Old 5th February 2012, 16:10   #811

Re: Fiat Linea & Punto 2012 Models - Now Launched

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : We do NOT permit any posts that are blindly biased in favour of a brand. Keeping your contribution objective is key to forum participation.

We advise you to keep your posts extremely neutral going forward.

Last edited by GTO : 7th February 2012 at 14:41.
Charioteer is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th February 2012, 16:14   #812

Originally Posted by DRIV3R View Post
You got it all wrong.

Given the big picture, meaning, overall, right? Please read my original message again and get back. Show me one sensible BHPian who can claim that Fiat A.S.S is any better than Maruti A.S.S overall.
Well, you got it wrong too.

I don't think anybody is claiming that Fiat A.S.S is better than Maruti A.S.S (overall, personal experiences differ). However, saying "good A.S.S and FIAT don't go hand-in-hand" doesn't also appear to be correct (overall). There was a thread (poll) somewhere on the forum on FIAT A.S.S, where a majority of the members (FIAT owners) rated it as satisfactory based on their personal experiences.

I haven't made any comment on your original post. It's your money, you choose where to put it, based on your own parameters.
Old 5th February 2012, 16:23   #813

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post

I don't think anybody is claiming that Fiat A.S.S is better than Maruti A.S.S
Well, why do you guys have a problem when I make the same point, based on my recent experience (I have shared the name of the dealer too), I wonder!

There was a thread (poll) somewhere on the forum on FIAT A.S.S, where a majority of the members (FIAT owners) rated it as satisfactory based on their personal experiences.
Yeah, T-BHP is a forum for petrolheads and some petrolheads love FIATs and I am one among them and that is the damn reason why I bothered to look at the Punto!!

Keep in mind that the T-BHP population does not represent the whole of FIAT's A.S.S in India. And FYI, Maruti is no God either. There are dissatisfied Maruti customers too. Just that in the bigger perspective, Maruti is miles ahead FIAT, with regards to sales experience, number of dealerships and spares availability.

I don't like untrained grease monkeys who usually work on Indicabs and Sumos try their antics on a 8 Lac Italian beauty.

Last edited by DRIV3R : 5th February 2012 at 16:24.
Old 5th February 2012, 16:41   #814

The thread is over 51 pages, and I am unable to locate a post which compares the old model to the new model in terms of the updates made.

Please guide me to the post which has these pics.

Mods.

Can the thread title be updated to have the page number where the above info is available ?
Old 5th February 2012, 17:28   #815

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : We do NOT permit any posts that are blindly biased in favour of a brand. Keeping your contribution objective is key to forum participation.

Last edited by GTO : 7th February 2012 at 14:41.
prkothan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 17:45   #816

Originally Posted by prkothan View Post
3. Palio GTX is first hatchback to have ABS+EBD way back 2002 (later they discontinued it due to lack of sales. Just like the awesome TJET.).
You missed the 32-bit fuel injection system and the drilled aluminium sports pedals.
sandeepmdas is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 18:16   #817

hangercliff, I don't give a rat's rear to how many Puntos you own. I myself am a fan of it, and was disappointed by this so called 2012 model with improved soft touch plastics.

Fair enough, go post about it. This is an open forum. I narrated my experience, and you FIATians just cannot take the fact! Dear Lord!

I never asked you! I don't bother which car you accept or reject, mate!

So is an Ambassador! Want one?

Good for me! It's a pain replying to pointless posts.

As I said, my car, my priorities. Any problems?

First pic was just to show you guys that I am not making this up (2012 model indeed), because I know how FIATians react on this forum and elsewhere!

Good luck on the plastics, mate!

DRIV3R you have some serious attitude problems " Mate ".

All you are doing is calling others statements uncalled for and baseless where as the grounds on which you went out to check the Punto were baseless in it self!

I agree Fiat needs to improve in a lot of areas , one of many is its A.S.S and dealership experience as well , however completely declining the Punto based on Dealer attitude ,Improper fit and finish and poor plastics is not correct.

You of all people should know that punto is the best drivers car in its segment . Im surprised that you didn't mention a word about its driving dynamics considering that you claim to be a "fan" of the punto ..

Moreover saying that i dont give a " rats bottom " about how many cars cliffhanger has and other such stuff is a bit too uncalled for .

Don't forget , you are allowed to express your opinion about a car on a public forum , but you should remember that opinions are criticized as well !

