Old 28th August 2012, 16:45   #121

re: Scoop! Mahindra Quanto : The Mini-Xylo. EDIT : Launched !!!

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
OD have reported that the prices of the Quanto may start at Rs.5 Lacs, which is good pricing imo. Here is link to their report:

Mahindra Quanto to be launched in September 2012 - Overdrive
Overdrive says 1.5L engine that produces 65Ps power, whereas we have been hearing 100BHP engine in this thread as per Autocar India. Are there 2 states of tune of the engine in the quanto?
Old 28th August 2012, 16:49   #122

Originally Posted by nurni76 View Post
Overdrive says 1.5L engine that produces 65Ps power, whereas we have been hearing 100BHP engine in this thread as per Autocar India. Are there 2 states of tune of the engine in the quanto?
The difference in price & tuning of variants could be on similar lines as the Duster IMO... at Rs.5 lacs ex-showroom, the on road price will be little over Rs.5.5 in NCR... killer pricing if this report is correct.

PS : It seems that OD may be incorrect with their report. BSM have reported a pricing of Rs.5.9 to Rs.7.2 lacs.

Last edited by CARDEEP : 28th August 2012 at 16:54.
Old 28th August 2012, 19:21   #123

Originally Posted by nurni76 View Post
There might be two states of tune as we have seen a document shared by a bhpian here that mentions 100 bhp and 240 Nm torque. That was a mahindra document, so quiet possible it's the final state we get the engine in. Now that ACI reports a 65ps one, I guess there will be two states of tune on offer. Whatever be the case I hope M&M don't skimp on basic safety features.
Old 29th August 2012, 08:22   #124

Front facing third row seat should be provided in the future as an option, even if it means a pygmy bench seat like the one offered in the Reva shown in the link below:

Google Image Result for http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/i/ne/p/2007/RevaInterior_400x300.jpg

Somehow I feel my seven year old kid and her cousin would be safer in the front facing third row seat with seat belts as shown in the the above pic, compared to the side facing jump seats, where the kids will be uncomfortable, unsafe, and also have direct access to the tailgate door latch.

Last edited by mooza : 29th August 2012 at 08:26.
Old 29th August 2012, 10:55   #125

Originally Posted by mooza View Post
Front facing third row seat should be provided in the future as an option
where the kids will be uncomfortable, unsafe, and also have direct access to the tailgate door latch.
+1

hope they provide a child lock on the door.
Old 29th August 2012, 13:00   #126

New Mahindra SUV named Quanto; launch in September 2012| ZigWheels.com

This is the clearest side shot of this car. Don't tell me it 'doesn't' look like an old Santro!!!
Old 29th August 2012, 14:52   #127

was watching a news channel this morning. I guess CNBC

quantro is scheduled for launch on 2 nd September . NO idea how true it is.
Old 29th August 2012, 18:38   #128

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
PS : It seems that OD may be incorrect with their report. BSM have reported a pricing of Rs.5.9 to Rs.7.2 lacs.
All the car mags quote only ex-showroom price and it could not be wrong, if you see that way OTR in Bangalore is 20% plus that price, which is high IMO. Anything above 7 lakhs OTR (basic version) (in Bangalore), puts this car straight in the line of fire of Swift and i20, with these two for company I really doubt Quanto will make a case for itself.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2012, 19:26   #129

Goenka :: "... We expect the Quanto to offer an exciting upgrade at a premium to customers who are otherwise looking for premium diesel hatchbacks or entry level diesel sedans ..."

I don't know of any premium diesel hatchback or entry level diesel sedan at 5 lac level. My guess is it will be 6.5 lacs plus Ex-Delhi.
Old 29th August 2012, 19:34   #130

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
quantro is scheduled for launch on 2 nd September . NO idea how true it is.
As per the papers the launch is scheduled in the second week of September.

Originally Posted by sheelapratosh View Post
I don't know of any premium diesel hatchback or entry level diesel sedan at 5 lac level. My guess is it will be 6.5 lacs plus Ex-Delhi.
+1 to that. If Mahindra manage to price the Quanto prudently they would have another XUV500 like winner with their maiden small car segment entry.
Old 30th August 2012, 09:41   #131

Originally Posted by sheelapratosh View Post
Goenka :: "... We expect the Quanto to offer an exciting upgrade at a premium to customers who are otherwise looking for premium diesel hatchbacks or entry level diesel sedans ..."

The regular Xylo base variant is being offered at around 7.3 lakhs ex Delhi. I hope Mahindra prices the Quanto at leat 1.5 lakhs below this. Else I am signing out of this thread
Old 30th August 2012, 18:39   #132

ACI has published some pictures including the third row seats
http://www.autocarindia.com/Gallery/...s-added.aspx/1
Guna is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th August 2012, 20:40   #133

^^ The article above indicates 6 lakhs for the base variant. My guess is that there would be a launch pricing of around 5.75 lakhs, which would go up a la XUV once the sales counters begin to jingle
Old 30th August 2012, 22:00   #134

As per the link in ACI looks like it is quite spacious and with 5 on board has good luggage space as well.

Only question UN answered now is whether it is a 3 or 4 pot oil burner.

http://www.autocarindia.com/Gallery/...ded.aspx/5#pic
Old 31st August 2012, 04:31   #135

So here is the clear pic,i believe the rear seats can seat at least kids comfortably,reminds me of our old bolero,which had a similar set up.
Also the rear leg room seems decent.
Scoop! Mahindra Quanto : The Mini-Xylo. EDIT : Launched !!!-quanto_1.jpg  

Scoop! Mahindra Quanto : The Mini-Xylo. EDIT : Launched !!!-quanto_3.jpg  

akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks