Old 6th March 2006, 22:41   #1

KANDAA 1.5 Lakh car

The Pune based auto components manufacturer started manufacturing bikes recently and is planning to launch a car for about 1.5L. Anyone seen the car? If possible pls send the pics.
Old 7th March 2006, 11:16   #2

The only thing that I hate about these cheap cars is that :

1) They take a lot of time to come into reality, example the 1 lac Tata Car
2) They look like wierd
Old 7th March 2006, 11:23   #3

and quality ?

Thre more cheaper it gets, lesser would be its quality and maybe the same with safety
Old 30th March 2006, 22:36   #4

Kandaa

Dear Das,

I Completely Agree With You......
Old 30th March 2006, 23:26   #5

1.5 lac car??
Lets hope tat they too wil end up in another ACE pickup

Drive safe
Sree
Old 31st March 2006, 00:27   #6

Originally Posted by jkdas
and quality ?

Thre more cheaper it gets, lesser would be its quality and maybe the same with safety
Well I guess the poor people need an option too, if they want to migrate from two wheelers to car, than they should have the option of a cheap car. The safety may not be same as high end cars, but it will be safer than a scooter.
Same is true for the cars we drive, a 3 lakh santro is not as safe or quality product as say a 12 lakh skoda, but still people like you and me consider it safer than scooter and it gives us an option of a four seater.
Old 31st March 2006, 03:14   #7

but the people who cant afford a new 3lac car and are waiting for a 1-1.5lac car can definitely buy a second hand car for the same price.in comparison the 2nd hand car will be more powerful,bigger,safer than the new 1-1.5lac car!!!and to think of it maruti can anyday price their maruti 800 at 1.5l.its already priced at 2l.the cost of their manufacturinf plant,dies,etc wud have all been recovered by now.the govt. can reduce the excise duty for cars less tahn 800cc to bare mimimum if the govt wants to.
Old 31st March 2006, 07:55   #8

Yeah, someone wanting a cheap car will go for 2nd hand 800 in good condition for 1.5 lakh-odd.

Which is why the success of a 1-lakh car is doubtful. (I mean success as in really huge numbers)
Old 31st March 2006, 08:42   #9

The problem with such cheap cars is,
to keep their cost low they become just too much cheap. Each and every panel in that car shouts at owner saying hey you bought cheap car. It just isn't fair to owner.
Old 31st March 2006, 10:41   #10

instead of waiting for such cheap cars, better take a 3-wheeler-auto and get it designed from Autopsyche, i hope he'll give such customers a hefty discount (read subsidy!)

do get the 4th wheel fixed and you are way ahead of the crowd (waiting for such cars!).

happy waiting.