Old 25th July 2011, 14:48   #16

Re: VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6

A handbuilt car for 55L is a cool deal, those getting it would be planning on keeping it for life normally, but it is just that the brand does not emote in that manner with the customer. 25L is huge, but if there is a new one in the very near future, then they should simply not make/ supply any more of the older one rather than dilute the model brand equity further.

So we do know that this is true for sure, but the reasoning is hard to understand, unless they have a fair bit in stock, but then why the 1M leadtime, customizations?
Old 25th July 2011, 15:17   #17

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
So we do know that this is true for sure, but the reasoning is hard to understand, unless they have a fair bit in stock, but then why the 1M leadtime, customizations?
The 1 month lead is depending on the dealer. My local dealer has got one in stock and you can drive off if you want.
Old 25th July 2011, 15:52   #18

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
It's true. There's a Phaeton in Cochin which was bought some time back. I heard that the offer the buyer got was 25L off or VW Beetle free!! And he took the cash discount.

Is this the one? My friend spotted a Phaeton in Cochin and he uploaded the pics on fb:

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-265142_10150673238370441_769600440_19502068_6877325_n.jpg

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-261960_10150673232810441_769600440_19502014_4738631_n.jpg

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-260173_10150673241100441_769600440_19502099_5995643_n.jpg

that's a massive discount VW have offered! If a new model is launched shortly afterwards, the depreciation will be huge - owing to the fact that it's a slow mover + huge discount on the car + new model launch

Edit: Just thought about those customers who bought the car before the discount! If Honda owners are angry because of recent price cuts of Rs.60,000, what state of mind will the Phaeton owners be when they see a cool 25 lakh discount on the car they just purchased for 77 lakhs!!

Last edited by Games Goblin : 25th July 2011 at 15:57.
Games Goblin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2011, 17:41   #19

I have kept a Phaeton 4.2 LWB. It is a gorgeously engineered, very well performing car, that is a joy to drive. I would recommend it unhesitatingly.
Old 25th July 2011, 20:25   #20

In India, only the 3.6 VR6 petrol is "officially" sold.
Old 25th July 2011, 21:06   #21

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
Its true..we got our Phaeton in the family for on road 55 lakhs, the car being good and with nice features just has not caught on with the masses and its price tag surely keeps everyone away.
Congrats Speedy , 55 lakhs for a Phaeton is a nice price

25 lakhs is indeed a staggering discount , how would this kind of discount impact the sub brand which can only sell if associated with luxury and/or performance
Old 25th July 2011, 21:19   #22

Though accomplished, this car is way too old. In fact, the S-Class has already been through 2 generations in the same period, while a 3rd is around the corner. 10 years (nearly there) shelf life is a long time in this segment.
Old 25th July 2011, 23:11   #23

Though accomplished, this car is way too old. In fact, the S-Class has already been through 2 generations in the same period, while a 3rd is around the corner. 10 years (nearly there) shelf life is a long time in this segment.
Very good points, but there are some cars that approach timelessness, and the Phaeton is one of them in my opinion.
Old 26th July 2011, 08:44   #24

I had checked the phaeton yesterday and got the confirmation myself towards booking the same by the end of August. I was chatting with the GM of the showroom and he was mentioning about the diesel version. It seems that VW doesn't intend in having a diesel version for the same which comes in the 3.6L version rather than the 3.0L version which i had envisaged of. The price is quite reasonable considerable considerable when it falls in the bracket of the E-Class or 5 Series.
Old 26th July 2011, 10:54   #25

Wow!! Thats a discount unheard off in the India automobile Industry. I am sure they must be running on some cash discount previously also and now they have officially announced the price cut but still it is huge

I had bought Honda Jazz couple of months back and was frustrated with them when they declared the discounts last week. In total I had loss of 80k which is 15% of vehicle and decided not to look Honda as a brand for further purchases.

But think on a buyer who would have bought Phaeton say 2 months back and lost say 15lac (i am assuming there must be 10l unofficial discounts) is huge. Will the customers in that segment ever look upto VW as a brand to own after this price cut

Agreed that some will get benefit for the discount and buy it if they were looking for say BMW 5 series but my question is will it serve VW (or for that matter Honda) in long run. Will they command same respect, snob value which they had previously?
<Badguy> is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th July 2011, 16:02   #26

I think now there is one odd car remaining with the company at their plant location near Pune.

One of the disadvantage of Phaeton, which is actually preferred by few people, is its lack of snob value. There are few who want the best of the technology and luxury without flaunting it.
radek is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2011, 20:42   #27

Originally Posted by varunrdas View Post
I had checked the phaeton yesterday and got the confirmation myself towards booking the same by the end of August. I was chatting with the GM of the showroom and he was mentioning about the diesel version. It seems that VW doesn't intend in having a diesel version for the same which comes in the 3.6L version rather than the 3.0L version which i had envisaged of. The price is quite reasonable considerable considerable when it falls in the bracket of the E-Class or 5 Series.
Well, the "OVERDRIVE says that this is a stock clearance sale before the introduction of a 3.0L Diesel. In the UK, another RHD market, VW offers only this 3.0L Diesel on the car.

A LWB Phaeton with a VW group 3.0 Diesel at sounds really tempting if offered at 55L or thereabouts!
Old 29th July 2011, 23:22   #28

Originally Posted by Yeldo View Post
Well, the "OVERDRIVE says that this is a stock clearance sale before the introduction of a 3.0L Diesel. In the UK, another RHD market, VW offers only this 3.0L Diesel on the car.

A LWB Phaeton with a VW group 3.0 Diesel at sounds really tempting if offered at 55L or thereabouts!
@yeldo - I have spoken with executives at a couple of showrooms mate as i am about to purchase a luxury vehicle shortly where i have shortlisted the Phaeton and the ML350. Hence very sure about what model is on offer, and most of the VW folks didn't seem optimistic about the diesel variant being introduced in the near future.
Old 30th July 2011, 09:34   #29

Originally Posted by Games Goblin View Post

Is this the one? My friend spotted a Phaeton in Cochin and he uploaded the pics on fb:
There's also a White Phaeton in Cochin. Some pics.
VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00102201012081651.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00103201012081652.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00104201012081652.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00107201012081654.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00108201012081654.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00109201012081704.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00110201012081704.jpg  

VW offers Rs. 25 lakh off on Phaeton 3.6-img00111201012081704.jpg  

naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th July 2011, 12:22   #30