Old 30th July 2012, 16:16   #211

re: New Maruti 800. EDIT : SCOOP pictures on Page 7 & 15

ACI uploaded this pic on their fb page.
SOURCE: All-new Maruti Alto 800 coming soon | News | Autocar India
New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched-388024_10151297647452067_768542748_n.jpg  

dZired is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th July 2012, 16:19   #212

It is indeed the Cervo. Folks at Mandovi Motors had told me about it, it is intended to be competition to the Nano. Maruti also plans on launching a car called XA-Alpha or something. Same Swift engine but with an SUV build.
Old 30th July 2012, 23:31   #213

OMG! What have Maruti done? Front looks inspired from Figo and A-star. Sides look inspired from i20 and so is the grille. Why can't Maruti engineers come up with some nice original designs?

This will definitely sell as a replacement to our beloved humble Maruti 800. Hope this car turns out to be better than the Eon too.
Old 29th August 2012, 12:52   #214

ACI have report that the new 800 is expected to be launched soon. Here is thier report on the same:

New Maruti Alto 800 coming soon | News | Autocar India

Maruti-Suzuki is targeting a price under Rs 2 lakh price for the new 800, which is bang in Nano territory.
Old 29th August 2012, 15:51   #215

ha! ha! this reminds me of the earlier hyundai cars where design philopsophy was "cut and paste".
Old 29th August 2012, 16:01   #216

Originally Posted by Caramba
ha! ha! this reminds me of the earlier hyundai cars where design philopsophy was "cut and paste".
True. It looks so much like the Figo. But, the masses should like it, considering the alto nameplate and a rumoured 2L price tag.

It won't have the burden of being called the cheapest car too, thanks to TATA.
Old 29th August 2012, 23:52   #217

Source: http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cnb...to_751008.html

They say the launch is on November.

Latest images: Source: SCOOP! Maruti Alto 800 spy pics - Indian Cars - Autocar India Forum

Notice nice design of the tail lights (side view of the tail light in first pic), big gaps between tail lights and rear glass (3rd pic), cost cutting like single water dispenser at the bonnet, and integrated head restraints.
New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched-1.jpg  

New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched-2.jpg  

New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched-3.jpg  

Last edited by romeomidhun : 30th August 2012 at 00:01.
romeomidhun is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2012, 00:09   #218

Looks like the i10 from the rear.
And the overall proportions of the car look bad.
But still it will sell
Old 30th August 2012, 00:24   #219

This car has some similarity with Eon, Ritz, A-Star, i10, Figo to name a few and none with Alto.
It is bound to succeed as it looks "proper" than Nano and will have better image than Nano.
Old 30th August 2012, 00:31   #220

Nice yet modern looking car.
I'm having 8 years old Alto F8D, so is it better to replace it with this New-age Alto 800 or should i retain the same car with me.

suggestions are welcomed & thanks in advance bhp-ians.
Old 30th August 2012, 00:51   #221

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Guys check out this linky.Will this be the new 800?

Maruti to launch Cervo this Diwali Photos | Pictures - Yahoo! News India
Certainly a Nano and Eon beater, but can never hope to come close to the original M-800 for it's true value and "Yeoman" service to all the car lovers in India.
Old 30th August 2012, 06:06   #222

Originally Posted by romeomidhun View Post
Looks like a combination of couple of cars altogether!!

Front - inspired from Ford Figo
Side Profile - Shades of new gen. Wagon R.
Rear - i10 / Eon

I have got only one question. Why Maruti, why??

Strange that their marketing and design teams still expect customers to buy it when there are a lot of good looking entry level hatches available. I think the "Maruti" factor would be the only thing which can give it a boost.

Will have to wait and see for the acceptance though.

r-six
Old 30th August 2012, 06:17   #223

Simple !! Maruti makes these cars since there is a load of undemanding customer base in India who wants a car which is cheap and a after-sales network which can cayer to any breakdowns. Now if that means compromising quality, looks and safety then so be it.
Till we demand something better from Maruti we will be getting such cars.
Old 30th August 2012, 23:32   #224

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
I for one, Know that Other Than their 'Brand Image' there is nothing else that they can be proud of as being their own "Creativity".
Please don't think the world will be in complete darkness if you close your eyes.

How a brand image is created? Is it as simple as making a tea? The Maruti brand image is created with a lot of factors like design, low cost of ownership, compactness to handle in city conditions, mileage, quality, durability, availability of service and spares etc. Even now, they do some really appreciable designs like Ertiga. After all, during those brand image creation times for Maruti, they didn't do it by stealing others' designs!

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
I honestly Wonder, if Maruti Swift would even have buyers if not for the Fiat Engine.
Swift was selling around 5-7K per month even before the Diesel version was introduced. And moreover, for me, the Swift design is far better than most of the the copycat cars by their rivals.
romeomidhun is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st August 2012, 00:07   #225

Yuckkkkk!!!!! is the only word that came to my mind looking at that car! Seriously, what the heck is going on with the designers? The charm of the old 800 is definitely lost and I hope this does not follow the same path that the Estilo followed when it replaced the much popular and peppy Zen. But if the car is reliable and is quite practical, it'l definitely sell like hot cakes, considering the ease of ownership. But looking at this, I seriously have to appreciate the designers of Nano. Each time I look at it, I'm in love. The design seems awesome for a sub 2 lac car! Will have to wait and watch.