Old 4th October 2012, 23:20   #31

re: Mahindra to introduce Rexton on 17th October 2012.EDIT Launched at Rs. 17.67 lakhs

If there are takers for Force1 and Rhino, i am sure MM will find buyers.
Looks like the Oct17 release date was announced after they came to know of Strome release. But as far as i know, Tata has not officially announced the release date yet. Let us see. Looks like MM called for a fight with TM, and TM is trying to avoid the same, as the opponent is on a winning streak now!
Old 8th October 2012, 14:35   #32

re: Mahindra to introduce Rexton on 17th October 2012.EDIT Launched at Rs. 17.67 lakhs

I read the article in AutoBuild, and found the size comparison was up to Land cruiser Prado, which would make this SUV considerably bigger. I called the dealer and got the info that the launch is only on Metros and it would take few weeks to come to tier 2 cities.

As many of you say there is a gap in 17-22 lac to fit a full sized SUV, and if Mahnidra can do it, I might even buy it.

Yeti is over priced for a small vehicle, Endy is outdated, Aria cannot be an SUV, rest of them are above or below this. So this 5L band definitely has enough space for a decent SUV.
Old 15th October 2012, 19:17   #33

Rexton teaser site up: http://www.ssangyongrexton.in/

Related threads:
1. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...do-rexton.html

2. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ng-rexton.html
sarthakgupta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2012, 11:46   #34

Seems Ssangyong Rexton launch is happening right now. Will post updates as I get.
swiftnfurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2012, 12:11   #35

Saw a couple of Rextons at G3 motors, kandivali. One was white and the other one was silver.
Looked big!

Will it come with the Mahindra logo or the Ssanyong logo? I think I saw Ssangyong written at the rear.
Old 17th October 2012, 12:23   #36

RX5 MT @ Rs 17.67 Lakhs , Mumbia ex showroom
RX7 AT @ Rs 19.67 Lakhs , Mumbia ex showroom

Mahindra introduced the Korean car brand, SsangYong in India earlier today by launching the new Rexton SUV at a starting price of Rs 17.67 lakhs. The SsangYong Rexton for India is the third generation version and will be only available in diesel engine option. Rexton SUV is launched with two options, RX5 MT and RX7 AT AWD. Top speed of the new diesel SUV in India is 180 kmph for manual and 194 kmph for automatic while ARAI mileage for the same stands at 12.4 kmpl and 11.18 kmpl respectively.

Source: http://www.rushlane.com/launch-price...a-1248778.html

Lookslike a seriously good option to consider if they can provide good support

Last edited by indian21r : 17th October 2012 at 12:26. Reason: AT Price added
indian21r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2012, 12:23   #37

The Mahindra SsangYong Rexton is launched @ Rs.17.67 Lacs for the base variant & Rs.19.67 for the Automatic. Link to ACI's report:

http://www.autocarindia.com/News/319...-launched.aspx

PS : @indian21r you beat me in the launch details by few seconds .

Link to OD's first drive report of the SUV:

http://www.overdrive.in/details/2232...ia-first-drive

Last edited by CARDEEP : 17th October 2012 at 12:41.
Old 17th October 2012, 12:27   #38

Good pricing by Mahindra. Will definitely give the competition something to think about.
Mahindra should also ensure proper service and support for their new flagship model. A good alternative in the sub 20 lakhs price bracket.
Old 17th October 2012, 12:44   #39

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
PS : @indian21r you beat me in the launch details by few seconds .
, I was just searching and found the link. Looks like rest of team bhp is waiting for the arrival of Storme. In the mean time, Rexton may have just destroyed the remaining market for Aria top end

Manual feels a good option for me to consider. Eagerly waiting for a Team Bhp review on this now. Overdrive mentions it as good option in the 20 Lakh bracket. Would have loved to see spare on tail gate rather than underbody.
Old 17th October 2012, 12:48   #40

Two trims for the SsangYong Rexton W depending on the transmission option - RX5 manual (164 bhp) and RX7 auto (180 bhp)

4.7m long, 3 rows.

Prices: RX5 (M/T)- Rs 17.67, RX7 (A/T)- Rs 19.67- Ex, showroom- Mumbai
Seems like a killer pricing exercise. I guess this price point starts right where the top spec XUV ends.

At this price, did Mahindra just pull the carpet from under the T-Fort??
Old 17th October 2012, 12:48   #41

The manual is a good competition for not only Aria, but also for the Mahindra's own XUV500, as the price difference isn't much (~Rs.1 Lac).

I bet, few could opt for the automatic Rexton over T-Fort as the price & power output is better, & there isn't much to chose from wither on other fronts (barring Toyota/ Jap badge).
Old 17th October 2012, 13:00   #42

Originally Posted by iceman7 View Post
Seems like a killer pricing exercise. I guess this price point starts right where the top spec XUV ends.
Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
The manual is a good competition for not only Aria, but also for the Mahindra's own XUV500, as the price difference isn't much (~Rs.1 Lac)
I think XUV 500 W8 4WD is priced @ 14.25 Lakhs ex showroom, so a difference of at least 3.4 Lakhs.

Let us hope other manufacturers give good deals now
indian21r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2012, 13:00   #43
AVR

I posted on the first page about my apprehensions with it looking like a Merc ripoff but am mighty impressed with the launched vehicle's looks. Looks great. Especially because it is from MM and it doesn't have an overdone design. Simplicity of the front has its own charm.

Over to the Storme launch!
Old 17th October 2012, 13:02   #44

I personally would never buy this new vehicle . Going by my experience on my XUV,service center guys are unable to solve basic problems in the Car and Its electronics after several tries. As much VFM as it may seem, I would not buy it just because if solving problems on their homegrown XUV is so tough, what will happen if the same occur in Rexton is really, a no-brainer. A premium customer hates going to service centers repeatedly and hence there is no point in investing in such a car, atleast for now.
Just my opinion.
abhinavinc is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th October 2012, 13:06   #45

Originally Posted by indian21r View Post
I think XUV 500 W8 4WD is priced @ 14.25 Lakhs ex showroom, so a difference of at least 3.4 Lakhs.

Let us hope other manufacturers give good deals now
Sorry my mistake you are correct, the difference is much to ignore ... . XUV is in safe territory.