Old 29th September 2011, 23:37   #16

Re: XUV500 vs ARIA vs Innova !

Also remember that Toyota is going to increase the prices across its range by 2% from october 1st. May be after this launch of the XUV500 they might not want to touch Innova's pricing.
Old 29th September 2011, 23:37   #17

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
6 speed normally means 6 forward gears + 1 reverse. And Aria lower versions are FWD while Innova is only FWD.
Sirji, Innova is only RWD and not FWD
Old 29th September 2011, 23:58   #18

Hope innova come up with the automatic version of the 3.0 diesel.
Old 29th September 2011, 23:59   #19

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
6 speed normally means 6 forward gears + 1 reverse. And Aria lower versions are FWD while Innova is only FWD.
Aria lower versions are RWD, not FWD.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Sirji, Innova is only RWD and not FWD
Old 30th September 2011, 00:46   #20

Nice comparison

Does anyone have idea about ground clearance of XUV500? I failed to figure out the ground clearance of XUV500 from Mahindra website (Same in the case of Scorpio also ).
Old 30th September 2011, 01:26   #21

How is it that the XUV's FWD and AWD variants weigh exactly the same? Generally the AWD variants are always heavier.
Old 30th September 2011, 02:53   #22

Originally Posted by vsun View Post
Nice comparison

Does anyone have idea about ground clearance of XUV500? I failed to figure out the ground clearance of XUV500 from Mahindra website (Same in the case of Scorpio also ).
IIRC, Scorpio has 180 mm ground clearance from the manual. Not sure about XUV500 though, but I think it should be the same.
Old 30th September 2011, 06:46   #23
rkg

the major differences are
1.traction control
2. Dual mass flywheel
3. Ventilated discs in Aria

In XUV
1. tyre tronics
2. Hill climb assist
Old 30th September 2011, 07:45   #24

Raj,

Brillliant comparison done there - really comprehensive and yes, it makes the XUV500 look really nice!!
Old 30th September 2011, 08:15   #25

Excellent comparison, i am now ready to put down money for the next sedan or suv and was almost closing on either a Altis Petrol/Diesel, or the Fortuner (With my finances tweaked a bit), not comes the XUV500 to spoil the party of all these guys and i am seriously tilting towards XUV500 and save the extra 10L i would pay for Fortuner.

I am sure i have seen Scorpios last 200,000Kms and HVK sir does his world tours on his scorpio, Folks having mahindra A$$ experience can comment what i should be expecting in future if i buy XUV500.
Old 30th September 2011, 08:34   #26

One thing is for sure, that the XUV will simply annihilate Safari. Given that the service quality offered for Safari under the new management beats San Storm to dust, and the looks, features and pricing of the new XUV - there is no doubt which will be the new favorite of the Dadagiri crowd.

@Raj - an excellent comparison chart you have prepared here.
Old 30th September 2011, 08:40   #27

Originally Posted by vsun View Post
Nice comparison

Thanks for the effort to put this together - btw where is the website for XUV500 ?
Old 30th September 2011, 09:19   #28

Thank you friends for the appreciation.

Originally Posted by bejoy View Post
@raj_5004
6 speed gearbox means 5 forward gears and a reverse, right?
XUV has 6 forward gears & one reverse.

Also, XUV500 base variant is Front wheel drive. This is a significant difference from the rest. (read handling)
That is the reason I have included XUV 2WD to be compared with Innova & Aria 4x2.

Originally Posted by vineethvazhayil View Post
How is it that the XUV's FWD and AWD variants weigh exactly the same? Generally the AWD variants are always heavier.
Surprisingly, that is what is mentioned in the website, I know it cannot be true.

Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
Excellent comparison, i am now ready to put down money for the next sedan or suv and was almost closing on either a Altis Petrol/Diesel, or the Fortuner (With my finances tweaked a bit), not comes the XUV500 to spoil the party of all these guys and i am seriously tilting towards XUV500 and save the extra 10L i would pay for Fortuner.
I was wondering about this thing. Consider a scenario where someone has ample of money (read 25 lacs), what would he buy? Would he buy the Fortuner for its luxury status, image & the T tag or would he buy the Aria as its more expensive than the XUV or would he just consider the features & price & buy the XUV?

I am sure i have seen Scorpios last 200,000Kms and HVK sir does his world tours on his scorpio, Folks having mahindra A$$ experience can comment what i should be expecting in future if i buy XUV500.
I am myself having a scorpio which has clocked 2 lac kms!

A.S.S. of Mahindra, though nothing like toyota, is not bad either. I have a FIAT & Tata's A.S.S. is pathetic when compared to Mahindra's.
raj_5004 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 09:43   #29

Originally Posted by ahmed26 View Post
Hope innova come up with the automatic version of the 3.0 diesel.
If they do this, wont it hamper the mileage ?
Old 30th September 2011, 10:20   #30

@Raj, thank you for taking the pain...i know it is time consuming.
5.6 5.6 m
2850 2700
1895 1890
4780 4585
Why the turning radius is same (5.6) even though the XUV500 is shorter and narrower than Aria? What about the 3d row leg space, boot space etc,
Looks like not a single thing missing in XUV 500 top variant that is present in Aria top end, and the price is 4 lakh cheaper, Good for the consumer....