Old 10th October 2012, 02:14   #16

re: Volvo V40 Cross Country - India launch in 2013 *Update* - Now Launched

The D4 diesel version should make it to India. It has 177HP and 400 NM of Torque. I would buy that. The price may be around 35-40 lakhs on road Mumbai. If its less then Volvo rocks.

I have a strong feeling that this car will really put the three German car companies to shame.
Old 10th October 2012, 08:12   #17

Volvo seems to have a great products. (though not a proper SUV).
But they had always had great products, the S60, XC60 etc.

But they seriously need to focus on brand building in India, because in India, most people at this price point, buy a car mostly for its snob value and the brand.
Old 10th October 2012, 09:49   #18

Given the way this looks, I for one think that this is a sure shot competitor to the Q3 / X1 brigade. I read in a previous post that this may be more expensive than the two germans. I tend to disagree. The XC60 is a competitor more to the Q5/X3 and is much cheaper than them in the D3 guise. Given that, a V40 with a D3 could well make it here for about 22-25 lacs. I would definitely be a buyer at that price!
elantracrdi05 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2012, 11:07   #19

Volvo V40 Cross country rumored to cost ~ 25 lakhs INR ex showroom (TN), to debut by March 2013

On the sidelines of inaugurating new dealership (Artemis Cars) at Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, which is one of the Volvo’s biggest showrooms in the country, Mr. Tomas Ernburg, Managing director of Volvo Cars India said, that the car could be priced around Rs. 25 lakhs, ex-showroom.
http://indianautosblog.com/2012/11/v...#ixzz2DIv3ODOl
Old 2nd January 2013, 22:43   #20

Nice Ad of Volvo V40 cross country:

More news:
http://www.volvocars.com/intl/all-ca...s/default.aspx
http://indianautosblog.com/2013/01/v...-himself-video
vijayk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2013, 11:28   #21

Volvo Auto India’s managing director Tomas Ernberg in Chennai reveals to IAB.]

To start with there is no All Wheel Drive technology. We will bring a 1.6-liter petrol and 2.0-liter diesel (Ford powertrains) for 2013. In 2014 we will see if we will introduce at a latter stage. At the moment there are no plans to bring the AWD variant.

We would not be cheaper than the B Class or the X1. We will bring a better car, better technology, better engines, more options, the customer gets more value than the competition. So we can defend a higher price
Old 17th January 2013, 12:12   #22

Volvo V40 spotted in Kochi!

Volvo V40 Cross Country - India launch in 2013 *Update* - Now Launched-volvov40.jpg

Volvo V40 Cross Country has been spotted for the first time at a dealer’s yard in Kochi. This is Volvo’s answer for the burgeoning entry level luxury car market in India.

source http://indianautosblog.com/2013/01/v...ry-india-60643
sarathlal is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2013, 23:07   #23
PPS

The India drive of the V40 Cross Country was shown on the Autocar show tonight! Seems to be the same red car posted above. It was a 2litre 147bhp diesel engine. The expected base price is around 28lakhs.
The reviewer pointed out that the car would come with run-flat tyres.

Last edited by PPS : 21st February 2013 at 23:08.
Old 22nd February 2013, 06:38   #24

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
The India drive of the V40 Cross Country was shown on the Autocar show tonight! Seems to be the same red car posted above. It was a 2litre 147bhp diesel engine. The expected base price is around 28lakhs.
The reviewer pointed out that the car would come with run-flat tyres.
Yes, even the NDTV CNB show reported that the V40 will be launched in a few weeks.

I believe even the current Volvos in India (e.g.; S60) come with runflats.
Old 22nd February 2013, 09:07   #25

When you step inside a Volvo, you would be a tad disappointed by the overall theme of dash design and feel of materials. The steering wheel design and the ACC panel, etc. underwhelm you when compared to the Germans including VW. Of course this is subjective but I recently happen to be in a VW showroom and I was actually quite impressed with the Polo dash. Somehow these German manufacturers know how to build beautiful stuff even at Polo price levels - inside out. I like the exterior designs of modern Volvos - they are as good as and at time better than the German alternatives.

I toyed with the idea of buying s60/s80 but the interiors and lack of service support in Bangalore made it a non starter.

RFT on a Volvo with abysmal service network is suicidal.
Old 22nd February 2013, 09:19   #26

V40 Looks great. But as someone already said earlier - I think they will price it higher than X1 and B-Class, probably in the range of Q3 top-end. This I feel strongly especially due to the CBU aspect.

I have been a fan of Volvo cars from 1998 onwards. At that time I used to work in Dubai and my Boss (British) had a Volvo S60. It was simply amazing, built like a tank. If they price it under 30 lakhs on road then I am surely keeping it as an option. I think Volvos can easily survive for 10 years on our Roads.
Old 22nd February 2013, 10:28   #27

Lack of service / dealers is a big put-off as many others had said. When I sent a sales inquiry for the v40, I was sent a s60 brochure!!! I replied that I was interested in the v40 and may seriously consider buying at launch, but no reply thereafter.

If sales is so bad, I shudder to think about the service.
Old 23rd February 2013, 13:06   #28

Got this video of ACI testing the Volvo V40 in India!

swiftnfurious is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th February 2013, 16:42   #29

Anyone aware of Volvo launching the S60 with a 4 cylinder 1560 CC 115 HP diesel engine generating 270 Nm of torque (Volvo calls the engine DRIVe) – seems to be an attractive entry level luxury package, if priced competitively. I was going through their website and found this engine option mentioned. Most probably this engine will do duty on the V40 Cross Country as well and Volvo will have two product offerings in the entry luxury market.

http://www.volvocars.com/in/all-cars...ical-spec.aspx

Volvo V40 Cross Country - India launch in 2013 *Update* - Now Launched-s60.jpg
Old 26th February 2013, 20:15   #30

Volvo India will be launching the Cross Country soon after the Union budget, and that would mean the launch in April.

Volvo India’s Managing Director Mr. Tomas Ernberg has said that the new car will be launched in India with two engine options – 1.6L petrol and 2.0-liter diesel and none of the engine variants will have the AWD system.

The car is expected as the CBU.

Source: http://motoroids.com/news/volvo-v40-...ppen-in-april/