Old 16th January 2012, 12:05   #601

Re: Fiat Linea & Punto 2012 Models - Now Launched

Originally Posted by jacksons View Post
Steering never touched my left or right leg, it may be touching for those driving with pointed shoes like in fashion now a days but I never bought one like that and I am fine.
even with pointed shoes or fat shoes the steeting rod never touched my left or right leg.

its just that where you place your foot while depressing the pedals.

if you put it extreme right of clutch pedal in any car it will touch.
Old 16th January 2012, 12:24   #602

Just to share my own experience on the steering column touching left leg, few fellow bhpians have mentioned that it touches in "any car" - I beg to differ here. I have driven ( extensively) a santro, an SX4, a PAL Padmini, a Baleno and an i10 and I have not experienced this in any of the above cars mentioned. And I do not wear pointed long nose shoes. Its by design, the steering column is exposed quite out in Linea while the same is not the case in Punto. Not sure about other cars. It, surely, is annoying to me at least.

Fiat could definitely have improved this as, IIRC, this observation has been mentioned in several TD and ownership thread during the time of old Linea.
Old 16th January 2012, 13:28   #603

Small update on the punto dynamic purchase by my cousin:
Dealer is now also giving Seat Covers and Car Cover as part of delivery.

So overall freebies:
Mud Flap, Floor Mats, Sun Film, Seat Cover, Car Cover and freshners.

Dealer also had commited for teflon underbody coat but read somewhere it is already available with new models.

Can anyone confim? Also if lets say seperate teflon coating is done how can we identify whether the coat has really been carried out (read somewhere teflon coat is transparent)
Old 16th January 2012, 13:43   #604

Originally Posted by autoweirdo View Post
Can anyone confim? Also if lets say seperate teflon coating is done how can we identify whether the coat has really been carried out (read somewhere teflon coat is transparent)
Under body coat is not made of teflon. Under body coat when applied will look like some one has painted the under body of car with a thick coat of black paint (more like a coat of tar). This can be easily identified since the entire under body will be black in color including the wheel wells. Ask the dealer for under body coating with 5 year warranty and warranty card, so that they will inspect the car every 6 months and do touch ups where ever needed.
nkg77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 13:44   #605

So overall freebies:

Dealer also had commited for teflon underbody coat but read somewhere it is already available with new models.

Teflon coating is not recommended by most of the Bhp'ians. I also don't see a need for this. When you talk about the underbody coating, it is already done in all Fiat cars right from 2009. Its nothing new.

If you want another coating to your car's underbody, that will cost you 2.5-3k depending on brand and warranty. I have done 3M underbody coating for my Linea with 5 years warranty.

Last edited by rameshnanda : 16th January 2012 at 13:55.
rameshnanda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 14:46   #606

So overall freebies:

Is this any cash discounts or free insurance available? Can I know from which dealer you are getting the car from? I'm in negotiation with VST for Punto Dynamic.

Sridhar
Old 16th January 2012, 14:49   #607

Just saw this in the Facebook. Fiat India says:

Hi all Fiat followers and existing customers - the request wth respect to upgrading ground clearance for older versions of Linea and Punto, is going to be fulfilled almost on an immediate basis across India and the service centers will be able to do the upgrade the cars at a cost. Then you can place a request with your service center and get the benefit of the product updation in your older cars also. Hope this helps in enhancing the drive experience of the Linea and Punto further for our existing customers.
lejhoom is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 14:50   #608

@nkg77,@rameshnanda: Thank you for the info. Will try to get the warranty for the undercoat.

Also another update, the car has been dispatched and will be in dealers yard by wednesday. So if i get delivery by saturday too then its within 2 weeks of booking the car. Really fast delivery this time
Old 16th January 2012, 15:03   #609

Originally Posted by lejhoom View Post
Just saw this in the Facebook. Fiat India says:

Hi all Fiat followers and existing customers - the request wth respect to upgrading ground clearance for older versions of Linea and Punto, is going to be fulfilled almost on an immediate basis across India and the service centers will be able to do the upgrade the cars at a cost. Then you can place a request with your service center and get the benefit of the product updation in your older cars also. Hope this helps in enhancing the drive experience of the Linea and Punto further for our existing customers.
Its great news and one more instance that fiat means business in India ,lets see how much is the cost quoted for the suspension up gradation job.If any body has any inkling about how much will it cost for doing the said job in the old punto mjd then it will great for fellow fiat owners.
regards
praveen singh
blueblooded is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 15:30   #610

Thankfully the improvement includes better ground-clearance which is very much required in Bangalore roads with UN-marked (yes, am a bit angry if the hump is not marked) humps every where.

I was checking around how to increase the ground clearance of my Punto, any suggestions welcome. In a way, some of the luxury SUVs are car on raised wheel/chassis (how do I put it?).

Jacob
Old 16th January 2012, 15:33   #611

This upgradation was rumoured ever since the new launch was announced. But, I didn't expect this early from Fiat. I am eager to know about the cost.
Old 16th January 2012, 15:43   #612

Prerna & KHT Service centers have know information about this upgrade offer, both said, they have a training on 27 & 28 Jan on new Punto & Linea features, there they will get the downloads.
Old 16th January 2012, 22:06   #613

I am copying the ground clearance of other cars sold. This has been compiled by Mahesh Nataraj of PUG.

Fiat
Fiat Palio 1.6, 1.2, 1.9 - 170 mm
Fiat Adventure 1.6 - 190
Fiat Grande Punto - 173
Fiat Linea MJD - 160
Fiat Linea T-Jet - 170

Maruti
SX4 - 190
Swift - 170
Dzire - 170
Ritz - 170
Wagon R - 165
Alto - 160
A Star - 170
M-800 - 170

Hyundai
Santro - 164
Verna - 170
i10 - 155
i20 - 165

Ford
Figo - 168
Fiesta - 168
Ikon - 168
Endy - 210

Tata
Manza - 165
Vista - 165
Aria - 200
Indigo - 165
Indica - 165

GM
Aveo - 181
Cruze LT - 165
Beat - 175
Spark - 170
Captiva - 200

Honda
Jazz - 160
City - 160
CRV - 170
Brio - 165

Mahindra
Scorpio - 180
Xylo - 186
XUV - 200
Verito - 172
Logan - 155

Skoda
Octiva - 134
Laura - 164
Superb - 158
Yeti - 180

Nissan
Micra - 173

Volkswagen
Polo - 168
Vento - 168
Jetta - 139
Passat - 150
Beetle - 120
lejhoom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 22:21   #614

I am copying the ground clearance of other cars sold. This has been compiled by Mahesh Nataraj of PUG.

Volkswagen
Polo - 168
Vento - 168
Jetta - 139
Passat - 150
Beetle - 120
The GC of the new jetta is 159mm. 139mm would "kill" the car in our Bangalore roads.
Old 16th January 2012, 22:22   #615

Maruti
SX4 - 190
Swift - 170
Dzire - 170
Ritz - 170
Wagon R - 165
Alto - 160
A Star - 170
M-800 - 170
AFAIK the GC of SX4 is 180mm only and that too only for the top variants - Zxi & Zdi for Vxi & Vdi it is 170mm only.

Last edited by lloydofcochin : 16th January 2012 at 22:24.