Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene

Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2012, 12:44   #31
BHPian

Re: Tata Vista - Highly Underrated MJD hatchback compared to Swift ?!

I have been driving the Vista since close to 4 years now. Yes, I admit the car has had its share of flaws but then are we trying to say that the Swift is picture perfect. No Swift has ever failed? A colleague of mine had bought his swift just 6 months before I bought my Vista and although his mileage has been lower than mine its also given him issues. Even he's got his clutch changed just like me. However his being a LDi is super bare bone compared to the Aura model that I have. I have always observed that he seldom complains about his car unlike me who is always expecting a perfect car from that Tata stable.
As far as TASS is concerned I have had a fantastic relationship with them since a long time now. I have always been treated in the nicest manner and they have assured that work is done on time. Even in extended warranty they have changed parts without cost which are not covered in it. I have had my whole hatch cover replaced some time back since there was some rust developing. Even though the TASS proved it to me that the rusting was due to the person washing my car with hard water (don't know why he did it). They could have refused to replace it but under good faith they replaced it without a single rupee.

Taxi image? I have also thought why Indica's are preferred as taxis and have even asked a few of them. I have received these common answers:
Spares are easily available, in fact they told me that after Premier Padmini, Indica was the one whose spares are available everywhere.
Body of the Indica is much more stronger than any of the Maruti cars. Taxi's are mostly driven rashly and hence Indica's could take the abuse without any complaints
Space: This car has space much more than any car in its segment.
If these are the reason then I am proud to say I drive a Taxi.