Old 11th April 2012, 16:50   #496

Originally Posted by greatmana2000
If it is going to be priced more than 6.5 lakhs for the diesel version it would directly be in the territory of the sumos , taveras and boleros . Dont think a lot of people would find value in the product .
Price of 6.5L is hypothetical, don't expect it. Any were between 7.5 to 9.5 is good buy in diesel
Old 11th April 2012, 17:18   #497

Re: Maruti Ertiga 7-Seater : Auto Expo 2012

R3 is being positioned above Dzire but entry level MUV, if MSIL would want to create the segment with volumes for buyers who can not afford Innova (but still be competitive to those Xylo/Tavera/Sumos) its ougt to start from 6L+ any thing above 7L would mean another SX4 story. As such parts quality is in the league Swift/Ritz (not even SX4) 6.5L to 9.5L is the logical dough! I hope MSIL has learnt from Versa. For a cost concious Indian a grown up Ritz combines premium of space and car like drive, wouldn't mind throwing another lakh to get basic Innova.
Old 11th April 2012, 17:28   #498

Saw an advertisement on the western express highway in mumbai (between andheri an jogeshwari) saying LUV is on its way and there was a side rear view of ertiga. Nice way to create curiosity I guess. Countdown nearing an end, lets hope Maruti does not throw any negative surprises on the pricing front. More than tomorrow's launch waiting for the t-bhp review - One thing that always exceeds expectations.

Last edited by Shreyas Aterkar : 11th April 2012 at 17:38. Reason: spelling correction
Old 11th April 2012, 17:46   #499

The last few posts on the pricing makes me want to ask this question -

Why does everybody wants ertiga to be priced below the SX-4? It is a much superior car than SX-4 inside out, has competent set of motors, good feature-list, good FE, additional seating capacity and supposed to address a new segment of buyers altogether.

I'm not sure what makes people think this should be priced below SX-4? And comparison with Sumo's/ Tavera's and Bolero's are absurd to say the least. Whatever the price point maruti determines, there will always be some set of buyers who will find value in the product, value is a very subjective thing and varies from person to person.

I find this car interesting and I'm willing to pay <10 L OTR chennai for the top end diesel variant. I feel at this price point, this is tremendous value for my money. Not everyone may agree with me, but this is my personal view point.

Last edited by bala80 : 11th April 2012 at 17:48.
Old 11th April 2012, 17:49   #500

I saw 3 - 4 new (Temp Registered) Ertiga in Dhanbad, JH last month. Maruti is quickly providing their cars to small cities. Mahindra is still struggling to launch XUV in small cities. I feel local dealer would be preparing for official launch.
Old 11th April 2012, 18:02   #501

Originally Posted by bala80 View Post
The last few posts on the pricing makes me want to ask this question -

Why does everybody wants ertiga to be priced below the SX-4? It is a much superior car than SX-4 inside out, has competent set of motors, good feature-list, good FE, additional seating capacity and supposed to address a new segment of buyers altogether.
For instance, I am one of them who thinks that this should be priced below SX4. After seeing this in the flesh, the very first thought that came to my mind is that it is nothing but an glorified Swift DZire Marina ( remember Indigo Marina) with a extra row of seat at the back. It was really hard for me to imagine this as an MUV.

Now, given that experience, I am not ready to pay 9L ex-showroom for this one - in that case I will be happy to buy an XYLO or an SCORPIO LX.

Again, this is purely my personal opinion.
Old 11th April 2012, 18:25   #502

Here is a bit of great news. Maruti is all set to launch its latest offing - the Ertiga - tomorrow, April 12, 2012.

Ertiga comes with 2 engine options - a 1.4 litre K-series petrol engine and a 1.3 litre DDiS engine, with 5-speed manual transmission in both.

Ertiga is expected to be priced between Rs 7-9 lakhs.

