Team-BHP - HM adds new tech to Mitsubishi Cedia

-   -   HM adds new tech to Mitsubishi Cedia (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/123290-hm-adds-new-tech-mitsubishi-cedia.html)

HM adds new tech to Mitsubishi Cedia - Car news - BBC TopGear Magazine India Official Website

Mitsubishi has introduced a new Cedia variant called the Select and it offers a host of new features. These include MapMyIndia’s android-based 3G tablet that can multitask making calls, web-surfing, and more.

Adding juice to this tab will be the 12-volt supply for charging that will provide seven hours of entertainment as you wait in hour long traffic jams. Being portable, the tablet can be mounted either on the windscreen or at the back of the head-rest in case your car is driver-driven.

The Cedia Select also comes with a 4-speaker Kenwood DVD player with 6.1-inch touchscreen interface and a reverse parking camera.

Obviously the jewel of this car is the 2.0 liter 113bhp petrol engine that has won several INRC and other rallies. Carrying the sporty them inside is the three-spoke black leather steering and oyster leather seats.

When you drive down like a pseudo rally car driver it will be comforting to know the Cedia sports safety features like front airbags. To drill the sporty theme further the Cedia Select 2012 is only available in three colours - white speed, black flash and rally red. The car is priced at Rs. 8.9 lakh (ex-showroom, Delhi).

Hmmm, Same old HM strategy repeated endlessly :-( Killing Mitsu in India.
Mitsu should separate and launch Colt and Lancer X with petrol and diesel.

Finally some effort by HM India to promote the brilliant Cedia. I thought it was doomed forever. The options for a 10 lakh petrol car just increased by one.

While the mapmyindia tablet is a nice addition, its really 6.1 inch touchscreen interface that comes with the Kenwood system that got my attention. It was a much needed addition when you consider the fact that the dash was rather.....bland!

Even though there is the small issue regarding A.S.S. the fact that these things dont breakdown regularly might be of solace to the prospective customer.

This isn't even worthy of a press release. Honestly Mitsubishi should shut shop, since they really don't seem to be doing anything. This *new* tech is as bad as one of Marutis special editions:Frustrati

Originally Posted by itsgeox (Post 2836734)
Mitsubishi has introduced a new Cedia variant called the Select and it offers a host of new features. These include MapMyIndia’s android-based 3G tablet that can multitask making calls, web-surfing, and more.
The Cedia Select also comes with a 4-speaker Kenwood DVD player with 6.1-inch touchscreen interface and a reverse parking camera.
it will be comforting to know the Cedia sports safety features like front airbags.

Oh..."GPS, 4 speakers and Airbags" is new tech for HM...:uncontrol

Originally Posted by lancer_rit (Post 2836738)
Hmmm ... Same old HM strategy repeated endlessly :-( Killing Mitsu in India.

He he he

Originally Posted by akshay1234 (Post 2836796)
This isn't even worthy of a press release. Honestly Mitsubishi should shut shop, since they really don't seem to be doing anything. This *new* tech is as bad as one of Marutis special editions:Frustrati

Absolutely.
Maruti, at least, once upon a time, launched 2 -door version of the Zen as a special edition. Of course, what they have done to Zen in the later years brings tears to my eyes.

Originally Posted by akshay1234

Exactly. How long has it been since they've launched anything new from the ground up ?

So, the price is up by 1 lac rupees for this version.
What you get extra is
1. a different HU (or perhaps this was already there in 2011 version of the car - Mandheer can confirm)
2. Reverse camera
3. MMI tablet

Mistubishi's fortune will rise the day they kick off Hindustan motor's partnership and stand alone. Infact hindustan motors should be shut down in interest of public safety.

Mitsubishi is seriously killing a known and reputed brand with dated products and refreshes to the products which are pure after market add-ons.

The 'new' techs added can be bought from outside and fitted later, probably for a lesser sum. Also the Cedia has had no design changes(I don't count the redesigned radiator grill and tail-lamps as design changes) since the day of launch.

Even if a die-hard Mitsubishi fan buys the dated product for its legacy(and also reliability, proven product,etc) its spares turn out to be very expensive.

For god's sake Mitsu please launch the new lancer with a diesel heart...

Who needs a car with a cheap tablet ? If you want a tablet, you get it on the internet. So they have provided 'fittings' on the dash and on the head rest, how thoughtful !! Is this some kind of a practical joke ? Do they think that a customer shelling out 10L is going to be bowled over by a tablet and an in dash reverse camera ?

Originally Posted by itsgeox (Post 2836734)
Adding juice to this tab will be the 12-volt supply for charging that will provide seven hours of entertainment as you wait in hour long traffic jams. Being portable, the tablet can be mounted either on the windscreen or at the back of the head-rest in case your car is driver-driven.

:uncontrol

LOL Mitsubishi deserves to shut shop. After they Outlander facelift, they've launched absolutely nothing that is interesting.

And yes, this is a Cedia owner speaking. As much as I love the car, their attitude in India is absolutely terrible!

The so called new tech for Cedia must be new tech for the the HM oldies.
Think this should go into the jokes thread.

I think the new tech is the android tab.
I only see MapMyIndia making business rather than HM doing!

Vento IPL had similar gadget right?

Another HM-Mitsubishi bashing thread(for all right reasons :D )

Cedia now looks bit outdated inside out even for a C segment car