Old 28th March 2012, 15:47   #1

Face-lifted Hyundai i20 "i-Gen" launched @ 4.73 lakhs

Mod Note : GTO's comprehensive Hyundai i20 review has been uploaded at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks

Face-lifted Hyundai i20 "i-Gen" launched @ 4.73 lakhs-new-igen-i20.jpg

High Points

- The i-Gen i20 is available in 12 variants. The Petrol variants range from Rs 473,400 to Rs 665,894, the diesel variants range from Rs 596,334 to Rs 744,013 and the Automatic variant is priced at Rs 767,405.

- The i-Gen i20 now comes with a more powerful 1.2 Kappa petrol engine with Dual VTVT mechanism and 83 BHP on tap. The 1.4 CRDi diesel comes with 6-speed manual transmission that delivers 89 BHP and torque of 22.4 kg-m. The 1.4 Gamma automatic petrol delivers 99 BHP and 13.9 kg-m of torque.

ARAI Ratings:
1.2 Kappa : 18.5 kpl
1.4 CRDi : 21.9 kpl
1.4 Petrol AT : 15 kpl

Features:
• Rear view camera
• Auto headlights
• Rain sensing wipers
• Rear view Electro Chromic Mirror for convenient night driving
• Six airbags
• Rear disc brakes
• Driver seat armrest
• Smart Key with Push Button Start
• Electric Adjustable Folding and Heated Outside Mirrors
• Tilt and Telescopic Steering
• 2-DIN CD/MP3 Audio System with 4 speakers and 2 tweeters, USB, aux-in and Blue tooth connectivity
• Steering Mounted Audio and Bluetooth controls.

Prices:
Name:  Hyundai i20 Prices.PNG
Views: 54844
Size:  18.2 KB

Related Thread
Hyundai i20 facelift spotted!

Face-lifted Hyundai i20 "i-Gen" launched @ 4.73 lakhs-new-igen-i20-interior.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 23rd May 2012 at 23:00. Reason: Adding link to review
GTO is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 28th March 2012, 15:57   #2

Re: Face-lifted Hyundai i20 "i-Gen" launched @ 4.73 lakhs

wow. brilliant. An interesting update. What more - here is another one to confuse the Buyer community !!!.

I like driver armrest, six airbags & auto headlights.

isn't the bluetooth/steering mounted audio control etc are an existing thing ?
Old 28th March 2012, 16:02   #3

Hyundai strategy seems to be to pack the most "in-demand" features in a car! Sure to attract a lot of customers!

But, in the looks department, I prefer the original i20, to me this looks a little bland (no offense meant to any fans).

Last edited by vasanthn21 : 28th March 2012 at 16:04.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:03   #4

How does the prce fare against the old one? Is there too much difference. The way I see it, I guess this is NOT too much for the features offered. Would like to get other's opinions too.

High Points

...The 1.4 CRDi diesel comes with 6-speed manual transmission ..
GTO, just to re-confirm, does the new CRDi come with a 6 speed manual? I read in some other report that they retained the 5 speed gear box itself. If indeed it's true, AWESOME!
Old 28th March 2012, 16:05   #5

Those are some nice specs...serious competition with quite nice pricing. Any reports on quality of air conditioning. The previous i20 had this problem in full summers as a/c could not keep up.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:09   #6

6 speed gearbox is a welcome addition. What about the real time fuel usage information? Has it been incorporated? What information does the central display and the console display (between the odometer and speedometer) show now?
Old 28th March 2012, 16:09   #7

Wow that feature list is impressive, really impressive. I just hope they have fixed the earlier issues the i20 had. If they have then this is a great buy. IMO I prefer the earlier looks to this, but I'll wait till I see it in real life to decide.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:12   #8

2L+ difference for the AT!!! (is AT on the Sportz variant or on the Asta variant?) Is it the DSG or something???

Certainly better looking than V1.0 for my taste. Job well done Hyundai.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:15   #9

Originally Posted by _raVan_ View Post
6 speed gearbox is a welcome addition. What about the real time fuel usage information? Has it been incorporated? What information does the central display and the console display (between the odometer and speedometer) show now?
They had it before but pulled it off since there was shortage ( since Verna too need that gearbox)

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
2L+ difference for the AT!!! (is AT on the Sportz variant or on the Asta variant?) Is it the DSG or something???

Certainly better looking than V1.0 for my taste. Job well done Hyundai.
Coz it comes with the 1.4 99bhp petrol engine.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:19   #10

How does the prce fare against the old one? Is there too much difference. The way I see it, I guess this is NOT too much for the features offered. Would like to get other's opinions too.
The old i20 Diesel Asta costs 7.17L in Cochin. If the new one costs 7.44L, I think the pricing is good, considering the features offered (if all of them are available on the diesel version).

However, seeing a price diff of 2L+ between the petrol Sportz and the Sportz AT, I'm guessing that some of these features will be available exclusively on the AT model. The petrol version also seems to have an extra variant with sun-roof and this model could also have a few extras other than the sunroof.

I, for one, will be surprised if the 6 airbags and rear disc brakes make it to the diesel top-end.
StarrySky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2012, 16:32   #11

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
I, for one, will be surprised if the 6 airbags and rear disc brakes make it to the diesel top-end.
Well there is no Asta(O) for diesel, hence I think no 6 airbags and sunroof (or even the push button start for that matter). But I believe the rear disc brakes will be included.

Any new colors to be introduced?

Last edited by _raVan_ : 28th March 2012 at 16:44.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:33   #12

Wow, that's a very interesting update for the i20. I certainly like the new looks. The best part remains the feature list, Hyundai packs in the most gadgets per car. Even my 10 Lac Vento doesn't have so many gadgets.
There has been a slight increase in pricing considering the new features that have been brought in across various variants. Hope with so many gadgets on board(Auto headlights, rain sensing wipers, etc) there wont be any problems in long term ownership as more the gadgets means more trouble sometimes.
Hyundai i20 seems to set the sales chart on fire just like Verna did and is doing so.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:38   #13

Terrific update GTO!

Gotta say some of the features from that list reek of segments atleast a couple of notches higher than that of the i20 and boy, we're certainly not complaining! Nice work Hyundai. From the picture, the car seems to have a noticeably slouchy stance from the front. Will definitely need to see it in flesh and blood to reaffirm and do a comparo with the existing one. Also what's happened to the DRLs that the international version has?? Not able to make them out clearly.

The wife has already booked the FL Asta so it'll be interesting to see if they've packed all of those impressive features in the 1.2 or reserved some of them only for the 1.4 AT treating it as the top-end in petrol. Manufacturers in India just love to do that!
Old 28th March 2012, 16:53   #14

A hot car now becomes hotter!! The launch was a low key affair I guess, because there was not much build up in the media!
Will be interesting to see how the features are distributed across the variants! Heard that Sportz variant now comes with ABS and driver side airbag. If it is true, sportz at 6.98 Lakhs will be a variant difficult to ignore among the competition!

Last edited by sandsun7 : 28th March 2012 at 17:08.
Old 28th March 2012, 16:59   #15

For some reason, I think this is tad overpriced. And all the variants may not have all the features. Good idea about a cosmetic refresh in mid-life but.

Is this in response to the new Swift & Swift Dzire? Will this again start price wars in the B segment?
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks