Old 26th September 2014, 14:01   #871

Hope This helps

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_2995.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_2996.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_2997.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3001.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3002.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3007.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3009.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3011.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3020.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3027.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3041.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3043.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3047.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3050.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3053.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3055.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3057.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3059.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3025.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3003.jpg

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs-img_3035.jpg

NOTE FROM T-BHP SUPPORT: Please avoid posting consecutively. Use the EDIT / MULTI-QUOTE (QUOTE+) functions within 30 minutes of posting instead. Thanks.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 26th September 2014 at 15:23. Reason: Up to 30 photographs may be uploaded per post. Please read the Announcements before proceeding. Thanks!
ARAY is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 14:19   #872

Re: 2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs

Originally Posted by s.prashanth View Post
Will they be launching a automatic. Any answers on this would be appreciated
There is no automatic transmission on offer as yet.
Source : Team-BHP News
Old 26th September 2014, 14:25   #873

Originally Posted by aritraray View Post
Where did you get this picture of 150 KMPH at 6500 RPM?

Thats awesome!
Old 26th September 2014, 14:32   #874

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
My personal view is that this is a refreshing change from the previous generation Scorpio. I am not a designing buff so can't actually comment on it. Ofcourse the rear resembles the Storme but all said and done, we need to see it in flesh and also wait for the prices. I still remember so many people just being furious after XUV5OO was launched, how bad and quirky is the design, how hideous it looked and what not. Same people had turned over a new book (wont say a new leaf) after its prices were announced. So lets wait and watch, lets see how well it rides considering the track lengths have changed and other structural changes.
I had posted this after teasers and actual pictures had surfaced on this very thread. And I see that opinions did change once it was unveiled.

I do have a question to all, why are we calling this as Scorpio facelift or refresh when other than a few body panels, nearly everything has changed, even the chassis is a new one with Hydroforming technology. The ride and handling is better than outgoing one. It shares the name but is it really a refresh or a whole new one?

Another query is regarding ground clearance, couldn't see it mentioned anywhere.

I need to take a test drive and maybe, my signature changes then.

Last edited by BoneCollector : 26th September 2014 at 14:55.
Old 26th September 2014, 14:34   #875

Originally Posted by sourabhzen View Post
Where did you get this picture of 150 KMPH at 6500 RPM? Thats awesome!
Maybe they've copied the disco dance that the speedo and tacho performs when ignition is switched on in the XUV to the Scorpio, and this is a screen grab of that!

Vikram
Old 26th September 2014, 14:34   #876

Where did you get this picture of 150 KMPH at 6500 RPM?

Thats awesome!
That's a needle sweep feature mate.
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 14:38   #877

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
That's a needle sweep feature mate.
Sorry for my ignorance but how does this work? Is it possible on other cars too?
Old 26th September 2014, 15:10   #878

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
The Ball is in Tata's court to come out with a Storme capable of taking on the NEW Scorpio.
Really? The question you ask is 'capable'.
It is more than capable if you ignore the bells and whistles.
All wheel disc brakes vs front disc brakes
140 bhp + higher torque vs 120 and lower torque
Looks (maybe subjective but to me Storme looks much better)

The only thing Tata needs to do is to bring out the Storme with updated interiors so that I can 'kill' the hype generated by the new Scorpio.
extreme_torque is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 15:13   #879

Sorry for my ignorance but how does this work? Is it possible on other cars too?
Needles do a full sweep of the speedo and rev counter when ignition is turned on.Originally it was exclusive to super bikes and now quite a few cars also have it.

Utility; i have no clue, but it looks cool for sure.
It can be activated in VAG cars, not sure of others.
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 15:18   #880

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
Another query is regarding ground clearance, couldn't see it mentioned anywhere.
Its not mentioned anywhere on their website. Hence I would assume that it is the same as the previous Scorpio i.e. 180 mm. A factor to consider if you do intend to take it off roading.
Old 26th September 2014, 15:22   #881

Once you turn the ignition 'on', the needles slowly move from 0 to maximum value, then get back to zero. Am not sure if that started as a feature or a bug but looks like many people like it and it has been copied over. Even a pulsar does the same.
I personally hate it.
blue_pulsar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 15:39   #882

From actual picture it seems that the front is the only good part of the new gen Scorpio, the interior design is definitely better than previous Gen, however quality of plastics seems to be poor as I see in the pics.

For me a busy design of an SUV is a turn off, I personally prefer simple straight lines like that of Storme, Pajero, Land Crusier, Range Rovers.
Old 26th September 2014, 15:53   #883

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
The only thing Tata needs to do is to bring out the Storme with updated interiors so that I can 'kill' the hype generated by the new Scorpio.
I doubt that there is a hype anywhere, except for petrol head forums like ours. I passed by the showroom this afternoon for a peek and it was business as usual nothing great, unlike the crowds that converged post XUV launch.

2 dealerships are chasing me since 2nd half yesterday to give time for a test drive, for XUV my chance came almost 3 weeks post launch. I however have plans to wait for 6 months or so to see how it performs in the real scenarios so am not in a hurry.

In my view, vehicles like Scorpio & Safari have there own market and clientele of buffs (for Scorpio it is additionally cab wallah's), unlike crossovers and mini SUV's it is not every ones cup of tea to manage these beasts.

Last edited by m_upreti : 26th September 2014 at 15:56.
Old 26th September 2014, 16:10   #884

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
The Ball is in Tata's court to come out with a Storme capable of taking on the NEW Scorpio.
It is more than capable if you ignore the bells and whistles.
Absolutely. Storme is a superb vehicle. It has all the right driving dynamics and almost all necessary technical features.

And this is where Tata are taking a beating. The sales numbers speak for themselves. That is because most of the people who buy vehicles DO NOT look at whats inside the bonnet but look at whats inside the cabin. Many people buy these vehicles because these vehicles make them look good. A company's marketing strategy purely understands these buying nuances and works up plans to hit the consumer with what he or she wants to see or maybe even what he or she wants to be seen with.

What M&M with Scorpio have done now, is just that. They have added features that a common man will desire to own, to talk about and to show off in his/her social circle. If the Storme was competing only with the Mahindra Thar then it would be fine to have a simple vehicle, but if they want to sell against the Scorpio, XUV and Duster then they need to start looking inside the cabin.

Let's be honest, how many people will really use the Cruise control. Or how many will use the Hill Descent / Hill Start function on the XUV? Or how many will use the disco lighting or whatever they have in the XUV? Or how useful is this rev counter and speedometer spiking at ignition? But all this changes the customer perception. The person who buys these vehicles wants people to say "Wow! Sahi hai!". Nobody gets a "Wow! Sahi hai!" when they say "My vehicle has disc brakes in front and back.".

The people who will say Wow to that are already on this forum and they are already saying that. Unfortunately for Tata the market is much bigger than this forum.

Last edited by ptushar : 26th September 2014 at 16:16. Reason: Typo
ptushar is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th September 2014, 16:27   #885

The needle doing a full sweep is actually associated to checking by the ECU before cranking the engine.

The ECU checks all sensors and data so all the lights and needles do a full swing and get back to idle. All the instrumentation console lights also come up.

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Utility; i have no clue, but it looks cool for sure.
Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Once you turn the ignition 'on', the needles slowly move from 0 to maximum value, then get back to zero.
Anurag.