Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2011, 00:02   #1

Buying an Indian car from a diplomat in Delhi?

I am a newbie in Delhi and am planning to purchase an indian make car from a diplomat who is presently in Delhi, India but leaving soon. I cannot find any info on how to re- register this blue CD number plate car in new Delhi. I believe I will have to shell out road tax too, as diplomats do not have to pay it. Does anyone here have any idea what all this may entail? I also need finance for the car ( Maruti make, 2007). If anyone could guide me about the procedure or guide me to some agent in Delhi who can handle this, I would really appreciate the guidance. Thanks in advance. Request admin to move this thread to the correct place in case I have posted it in the wrong one.
Old 22nd August 2011, 11:33   #2
Team-BHP Support

Re: Buying an Indian car from a diplomat in Delhi?

I am not really sure about the process but one such car was registered without any issues. Check this thread - Link.
moralfibre is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2011, 14:06   #3
BANNED

Quote:
Originally Posted by safari dude View Post
Does anyone here have any idea what all this may entail? I also need finance for the car ( Maruti make, 2007). If anyone could guide me about the procedure or guide me to some agent in Delhi who can handle this, I would really appreciate the guidance.
What is the make and model of the car that you plan to purchase/have purchased?

You need to have the invoice of the car when it was imported to India and the import clearance documents. There has to be a valuation of the vehicle done by any RTO authorised valuer.

I have friend who is an ex-embassy employee and can help you with other details once we have the answers to these initial questions.

PS: I m not an agent/will not take you to any agent.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2011, 14:45   #4