Old 17th October 2012, 19:14   #466

re: New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched

Originally Posted by nurni76 View Post
The reason why they may not want to call it 800 is probably because of a new 800 launch in the pipeline sometime soon.
Any concrete info regarding this? Is the phased out Alto coming back as new 800?

My suggestion to Maruti: design a feature-rich but simple-looking (as the current M800) B+ segment hatch, plonk the 1.6L Petrol engine, and call it 2x800. So we can say the iconic 800 is back, and how!
Old 17th October 2012, 23:07   #467

re: New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched

Hello,A friend is interested in the 800,but considering that already 10K has been booked,has anyone an inkling of the waiting period(if there is one).Also OTR prices in bangalore should be crossing the 3.75L mark for the Lxi?
Old 18th October 2012, 07:10   #468

My suggestion is go in for the old Alto. You'll get more than 50k off. And it looks like a better car than the new toy box. Or wait till december when this too will be on discounts. Couple of the over zealous bookings will get cancelled once people have a good look at the cost cutting done in the new one. Even I'm thinking of retiring my wife's 2003 Lxi and buying a new one (old shape). Am getting 80k for my old car done 37k kms. Have to put in additional 1.80 Lacs for the change (on road).
Old 18th October 2012, 08:30   #469

I fail to understand one thing. It's the same F8D 796 cc block, with slightly increased power at 48 PS, compared to the earlier 45 PS. Also, the torque is 61.78 Nm compared to the earlier 56.53. IMHO, some good retuning could have achieved this. Apart from this, from a technical point of view, exactly what is new? Everything else seems the same.

So from my point of view, its a major facelift, more of a marketing strategy to sell the old fruit in new packaging.

What exactly are we paying the odd 50-60k more for?
Old 18th October 2012, 09:01   #470

Would there be a tbhp official review on this one? Couple of my friends in India inquired about getting an entry level hatch and I could have directed them to that review maybe.
Old 18th October 2012, 11:11   #471

Got a chance to look at the new Alto 800. Here are my observations:

1. Doors feel slightly more solid than the old Alto.
2. Plastic quality inside is of similar finish to the Ritz. The plastics feel of the right quality for a car of this class.
3. The car looks awful, although much better than in pictures. Design really looks cheap. I'd anyday prefer the looks of an Alto K10 over this one.
4. I tried shifting gears in the display car and the shifts felt better than the old Alto. Not to be compared with Swift/Ritz quality though.
5. Shamefully, Maruti has skimped on the left side mirror.
6. Rear legroom is typical Alto fare.
7. I felt boot is slightly lesser than the old Alto, not sure though.
8. I cannot be very sure, but paint quality didn't feel upto the mark. I mean not better than the older Alto.
9. The car looks best in Red. Other colors look cheap.

Let me know if you guys agree with me on this. I'd be willing to be corrected if any errors.
blue_pulsar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2012, 12:36   #472

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Got a chance to look at the new Alto 800. Here are my observations:

3. The car looks awful, although much better than in pictures. Design really looks cheap.
7. I felt boot is slightly lesser than the old Alto, not sure though.
9. The car looks best in Red. Other colors look cheap.
Thanks for sharing your opinion.

They could have improved the looks by a bigger tyre, blackening the B-pillar, and providing ORVM on both sides.
As far as I understand, Old Alto's boot is 170L, while this one has 177L.
In terms of looks, the torque blue suits this car best, IMO.

Last edited by romeomidhun : 18th October 2012 at 12:39.
Old 18th October 2012, 12:44   #473

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
Would there be a tbhp official review on this one? Couple of my friends in India inquired about getting an entry level hatch and I could have directed them to that review maybe.
Absolutely. We insist on reviewing all new cars . A Team-BHP Review will be published in due time.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th October 2012, 15:44   #474

See how Hyundai has responded to New Maruti Alto 800 launch

Ad published in HT today

Very hard hitting and aggressive ad i must say
New Maruti Alto 800. EDIT : CLEAR scoop pictures on Page 18 & 20 - Now Launched-eon.jpg  

Last edited by phoenix_rising : 18th October 2012 at 15:46. Reason: to add on
phoenix_rising is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2012, 15:53   #475

After the launch of Alto-800 I suddenly feel that my Alto is more valuable than before . Maruti did put a good price but the looks are horrible. It looks like the love child of all hatch backs in india !!
Old 18th October 2012, 16:12   #476

Originally Posted by phoenix_rising View Post

Ad published in HT today

But they conveniently ignored the most important question for this segment - "kitna deti hai?"
Old 18th October 2012, 16:17   #477

Originally Posted by sourabhzen View Post
But they conveniently ignored the most important question for this segment - "kitna deti hai?"
Instead they are trying to say about them -

''KITNA LETI HAI'' (borrowing cues from others)
Old 18th October 2012, 16:37   #478

I think Hyundai has to grow a bit in terms of marketing. Time and again they have come with childish comparisons between their cars and opponents' cars. It's sad to see companies going for such foolish attempts to tarnish others' cars than highlighting their own merits.

Originally Posted by sourabhzen View Post
And also ignored other points like parts availability, service costs, resale value, service network etc.

Last edited by romeomidhun : 18th October 2012 at 16:39.
Old 18th October 2012, 17:14   #479

Over all its looks like an A-Star with different skin and name.
Old 18th October 2012, 17:22   #480

Cheap, cheap, ultra cheap !!!

Hyundai should not do such ugly marketing. What they want to prove here? Alto is following them? They are the biggest fools i guess. Initially they followed Maruti by making Eon after seeing sales numbers done by Alto over the years. It may be good in some areas but overall Alto was better. Sales numbers of Eon has proved that. With new Alto, i am sure they are going to face more heat. New Alto is going to be hit for sure. Lets wait for few months & Hyundai will understand what is reality
aniketi is offline   (1) Thanks