Last edited by HorsPwr : 11th April 2012 at 18:26. Reason: added pricing
Old 11th April 2012, 18:39   #503

Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
If it is going to be priced more than 6.5 lakhs for the diesel version it would directly be in the territory of the sumos , taveras and boleros . Dont think a lot of people would find value in the product .
If carrying capacity and ruggedness are the only criteria, then of course that comparison is valid. However I think MSIL is aiming for the urban buyer who likes more driveability and comfort than the the target market for Sumo/Tavera and Bolero.
vineethvazhayil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2012, 21:19   #504

Originally Posted by vineethvazhayil View Post
If carrying capacity and ruggedness are the only criteria, then of course that comparison is valid. However I think MSIL is aiming for the urban buyer who likes more driveability and comfort than the the target market for Sumo/Tavera and Bolero.
Quite agree. In fact, Maruti's Ertiga is a little bit of various things and it can be summarised in Lou Bega's song 'I got a girl':

"With a little bit of this
and a little bit of that
You can get what you see,
you can see what you get
And I bet that you're all a little bit excited"

The Ertiga has...
* The seven-seater capacity of an Eeco,
* The utility value of a Wagon-R
* The comfort levels of a Dzire
* The fuel efficiency of a Ritz
* The fitment quality of the new Swift
* The size specs of an SX4

The Ertiga, quite rightly, will open up a new segment of the urban middle class family who wants a comfortable 5-seater Maruti with excellent boot space, with the ability to pull back two extra seats (parents, friends) for the occasional need. In fact, this space management options within a relatively compact size could be Ertiga's biggest strength.

Does it have the ability to succeed? I sure think so, provided it's price manages to attract the intended target customer. Price it a higher and it could go the Jazz way.

Last edited by misquitas : 11th April 2012 at 21:30.
misquitas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2012, 23:23   #505

I hope they churn out enough Ertiga's. This is one more for the charts. Interesting to see how this product will impact the Xylo and Innova. Also the mind set of prospective sedan customers.
Old 12th April 2012, 03:11   #506

I saw the Ertiga today, at Bimal Auto in Bangalore. Could not sit, as the person who had key was being located ( had a flight didn't push).

Ok its small not in category of innova period. no comparison. different category. with five people only kids can fit in back. I am 5'11 and big built. i don't think if i can get in last row.

Having said that it does mean that people who go for cheaper model of Innova who need 4, 5 + 2 kid seater may not go for it.

this what i think of price.. Its the same platform as swift or dizire. so the extra cost is the development cost and extra material used cost.

So lets say development cost about 600-800 crore including the opportunity cost. for lets say 5 years of this model running. so 5 years.. is lets say 300,000 - 500,000 Vehicle sold. ok so that means 12k - 26k. cost needed to recover. Per car. we shall take only 12k as using Dzire as base cost it must have included some development cost of its own

ok lets see price diff between swift and dezire

List price from carwale ex showroom delhi (rounded off).

swift Dzire Diffrence
LDI 554,000 - 592,000 = 38,000
VDI 599,000 - 643,000 = 44,000
ZDI 677,000 - 722,000 = 50,000

The difference is the extra cost of boot + extra vat + extra profit

SO the cost of Ertiga

Dizre price + 80,000 materials and profit and extra vat + 12,000 development + 72,000 15 % excise increase equals 164,000 extra over Dzire minimum.

so Ertiga ex showroom delhi

extra over dzire 164k LDI 168k VDI 174K VDI minimum and additional 25k to 30k max.

LDI - 756,000 - 781,000
VDI - 811,000 - 838,000
ZDI - 896,000 - 926,000

approx.
easterncar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2012, 09:05   #507

Guess, how many bookings Ertiga will gather in first 2 weeks?
I think it will be near 10k.
What you people say?
Old 12th April 2012, 09:12   #508

Originally Posted by HorsPwr
Here is a bit of great news. Maruti is all set to launch its latest offing - the Ertiga - tomorrow, April 12, 2012.

Ertiga comes with 2 engine options - a 1.4 litre K-series petrol engine and a 1.3 litre DDiS engine, with 5-speed manual transmission in both.

Ertiga is expected to be priced between Rs 7-9 lakhs.
Its not exactly news sir. :-) no offence but all of the above is pretty much firmly established for several pages now.
Old 12th April 2012, 09:32   #509

it's going to be another big success from Maruti like Wagon R, Swift and Dzire. I see at least 5000+ units being sold every month, if priced rightly.

My guess for price, petrol will start from 6 lacs and diesel around Rs 7 lacs.
Old 12th April 2012, 09:36   #510

Does anyone have any details about the launch event?

Launch time/venue is still unclear and has not been reported in news yet.