Old 16th June 2012, 21:02   #901

Re: spy picture of renault duster june 2012 in chennai

Originally Posted by h.s.r View Post
Totally agree with you.
I would love to see Hyundai badge instead of Renault.
The Tucson was misspelled as Tuscon in my earlier post
The irony is Tucson is mispronounced more than it is misspelled.
Why cant Hyundai launch Tucson again for Indian market.
Launch it and priced it on par with Scorpio, Safari and we will be spoilt for choices.
There is a all new Tucson which has been launched internationally and if sold in India, it will be priced @ 20+ lacs. If an i20 CRDi costs almost as much as an Scorpio or safari, there is no way they can position Tucson against the Duster.
Old 16th June 2012, 21:14   #902

re: Renault (including Duster Unveil) @ Auto Expo 2012 - EDIT: Now launched at 7.19 Lacs

Agree. The Tucson still turns my head. I always wanted to own one. I even tried to get a used one, but a quick check for its history made me drop it. If Hyundai brings it back and price it around the same like last time (~17L), it will be great for the consumers.
Yeti, Tucson, Duster, Ecosport, Mini Xylo, Ertiga - That is some competition.
Fiat should bring the Palio Locker, Nissan its version of Duster - I am already drooling
Old 16th June 2012, 21:21   #903

Originally Posted by h.s.r

Totally agree with you.
I would love to see Hyundai badge instead of Renault.
The Tucson was misspelled as Tuscon in my earlier post
The irony is Tucson is mispronounced more than it is misspelled.
Why cant Hyundai launch Tucson again for Indian market.
Launch it and priced it on par with Scorpio, Safari and we will be spoilt for choices.
It is supposed to be pronounced as Tyoo-zon. I have heard innumerable variations of this though!

It was a very good vehicle, a bit ahead of its time here and on account of its fully imported nature, way high priced too, at the time.

They never sold it aggressively when it was here else it would have easily given the Honda CRV a good run for its money!

With the same price levels now ( Rs 19-24 lacs on road) for its new avatar, the IX 35, it will do very well because the market is fast catching up!

Last edited by shankar.balan : 16th June 2012 at 21:23.
Old 17th June 2012, 08:33   #904

re: Renault (including Duster Unveil) @ Auto Expo 2012 - EDIT: Now launched at 7.19 Lacs

Originally Posted by johy View Post
Guys, in the pictures taken by 1100D and a lot of other pictures, the Duster looks a bit lowish, but in the pictures by YellowEye, it looks pretty high. Is it for real or just an optical illusion?
Your right, it has become very difficult to judge. If you see the fourth photo, Duster looks just as tall as that Innova on the right...
I can't wait to see this car in flesh...lets hope the June 25th date for demo cars is true.
Old 17th June 2012, 10:33   #905

Originally Posted by abbey4u View Post
I have been told the range is 7-10 and they are trying to target urban customer with two sections in mind. a. One who will be upgrading from hatch like swift etc and b. sections who will either be migrating from sedan/SUv like honda city and scorpio etc. Vehicle will be in showroom by the of june/first week of july

I am guessing all three variants will be available for both petrol and diesel. The only thing which may happen is diesel base variant comes with 85bhp engine only and top end diesel will be 110 bhp only. But again this is my guess

Seems i did a lot of mistake in trying to extract the text and copy paste into excel. I am attaching the image for the benefit of all. Sorry for creating any confusion. This should help everyone
Just went through the excel in detail and it looks like the following variants will be available:

1. V1 variant (85PS)
2. V2 variant (85PS)
3. V2 variant (110PS + ABS)
4. V2 + option pack (85PS)
5. V2 + option pack (110PS)
6. V3 variant (110PS only)
7. V3 + option pack (110PS)

7 trim levels for diesel alone. The Petrol should have 2-3 as well.
Old 17th June 2012, 12:27   #906

Originally Posted by sumeshmani
Your right, it has become very difficult to judge. If you see the fourth photo, Duster looks just as tall as that Innova on the right...
I can't wait to see this car in flesh...lets hope the June 25th date for demo cars is true.
Duster is 1695 mm in height.
Yeti is 1691 mm in height.
I ve posted all the other size specs for comparo a little earlier on the thread.
It is marginally longer than the Yeti, almost as wide as the Scorpio and has a very good ground clearance of about 210mm which is as much as a Fortuner, give or take.

