowed down to a crawl. I didn't bother, we had got our shots.

What engine is this running?
Old 11th May 2011, 11:35   #245

I intend to buy Trax Cruiser to modify it into HUMMER.. Any ideas/suggestions.
Old 11th May 2011, 11:41   #246

Old Generation Mercedes Benz. In this segment, if they want to shake the market, minimum capacity should be 120 BHP. Anything below 100, would be a disaster.

On second thoughts, could the vehicle have a speed limiter installed so that the drivers don't cross a certain speed limit?
Old 11th May 2011, 11:44   #247

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
We are worried about the whole vehicle and you are only concerned about the gear knob.

Above average quality and price it under 10L and it will sell 50-100 per month for sure

Not that way mate. This small things make customers unhappy. That's the reason Tata vehicles suffer. Many people left showroom seeing small things not in order in there vehicles. There Maruti & Hyundai wins the customers. Similarly this is going to be a Aam Janta vehicle. So they need to make sure that it will be to liking of Aaam people. Else people will not buy
Old 11th May 2011, 13:52   #248

Gosh !! Am not finding anything wrong with the interiors !! I prefer the silver finish [on the door pad] to the wooden finish in the centre console !! The car is huge, should be very roomy and the seats look good as well. The interior color scheme looks very neat !

With respect to the mistakes in the site, its truly a bad translation job! But considering its a Chinese website and usually the number of people who look at the English version, this should not be a problem for the company [ROI]. Probably it might also happen that the only EN version hits of the site are from bhpians alone.

Originally Posted by nishu49 View Post
I intend to buy Trax Cruiser to modify it into HUMMER.. Any ideas/suggestions.
You might want to post the same query on the modifications thread and might get some answers.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...s-accessories/

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 11th May 2011 at 13:56.
Old 11th May 2011, 13:59   #249

If it seats 7-8 and costs south of 10 lacs then I can see quite a few folk falling for it, especiallyb due to the size. Indians love the 'bada gaadi' factor. Even more taxi fleet cos. will fall for this as well.

What makes me sceptical is all the 'luxury suv' ball talks the Firodias have been letting out to the media, gives a feeling that they think the contraption deserves a +12 lac tag. I hope they understand the market today is way different from the 80s.
Old 11th May 2011, 15:53   #250

I have seen this last Sunday on Avenue Road, too much traffic to take a picture. I was wondering which vehicle this was. It is quite huge. I would say almost the size of Land Cruiser if not bigger.
Old 11th May 2011, 19:26   #251

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Detailed Interior Spy Pics on Page 50! More pics on p

this is the Force Motors SUV based on some Guangdong Korean beast.
not the W201

Originally Posted by Ashley2 View Post
More fotos. Location : Blore city near Adugodi.
Attachment 542755

Attachment 542756

Attachment 542757
Old 1st June 2011, 06:31   #252

While I was in Pune a couple of weeks back, I happened to see this Force Motors SUV criss-crossing the city on more than a couple of occasions. At first glance, the vehicle looks the part. It’s so big and massive that it commands an imposing road presence. But if it ends up looking similar to the Chinese SUV that it is based on, the inoffensive but dated design would ensure that it isn't a head-turner on road. Compared to modern rivals, the design sure lacks flair and some curves.

The interiors are sure to be extremely spacious with enough room to accommodate three rows of passengers and their luggage as well. Quality and durability of the interiors would be a big question though. Hopefully, the mechanicals with inputs from stalwarts like Daimler and Lotus should be one positive aspect of this vehicle. But, if Force Motors wants to project this as a luxury SUV as they claim it to be, they really need to spruce up the interiors and the exteriors IMO.
Force Motors SUV to be launched. EDIT: Launched @ 11lac Ex-showroom Mumbai-force-motors-suv-1.jpg  

Force Motors SUV to be launched. EDIT: Launched @ 11lac Ex-showroom Mumbai-force-motors-suv-2.jpg  

Old 1st June 2011, 10:42   #253
rbp

I was this same vehicle on NH4 near Hiriyur last saturday, from a distance I tht what the hell is that, it looks quite odd, I mean the camouflage color looks ugly, but the vehicle looks huge, I would say almost as big as the Ford Endeavor.

Last edited by rbp : 1st June 2011 at 10:43.
Old 1st June 2011, 11:05   #254

"massive" , "huge" the two words associated with the force SUV - would be tough to handle on our streets. The very reason people keep away from the endeavour, isnt it? Bolero sized vehicle would be more like it, IMO
Old 1st June 2011, 11:12   #255

there was an interview with Firodia- in which he was quoted to have said that they were doing a lot of work on this SUV to make it an amazing product. Looks like Force is doing something to really shake up the market.

On this project, the investment is close to Rs. 150 crore. This is much lower than what others spend on a particular product. Other companies, when they get into a particular segment, look at huge volume, and for that you need huge infrastructure, which takes a lot of money. We were able to do it in Rs. 150 crore because the area in the SUV (sport utility vehicle) segment which we are targeting is where the market is 60,000 units in India and I will be happy if we could sell 4,000 units in the first year. This is a new initiative from the company from a long-term perspective. We are not looking at it as a short-term venture. As long as customers are satisfied, and industry looks at us and says: “that company has moved into another league”. That’s what is more important for us at this stage. That was one of the key driving factors to get into this segment. It’s a very challenging task for us. We have been in the CV (commercial vehicle) segment for years. Now, we have to move out into other spectrum, which is very challenging and extremely exciting.

You will be using a Daimler engine in your SUV. Won’t that make your vehicle expensive?

Our SUV is a Daimler driveline. The engine, the gearbox, the axles… everything is from Mercedes. The DNA of the engine is similar to what a Mercedes C-class has. This is a Euro IV 2.2 litre engine, 140 bhp and over 300 ft-lb torque. So the driveline is top class. Secondly, the fact that our SUV is a fairly large—space is going to be another USP (unique selling proposition) for us. We are going to offer a lot of room. In our understanding, Indians like space as Indian families are large as compared to Western families. Our ride handling is tuned by Lotus in the UK. We flew vehicles there—they were tested in the UK extensively; and then the Britishers came back here to do testing in multiple locations within India. So we have the best-in-price product in that segment. Our electronics, vehicle dynamics are all evaluated by Mercedes-Benz Technologies, a vehicle consultancy company which is a 100% subsidiary of Mercedes-Benz. They do evaluation for other companies like Audi, Porsche. So we have got these external elements to support us. We hired a German specialist on styling. The vehicle will be priced Rs. 12-14 lakh. At this price, who would not like such a vehicle?
SourcE: Prasan Firodia | 40-50% of our core team are young people from the industry - Corporate News - livemint.com