Last edited by Enigmatic : 5th February 2012 at 18:20.
Enigmatic is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 18:25   #818

you guys missed the brilliant DRIVE-BY-WIRE in 1.9-Diesel PALIO

Last edited by GTO : 7th February 2012 at 14:42. Reason: Quoted post has been deleted
sanjaymugur is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 18:50   #819

Last edited by GTO : 7th February 2012 at 14:42.
prkothan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 18:50   #820

Originally Posted by DRIV3R
I don't like untrained grease monkeys who usually work on Indicabs and Sumos try their antics on a 8 Lac Italian beauty.
That's one hell of an assumption to make, my friend. FYI, every mechanic that gets enrolled into a service center undergoes a mandatory training invariably, be it Sonalika Motors or Lamborghini.

Personally I dislike the way you've referred the service personnel as greasy monkeys. Period
Klub Class is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 19:00   #821

I think lets have some respect for individuals be it a car service staff or who ever it is. Little hurting to see such statements.. Every profession has to be respected. Being a service staff for a car (be it TATA car or even a TVS 50) qualifies for being called a Monkey?? I wonder where are going towards! Really disappointed to read such statements.
Sathya_sc is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 19:00   #822

If Linea MJD has been a big hit, Fluidic Verna & new Fiesta wouldn't been priced at 11 lacs!.
If the Linea MJD was a hit, then I guess it's more likely that it wouldn't be priced at 9.1xL .

IMHO, the Linea MJD Emotion currently offers terrific VFM, even more so than the Punto.
StarrySky is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 19:05   #823

The discussion about interior fit and finish is getting really irritating now. At the risk of going off topic, let me add that the touch and feel of the interiors cannot be a benchmark for the fit, finish and life of the interiors.

Punto's interiors might feel cheap, but I am sure they will last as long as the car does.

How do I know? My Palio MJD has not a single rattle so far. As of today, my odometer reads 66002 km.

And my one friend's 1.9D has done over a lakh KM. And only the parcel tray's support has some rattle.

I read GTO's review of new Dzire, and noticed one point: many cars have developed rattles before reaching 5 figures on odometer! I am quite surprised, as it was contradicting my assumption about Swift.

I don't think I can drive a car with a constant rattle.
rohanjf is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 19:24   #824

Originally Posted by CliffHanger View Post
Extremely Over Priced [/b]- If there is one car that is over priced by close to 1.5 Lakhs and still sells well, it would have to be the Swift. At least the i20 offers a 90HP engine. But Swift takes the cake by a huge margin.
Can someone get me the OTR price for Punto emotion (And 90HP if possible) in Chennai?

Below are the OTR prices for most competing cars in chennai (collected this weekend). Please note that Liva is a middle variant (Top variant not offerred in diesel).

Liva GD(SP)-6,91,000 (As informed by fellow BHP'ian Sridhar K in another thread)
Tata Vista - 7,20,000 (As informed by fellow BHP'ian Sridhar K in another thread)
Nissan Micra XV Premium - 7,23,679.
Swift ZDi - 7,81,255.
i20 Asta - 8,17,155.
Skoda Fabia Elegance - 8,25,957.
Polo 1.2 Highline - 8,46,647.

If Swift takes the cake for overpricing products - I wonder what you would call the 3 cylinder Fabia and Polo in this list.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 5th February 2012 at 19:28.
Old 5th February 2012, 19:48   #825

FIAT helped a lot to up the level of automobile game in India. They are one to introduce
1. Clear lens head light (way back in 2001 when even Skoda Octavia carrying ordinary lights).
I can't speak as an informed lighting specialist, but does the clear lens/multi-focal reflector have a functional advantage over lens optics/plain reflector units ? As I understand, the move was to make the units lighter (thin plastic lenses vs thick patterned glass ) , so the effectiveness of illumination is not necessarily better. Some aftermarket performance headlamps are still this old style lens optics type.

2. FIAT introduced their best engines in India (Volkswagen still holding their award winning 1.4 TSI engine, same as Toyota).
Indeed, I look forward to multi-air engines soon.

If Linea MJD has been a big hit, Fluidic Verna & new Fiesta wouldn't been priced at 11 lacs!.
I too think new Fiesta is overpriced , as is the Verna. Verna does look expensive to justify the cost and the interiors/kit is nice, not had a good look at the Fiesta yet though, and I think it's rear styling is ughhh - the ugliest rear end of a sedan. A plain jane Baleno would be proud !