Old 4th September 2012, 11:25   #241

re: New Maruti 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20

If this car comes with Autobox, i see a new segment king. I know I am day dreaming, but no harm in wishing the same.
Old 4th September 2012, 12:24   #242

Well look at it this way, you are getting 3 cars, The figo from the front, The Wagon R from the sides and an Alto from the rear. 3 Cars for a price of a nano

On a serious note, if Maruti prices it sub 2 lakhs, the car will sell hot, for majority of us Indians, a car is a car, if it runs on four wheels, answers the question " Kitna deti hai?? favourably and hopefully does not catch fire, add to that the brand name "Maruti" (Which Iam sure many would diagree), but for a layman, who has little or no knowledge about cars, who does not do much survey, looking for a cheap car, believe me the "Maruti" tag is enough.
Old 7th September 2012, 16:41   #243

I was at MSIL Gurgaon today, as i said in my last post, the area where cars parked after final check is full with the new 800.
Reason, could be that since the car is not announced, it is not being despatched.

Here are a few observations:
- I could see only two variants - LX and LXi.
- The Lxi has front power windows(buttons are next to hand brake), body colored bumpers and door handles, it also comes with black rims, so i uess it wil have wheel caps too.
- Lx is the bare bone version.
- I saw a guy fitting Sony music systems and sony speakers in a couple of LXi cars. Maybe MSIL is thinking of offering music system as an option.
Old 7th September 2012, 17:37   #244

Originally Posted by revved_up View Post
I was at MSIL Gurgaon today, as i said in my last post, the area where cars parked after final check is full with the new 800.
Reason, could be that since the car is not announced, it is not being despatched.
Did you notice if the car had mirrors on the LHS? Also, i fail to understand, why no fog lamps? I am pretty sure that during winter, even Maruti factory might be not visible during foggy conditions. Its a must up north and east.
Old 7th September 2012, 18:32   #245

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
Did you notice if the car had mirrors on the LHS? Also, i fail to understand, why no fog lamps? I am pretty sure that during winter, even Maruti factory might be not visible during foggy conditions. Its a must up north and east.
Nope no mirrors on LHS.

Update: Saw a VXi too, i saw it from a distance. The only difference i could notice was a spoile and RHS mirror.
Old 7th September 2012, 18:41   #246

I heard this new alto will provide more torque at low RPM.
The Max RPM has been reduced bu approx 500.
Fe has gone up by 10%.
Gearbox / Ratios are unchanged.

It means it will be better to drive. But I think we will have to wait for the official report for that.
And yes, the main part pricing!
My feeling it will be priced similar to (Alto-Discounts). Pricing low from day 1 is the key. Offering discounts later on does nothing. (New Fiesta)
However if you price it too low, you can always come back by silently jacking up the prices. Perfect example is Figo.

Would I buy 1? No.
I would get a Alto 10K.

I seriously hope they dont discontinue the existing K10 and but that engine in this hideous body!

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
I honestly Wonder, if Maruti Swift would even have buyers if not for the Fiat Engine.
Are you insinuating the diesel engine is the only positive aspect of Swift?

Well heads up. Punto sells with the same engine. So does Linea & SX4. All these combined does not even attribute to 10% of swift sales.

The Swift has a great handling package. The looks are not bad either. It is reliable. What else do you want?

Equip the Swift with any decent diesel engine Say Ford's 1.4 TDci or Nissan's 1.5 Dci or the toyota's 1.4 D4D. It will still sell as much.

Last edited by oxyzen : 7th September 2012 at 18:48.
oxyzen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th September 2012, 12:14   #247

Oncars reports that Alto 800 will be launched on September 15. Link:www.oncars.in/Car-News-Detail/Exclusive-Maruti-Suzuki-Alto-800-to-launch-on-September-15-2012/2945
Old 13th September 2012, 12:01   #248

Any idea when the booking would start?
Old 13th September 2012, 12:47   #249

Originally Posted by sarthakgupta View Post
Oncars reports that Alto 800 will be launched on September 15. Link:www.oncars.in/Car-News-Detail/Exclusive-Maruti-Suzuki-Alto-800-to-launch-on-September-15-2012/2945
Source: http://zeenews.india.com/business/au...row_60200.html

This report says the launch may happen tomorrow. IMO, they may not launch a new car on a Saturday.
Old 13th September 2012, 18:28   #250

Originally Posted by romeomidhun View Post
Source: http://zeenews.india.com/business/au...row_60200.html

This report says the launch may happen tomorrow. IMO, they may not launch a new car on a Saturday.
Oh! Now they changed the date to Saturday.
Old 13th September 2012, 19:34   #251

A launch on Saturday gets an ad or a column on Sundays news paper!

Sundays newspaper have more readership. Even busy guys may read it. Looks like a good marketing tactic to launch on a Saturday. No sure of astrology or numerology part though.
Old 13th September 2012, 19:56   #252

Originally Posted by Sedate View Post
A launch on Saturday gets an ad or a column on Sundays news paper!

Sundays newspaper have more readership. Even busy guys may read it. Looks like a good marketing tactic to launch on a Saturday. No sure of astrology or numerology part though.
For that they can give an ad on a sunday and launch on an auspicious day.
Old 13th September 2012, 20:12   #253

Originally Posted by sarthakgupta View Post
Now India Today reports the same.

NEW ALTO 800 MAY LAUNCH THIS SATURDAY

MARUTI SUZUKI is expected to roll out its new Alto800 model on the coming Saturday. The company has altered the Alto800 to compete with Hyundai Eon and Tata Nano.

Last edited by dZired : 13th September 2012 at 20:15.
Old 14th September 2012, 23:36   #254

Originally Posted by dZired View Post
Now India Today reports the same.

NEW ALTO 800 MAY LAUNCH THIS SATURDAY
I'm confused. Nano is positioned below Alto and eon is positioned above Alto. Then where will Alto800 be positioned? Below or above Alto?
Old 14th September 2012, 23:47   #255

Originally Posted by romeomidhun View Post
I'm confused. Nano is positioned below Alto and eon is positioned above Alto. Then where will Alto800 be positioned? Below or above Alto?
Below Alto for sure, If launched above alto, then you've K10 and spark sitting there.

Maruti have to price this very aggressively, I guess a starting price of 2.4L OTR for base model with AC will be a good bet, or if they price it near 3L segment, I doubt, people will opt for this over Alto/spark/k10.

sameer