Old 11th July 2013, 12:30   #3676

re: The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals

Hyundai's going big on discounts this July. I think it's the Ecosport effect, maybe.

Got this flyer in my inbox from Planet Petal Hyundai, Ahmedabad.
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals-hyundai-offer-july-2013.jpg  

Old 11th July 2013, 12:38   #3677

re: The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals

Originally Posted by hishetty View Post
That's a bloody good discount IMO. I was at Vinayak Skoda yesterday hoping for a good deal on a 2012 Laura F/L Ambition 2.0 TDI CT- A/T and the best they could offer was a 1L discount bringing the on road price to 19L without Ext Warranty and Drive Assure. Considering the depreciation these cars face in their 1st year, launch of the 2013 Octavia around the corner and the dismal sales figures of the Laura, i was hoping at least a 2L discount was on the cards with free Ext Warranty and Drive assure (must for Skoda cars). On the 2013 one, they offered free Insurance(~52K).

What really surprised me was none of the Laura's OEM Audio offered USB connectivity

Meanwhile if anybody is interested, the car is still there. They also offering the same discount on a 2012 Laura F/L Elegance 2.0 TDI CT- A/T (+2L).
I am sure you could give TAFE a call and bargain harder and revert to Vinayak, the discounts seem to be very low for a 2012 Laura.
Old 11th July 2013, 13:04   #3678

Originally Posted by hishetty View Post

That's a bloody good discount IMO. I was at Vinayak Skoda yesterday hoping for a good deal on a 2012 Laura F/L Ambition 2.0 TDI CT- A/T and the best they could offer was a 1L discount bringing the on road price to 19L without Ext Warranty and Drive Assure. Considering the depreciation these cars face in their 1st year, launch of the 2013 Octavia around the corner and the dismal sales figures of the Laura, i was hoping at least a 2L discount was on the cards with free Ext Warranty and Drive assure (must for Skoda cars). On the 2013 one, they offered free Insurance(~52K).

What really surprised me was none of the Laura's OEM Audio offered USB connectivity

Meanwhile if anybody is interested, the car is still there. They also offering the same discount on a 2012 Laura F/L Elegance 2.0 TDI CT- A/T (+2L).
Hey if you are looking at Laura MT2012 Ambition variant...you can get it at sub 16, 2lakh plus discount.
I am only worried that even if the car is manufacturing is done in dec...the car is stationery for 8 months
Will is be a problem mechanically picking up such a car ?
vyasachetan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2013, 14:16   #3679

Hello All,

Finally i will take delivery of my Ertiga Zxi White today evening.
At the last moment i changed my booking from ZDi to Zxi.
Old 11th July 2013, 15:17   #3680

I need your advice to make this decision:

Retain Honda Accord 3.0 V6 (2005 model 86,000kms driven) or Buy a New Rapid Elegance TDI and fit a tuning box

Duration before next change: 4 Yrs : Kms per Yr: 12,000 (75% City & 25% Highway) :-

Honda Accord: (No Cost assumed as I own it)
Mileage: 7 Kms/Lt (8-9 on highway & 6-7 in city) – Spend on Fuel over 4 yrs: 5.5 Lakhs
Service, Repair & Insurance costs over 4 years: (Assuming 60,000 per year & 12,000 per year insurance) – 3 Lakhs
Resale Value (Assumed): 1,50,000/-
Net Effect: 7,00,000 /-

Skoda Rapid: (Cost 11, 50,000/-)
Mileage: 14 Kms/Lt (17 on highway & 12 in city) – Spend on Fuel over 4 yrs: 2.5 Lakhs
Service, Repair & Insurance costs over 4 years: (Assuming 15,000 per year & 25,000 per year insurance) – 1.5 Lakhs
Resale Value (Assumed): 5, 00,000/-(Will be set off towards balance loan amount)
Net Effect: 10,50,000 /-

Thus, Retaining Accord even with the mileage and maintenance is saving me 3.5 Lakhs, So really confused on what to do, I have a daily running of 25 kms in the city to office and back and a highway trip 4 times a year.