Should be near perfect for India's devilish roads and potholes!
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2012, 12:56   #907

The Height is only 1634, it is 1690 with the roof rails, this info is from the Renault ME website.
Specifications - Duster - Renault Range | Renault UAE - Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait
Old 17th June 2012, 13:01   #908

A friend just called me with the possible DUSTER PRICING! Thanks!

He says his source is quite reliable, though the pricing is still not 100% finalized :

----------------------

Renault Duster Pricing (ex-Delhi)

7.40 Lakhs - 1.6-liter Petrol
8.50 Lakhs - 1.5-liter Diesel (85 BHP)
10.50 Lakhs - 1.5-liter Diesel (110 BHP)

16" alloys on 110 BHP Diesel. It also gets rear AC.
15" steel wheels on 85 BHP Diesel.

Launch is planned for the 4th of July.

----------------------

The pricing sounds amazing, and i hope its accurate. Though remember, this is still unconfirmed, so please keep that in mind!

R
Rehaan is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 17th June 2012, 13:07   #909

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post

2 lakhs expensive for additional 25 bhp? Remapping would be one good option to save a lot while getting extra horses too

Hope all the safety features are available in 85bhp version

Last edited by Surprise : 17th June 2012 at 13:17.
Old 17th June 2012, 13:23   #910

A friend just called me with the possible DUSTER PRICING!
Are these prices for base variants? any updates about ABS variants?
Old 17th June 2012, 14:10   #911

Originally Posted by Surprise View Post
2 lakhs expensive for additional 25 bhp? Remapping would be one good option to save a lot while getting extra horses too
Hope all the safety features are available in 85bhp version
I think it could be additional 25bhp + comfort features (and maybe even addded safety). Actually the top version maybe almost an understated Fluence
Old 17th June 2012, 15:00   #912

Undercutting the Yeti 4x2's price-tag is what is needed to be done, and looks like Renault has successfully managed that, if the prices are indeed true. And I have no reason to believe that it isn't.

Expect top-variant's price-tag to be around 13 lakhs OTR Bangalore. That's superb pricing!
Old 17th June 2012, 15:02   #913

2 lakhs more for the 110 seems a bit high, so that's around 13 lakhs on road for the 110bhp, I think given the general positioning of the car the 4x4 should be around there, not the 4x2.

That's a lot of money for the Duster, but these are impressions found by looking at the reviews, pics and videos online. Its built to value, there are a lot of cost cutting measures throughout the car. I don't think 13 will feel like money well spent unless its 4x4 but would have to see it in real life.

The 85bhp at around 10.5 OTR would be an option for a lot of c segment sedan buyers. I feel around 9.5-10.5 OTR and 11-12 OTR depending on features for the 85 and 110 would be a better bet for numbers for Renault. And 13-13.5 for the 4x4 when launched.

Last edited by raul : 17th June 2012 at 15:05.
Old 17th June 2012, 15:20   #914

Renault Duster Pricing (ex-Delhi)

7.40 Lakhs - 1.6-liter Petrol

Unless the top-end diesel Duster is a 4x4 with full safety kit and TCS, the pricing does not look justified for a built-to-cost station wagon on stilts.

If the above pricing is true, it just goes to emphasize that our homegrown vehicles like Safari is priced extremely well.

Tata Safari 4x2 LX DICOR BS-III Rs. 7,85,575
Tata Safari 4x2 LX DICOR BS-IV Rs. 8,28,981
Tata Safari 4x2 EX DICOR BS-III Rs. 9,07,782
Tata Safari 4x2 EX DICOR BS-IV Rs. 9,92,611
Tata Safari 4x2 GX DICOR BS-III Rs. 10,52,723
Tata Safari 4x2 VX DICOR BS-III Rs. 11,00,573
Tata Safari 4x2 GX DICOR BS-IV Rs. 11,20,189
Tata Safari 4x2 VX DICOR BS-IV Rs. 12,41,314
Tata Safari 4x4 VX DICOR BS-IV Rs. 13,37,485

What more does a Duster offer when compared to a Safari/Scorpio?

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 17th June 2012 at 15:22.
Old 17th June 2012, 15:31   #915

Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
What more does a Duster offer when compared to a Safari/Scorpio?
While everything else may or may not match up Im sure it(Duster) will offer reliability and peace of mind!!
jaysmokesleaves is offline   (2) Thanks