Old 30th March 2012, 08:50   #1

Rumour : Karnataka to follow Goa Route. VAT on Petrol to be withdrawn?

What a news to start the day with! Read this in one of the news sites online today. If ever this becomes a truth, happy days for the petrol heads are back!

Has any one heard anything similar?

Karnataka: Petrol likely to be cheaper by Rs 15.5 per litre

Bangalore, Mar 29: Petrol prices in Karnataka might get cheaper by Rs 15.5 per litre as the government is likely to withdraw the VAT on petrol.

Petrol is currently priced at Rs 73.51 per litre in the state and after the prices are slashed it will come down to Rs 58 per litre, said reports.

Currently the state government imposes 25% VAT on petrol and 5% entry tax on the same, claimed Bhushan Narang, President of Karnataka Federation of Petrol Dealers’ Association.
flyingkolors is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th March 2012, 08:55   #2

re: Rumour : Karnataka to follow Goa Route. VAT on Petrol to be withdrawn?

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 30th March 2012 at 19:54.
AirWind is offline   Received Infraction
Old 30th March 2012, 09:03   #3

Wow.. Thats great news. Suddenly the economic rationale behind buying a diesel will be put to test. I hope this eases off prices in other commodities too. Hope the Govt. implements it soon.
Old 30th March 2012, 09:36   #4

I will believe this when I see it implemented. Like someone said, "Nothing is permanent except Death and Taxes!"

However, if indeed it does happen it will give a lot of people a lot of relief.
Old 30th March 2012, 09:51   #5

We can all look forward to the day this becomes a reality. Till then, too many governments have done too many U-turns for me to believe it.

If it happens though it will make things so much better for us petrol heads and not have me wanting to commit hara kiri every time I drive my car.

Any idea if this article says when this will happen
Old 30th March 2012, 09:51   #6

Unless this becomes a reality, it is a read once and forget kind of news. I dont think Goa's good news is going to rub the other states so soon. Or is it limited only to the BJP ruled states only. If so, then other states will be trouble thinking of the early polls talks being proposed.

Dont want to sound too pessimistic.
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2012, 09:53   #7

Rs.15.50 per litre, means that some taxation will remain (possibly entry tax).
Old 30th March 2012, 09:54   #8

Hope it get's nod from everyone, but things like these Iam not sure how consistent they would be through out.

But as long as they provide this, it would be a good relief.
Old 30th March 2012, 09:57   #9

Congrats Kannadigas.

Hope every other state follows the same.. I think BJP seen value in it and possibly make bigger campaign in next general election for the same.
Old 30th March 2012, 10:01   #10

I read in the news today that Karnataka CM has removed VAT on beedis. Obviously, petrol will be next. We can dream, can't we...
Old 30th March 2012, 10:03   #11

I hope it is not an APRIL FOOL Joke.

Because just the other day Mr Sadanand Gowda dismissed a query from a reporter about reducing fuel prices, mentioning that they have already reduced Re 1 for Diesel in this year's budget.

Last edited by bharatbs : 30th March 2012 at 10:07.
Old 30th March 2012, 10:19   #12

Very unlikely this will happen, although I will happily take it. DVS (Our CM) is finding it hard to arrange revenue sources for his 1 Lakh Crore Budget.

Killing a cash-cow would be the last thing on his list!. However, in view of the 2013 assemmbly polls there is a remote possibility that this could become a reality or BJP could do it much closer to the polls or promise to do it if they return to power just like what Parrikar did.

Eitherway, I don't believe this is happening anytime soon.
Old 30th March 2012, 10:44   #13

I feel if the general public and the Media decides to make this an issue then we can expect to see a similar thing happening in Karnataka. This might spread like a wildfire across the country. It would be tough for any govt looking at getting re-elected to not reduce the VAT.

On the other hand the govt is bound to increase the taxes in other areas. At the end of the day we might still have to spend the same amount of money.
Old 30th March 2012, 10:52   #14

You made my day. This by far is an excellent news post the goa price reduction. We all petrol car owners can now hopefully breathe easy for sometime when (and if) this happens.

I will be watching this space and news, as looking at the way these guys are playing in the state govt i have my doubts if this can be implemented.

I am also worried about the state financial state, as i understand most revenues come from petrol.

Last edited by mayankjha1806 : 30th March 2012 at 10:54.
Old 30th March 2012, 10:54   #15

Wonderful news! I hope this happens in Mumbai too! Any idea what is the percentage of VAT in Mumbai?