Please suggest if the above calculation is right? Have I missed anything? What will be the best way forward?
Old 11th July 2013, 15:54   #3681

Originally Posted by vyasachetan View Post

Retain Honda Accord 3.0 V6 (2005 model 86,000kms driven) or Buy a New Rapid Elegance TDI and fit a tuning box

Duration before next change: 4 Yrs : Kms per Yr: 12,000 (75% City & 25% Highway) :-

Mileage: 7 Kms/Lt (8-9 on highway & 6-7 in city) – Spend on Fuel over 4 yrs: 5.5 Lakhs
Service, Repair & Insurance costs over 4 years: (Assuming 60,000 per year & 12,000 per year insurance) – 3 Lakhs

Mileage: 14 Kms/Lt (17 on highway & 12 in city) – Spend on Fuel over 4 yrs: 2.5 Lakhs
Service, Repair & Insurance costs over 4 years: (Assuming 15,000 per year & 25,000 per year insurance) – 1.5 Lakhs
Resale Value (Assumed): 5, 00,000/-(Will be set off towards balance loan amount)

Thus, Retaining Accord even with the mileage and maintenance is saving me 3.5 Lakhs, So really confused on what to do, I have a daily running of 25 kms in the city to office and back and a highway trip 4 times a year.

Please suggest if the above calculation is right? Have I missed anything? What will be the best way forward?
I'm not sure about the service costs in this case.
1. Insurance for Honda over 4yrs vs. Rapid --> 48k vs. 1lac
2. Service/repair costs for Honda over 4yrs vs. Rapid --> 2.4lacs vs. 60k

What makes you think that your Accord will eat up 2.4lacs to remain in running condition? Apart from an accident, 2.4lacs worth of service/repairs are probably a hell lot of downtime & heart burn! And why would a Rapid cost so less? I haven't followed a long term ownership thread for Rapid and dont think we would have any that is 4yrs old so the question.

Second:
1. What fuel prices have you assumed over 4yrs for Petrol vs. Diesel? I suspect that the gap between Diesel vs. Petrol is here to stay for a while and Petrol will continue to go up.
2. You are being way too optimistic with Skoda resale prices maybe? I've seen a 2009 Skoda Laura diesel on classifieds on sale for 7.5lacs.

Personally, the trouble of maintaining the car and the time lost will be the top reason for me to switch to something new.

If money is not a constraint, go get a new car. Can't help but ask, why Skoda after a Honda?

Last edited by Nilesh5417 : 11th July 2013 at 15:56.
Old 11th July 2013, 16:02   #3682

Hey if you are looking at Laura MT2012 Ambition variant...you can get it at sub 16, 2lakh plus discount.
I am only worried that even if the car is manufacturing is done in dec...the car is stationery for 8 months
I too am in the same fix now. I am offered a 2012 Dec make Ford New Fiesta Style AT for almost 1.5 lakh discount. I am sure I can settle it at 2+lakh discount. But how good the car will be after so many months in a open stock yard?
Old 11th July 2013, 16:17   #3683

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
I'm not sure about the service costs in this case.
1. Insurance for Honda over 4yrs vs. Rapid --> 48k vs. 1lac
2. Service/repair costs for Honda over 4yrs vs. Rapid --> 2.4lacs vs. 60k

What makes you think that your Accord will eat up 2.4lacs to remain in running condition? Apart from an accident, 2.4lacs worth of service/repairs are probably a hell lot of downtime & heart burn! And why would a Rapid cost so less? I haven't followed a long term ownership thread for Rapid and dont think we would have any that is 4yrs old so the question.

Second:
1. What fuel prices have you assumed over 4yrs for Petrol vs. Diesel? I suspect that the gap between Diesel vs. Petrol is here to stay for a while and Petrol will continue to go up.
2. You are being way too optimistic with Skoda resale prices maybe? I've seen a 2009 Skoda Laura diesel on classifieds on sale for 7.5lacs.

Personally, the trouble of maintaining the car and the time lost will be the top reason for me to switch to something new.

If money is not a constraint, go get a new car. Can't help but ask, why Skoda after a Honda?
Hi Nilesh,
Insurance: Accord (12000*4) / Rapid (25000*4)
Repairs: Accord (assuming 60,000*4 to be on the safer side including battery,tyres,service,parts replacement (If any fails) and any minor accident repair) / Rapid (12000*4 for service as its a new car)
Fuel Price (Assuming 80/- for petrol & 60/- for diesel)

Skoda Rapid because i am tempted by the tuning box mods on the forum (148bhp)..and fits the bill very well.
Old 11th July 2013, 16:45   #3684

Originally Posted by alexanish View Post
I too am in the same fix now. I am offered a 2012 Dec make Ford New Fiesta Style AT for almost 1.5 lakh discount. I am sure I can settle it at 2+lakh discount. But how good the car will be after so many months in a open stock yard?
Anish - I think you will need to go in with a mindset that you might get what you pay for. A 2011 Fiesta Diesel that has run 52k kms quotes 8lacs.

But for this car sitting in the yard for 6mths or so, 2lacs is a whopping discount. Again, if its never been driven, what possibly could go wrong? Check the electricals (rats or pests), damage/fading of paint/dashboard plastics but the fluids can be changed and mechanicals should be sound.
Nilesh5417 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2013, 16:49   #3685

86000 for a 2005 model is not too much running. I would suggest retaining the car. And yes, you might be enamored by latest tech in new cars, but most basic new tech can be adapted for your old car too. And you wont get much on the resale; i believe its better to run it till possible and then jump to higher sedan class than rapid, esp when you are used to driving a accord.
Old 11th July 2013, 17:11   #3686

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
Anish - I think you will need to go in with a mindset that you might get what you pay for. A 2011 Fiesta Diesel that has run 52k kms quotes 8lacs.

But for this car sitting in the yard for 6mths or so, 2lacs is a whopping discount. Again, if its never been driven, what possibly could go wrong? Check the electricals (rats or pests), damage/fading of paint/dashboard plastics but the fluids can be changed and mechanicals should be sound.
Thanks Nilesh! I am targeting a figure close to 9.5 and some major discounts on alloys/arm rest/park sensor. Put together it should reach a little above 2lakhs. If the discount stay put at 1.5L as offered now, I will have a rethink

Another point is, one dealer who actually quoted the least will get the booking money from me first and then get the car from Ford's plant, others have already ordered and cars are on the way to reach in a few days. So I will have to make a point with the first guy, if I settle with them, that I will buy only if the car they order for me is all good in terms of damages from pests or fading paint/dashboard etc, otherwise return the booking amount with out any negation.

Who ever in this forum has past experience of picking an old make like this, please share the experience after getting it. Like Nilesh mentioned, issues with electrical parts/paint/dashboard. That could help people like me to have a checklist during the PDI.
Old 11th July 2013, 17:59   #3687

I was just doing some benchmarking and wanted to know what would the the current OTR price of Ritz AT in Mumbai?
Old 11th July 2013, 19:38   #3688

If you sell the Accord you would have some cash in your hand. So, though you don't spend from the pocket anything on Accord, you do lose out on what could come into your wallet. If you consider that too, you may want to change the conclusion
Old 11th July 2013, 19:56   #3689

Originally Posted by creative420 View Post

Maruti has an ongoing Consumer Promotional offer of 20K on Ritz Petrol and 25K on Ritz Diesel. If he's working in some corporate company he might get additional 3K off. And then, well, it all depends on what all can you bargain for. I'm also talking to 2-3 dealers and I'm getting Basic Accessories waived off with PPF coating and Free car cover, along with few more things on a discounted price. Ask him to get quotes from different dealers and bargain.
He is getting Ritz vxi for 4.75 otr, with extended warranty and 0 dep policy. He booked one today.
Old 11th July 2013, 20:25   #3690

Thanks vyasachetan. I would be definitely willing to give it a go. I agree with your concern and only after i have it inspected by an experienced mechanic will i make a final call.