Old 13th July 2012, 20:40   #61

Re: SCOOP! Mercedes B-Class caught testing in India!

Mercedes B-class would have to be priced competitively otherwise it would not sell in numbers. Especially coz it looks like a squashed minivan. Anything more than 15-16L and people would prefer D segment sedans instead. So merc have to increase localisation.
Mercedes traditionally prefered to have conservative designing and styling. But the new merc cars are not conservatively styled, they are plain ugly. Pricing aside, its the main reason Audi and BMW sell more units.
methilsunkara is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2012, 13:19   #62

Originally Posted by methilsunkara View Post
......Anything more than 15-16L and people would prefer D segment sedans instead. ......
I dont think I agree with that, one has to keep in mind that the price of an Innova is close to 15 lacs. I feel that the B Class could have a good market in the price range of about 23-25 Lacs. There are loads of people who would want a premium minivanish vehicle, not to mention a few premium tour operators and 5 star hotels.
Old 16th July 2012, 21:22   #63

The Mercedes B Class is about to be launched in precisely 3 days as per the new micro-site "Ready To B(Class)" at Coming Soon
Old 16th July 2012, 21:54   #64

This is quite a confusing and a catch 22 situation for MB India, because, when they price it too high, it will be a failure, because, someone who goes to buy a C will never even consider this as an option, and for someone who wants a cheaper merc, by 2013 he will have the A class which is sure to be priced in the 10-20lakh range. They should be careful to price it so that it doesnt affect their A class nor their C class but still be a success in the market(success - sell some decent numbers!)
Old 19th July 2012, 08:46   #65

Originally Posted by .McLaren
The Mercedes B Class is about to be launched in precisely 3 days as per the new micro-site "Ready To B(Class)" at Coming Soon
I expected ads in the papers today....or I guess we will see them tmrw?
Old 19th July 2012, 12:15   #66

Originally Posted by CM21 View Post
I expected ads in the papers today....or I guess we will see them tmrw?
Go through mercedes-benz.co.in its working now.
Old 19th July 2012, 12:35   #67

Ok, just checked with local dealer and he says the launch is expected only mid or late next month. This seems to be a teaser campaign.
Old 19th July 2012, 14:43   #68

I recieved a call last evening from my Mercedes Dealer and he said the price was Rs 25 lakhs ex showroom and i could book my car immidiately. This is valid for existing Mercedes car owners.
speedy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th July 2012, 15:13   #69

Today's HT reported that Mercedes Benz is going to preview to car today.
Old 19th July 2012, 15:38   #70

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
I recieved a call last evening from my Mercedes Dealer and he said the price was Rs 25 lakhs ex showroom and i could book my car immidiately. This is valid for existing Mercedes car owners.
>>>

speedy,

Any pointers to BMW's (potential) plans to launch the 1 Series in India? And the Audi A3?

issigonis
Old 19th July 2012, 16:23   #71

Originally Posted by issigonis View Post
>>>

speedy,

Any pointers to BMW's (potential) plans to launch the 1 Series in India? And the Audi A3?

issigonis
I dont think that will happen, given Mini has been very recently launched.
Old 19th July 2012, 16:56   #72

Originally Posted by AlphaKilo

I dont think that will happen, given Mini has been very recently launched.
Why is it linked to the Mini? Especially with the fact that the 1 is more of a proper 5 seater hatchback.
Old 19th July 2012, 17:18   #73

Sorry guys, a day late - but was stuck in traffic yesterday and saw 5-6 B Class Mercs on the other side. All left hand drive, B200 engine markings and ALL of them had stickers on the windshield saying Mercedes New Delhi for BIC - I'm assuming that is Buddh International Circuit. Any one know of a track day coming up?
Old 20th July 2012, 00:19   #74

Mercedes-Benz India unveiled the Mercedes-Benz B-Class at Buddh International Circuit.
Old 20th July 2012, 15:38   #75

>>>

I won't be surprised to see the 1er and the A3 crossing swords with each other in battleground India, maybe in the next couple of years.

Our economic trajectory (hopefully up after a longish spell of nosediving gloom) and the potential size of the consuming class and its purchasing power will likely ensure that Audi, BMW & Daimler Benz will look at their entry level offerings for India, suitably modified to suit typically Indian requirements (smaller diesel engines, comfortable rear bench & softer suspensions, relatively non-sporty set ups and so on). That is the only way to tap into the larger market of people who want to upgrade to luxury marques without breaking the bank (if shelling out 20-30 l OTR implies not breaking the bank!).

For the hardcore Bimmer fan, there might just be an inline six turbo with -touch wood -hydraulic steering to keep the image going.

issigonis