3 - 4 Years 120 20.10%
5 - 6 Years 181 30.32%
7 - 9 Years 193 32.33%
10 Years (and over) 141 23.62%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 597. You may not vote on this poll

Old 9th November 2012, 16:03   #91

Re: How many years do you drive / own the same car?

Ford Escort, August 1997, 240000 km, still going on (reduced usage now)
Tata Indica, October 2003, 100000 km doing well (regular use)
Hyundai Verna, October 2008, 33500 km doing well (regular use)
All with diesel motors
Reasons to sell
- Parking space limitation
- Time and resources required to keep them in healthy condition (and yes availability of spares too)
- Outdated technology (specifically with respect to safety).

Last edited by i74js : 9th November 2012 at 16:10.
Old 10th November 2012, 00:09   #92

I really like this thread ! It kind of tells you to pause for a sec and do a recap !

These are our cars in order :

1. Zen VXi yr 2000- first model mpfi 60Bhp- Petrol - now odo shows about 60K Km- held for 12 years[ 2000 to 2012 ].

2. Maruti 800- ye 1989 model- bought second hand from a friend used for many modifications -changed from Type I to Type II and 3 nos. engines changed- lastly sold of to our mechanic, who is still using and modding the same- held for about 8 years 2001 to 2009.

3. Ford Fiesta ZXI TDCi yr 2006- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand 26K Km on odo- now odo reads about 50K km- Held for 3 years 2009 to 2012- Our first diesel car.

4. Honda City 1.3Dx 2005- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand at 28K on odo - held 1.5 yrs between 2009-2010 and run upto 32K on odo- fully restored as hobby - sold off very cheap to same dealer due to some sudden financial crisis.- Still miss this car!

5. Logan Dls 1.5 Diesel -2008 model- bought with 31K on odo three months back, well restored and now rum another 1000 km. this vacation this has remained the family's workhorse. Personally I find this is a very handsome and utility design, wonder why many dont like it.

6. Swift Dzire VDi- 2012- received a week before this pooja 2012- still with temp number plates and total just 87 km on the odo- 2 months only.
sanyal779 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2012, 12:06   #93

Originally Posted by sanyal779 View Post
3. Ford Fiesta ZXI TDCi yr 2006- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand 26K Km on odo- now odo reads about 50K km- Held for 3 years 2009 to 2012- Our first diesel car.

4. Honda City 1.3Dx 2005- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand at 28K on odo - held 1.5 yrs between 2009-2010 and run upto 32K on odo- fully restored as hobby - sold off very cheap to same dealer due to some sudden financial crisis.- Still miss this car!

5. Logan Dls 1.5 Diesel -2008 model- bought with 31K on odo three months back, well restored and now rum another 1000 km. this vacation this has remained the family's workhorse. Personally I find this is a very handsome and utility design, wonder why many dont like it.
These are indeed good picks. Would you mind sharing how much moolah you had to shelve out for each of the above models? I am contemplating on getting a pre-worshipped car similar to the above & your inputs would really help me.
AutoIndian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2012, 12:40   #94

Well history of my (dad previously owned Omni and M800 which were with us for abour 8 years each) cars.

M Alto- 2006
3 Years, 48,000 Kms
Got married, needed a bigger car with rear seat space, parents getting old, found it hard to get in and out of the back seat. I also do some highway driving and under powered engine was a pain.
Also escalating petrol prices and my increased running made sure that it no longer made financial sense.

M Riz Vdi- 2009
3.5 years, 75000 Kms
Will run it for 100,000 Kms or 5 Years whichever comes first. I love the car, its a decent highway car as well. Have driven it to every state in north India, including recent trip to Kinnaur.

Personally I feel that, to get the most value out of a car (esp diesel) one should own it for at least (unless dad owns a bank or money is a non issue) 100,000 Kms or 5 years.
kaushal21fb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2012, 12:48   #95

I have my Santro Limited Edition (2007) for close to 6 years now. No plans for selling it in near future. Its quite reliable, Easy access to Hyundai A.S.S.

It met with an accident (was rear ended close to 2 years go) and was repaired at Hyundai Motor Plaza itself. If i sell it it would fetch me a lac at the best. Heck I might as well keep it. Since there scores of santros around, Spares would not be an issue for ages to come.

EDIT: My next car would be a Toyota for sure and am buying a toyota as it would easily last for 10+ years with their Build quality.

Last edited by scopriobharath : 10th November 2012 at 12:50. Reason: EDIT added
Old 10th November 2012, 14:37   #96

@ Auto Indian,
Sir, I had spent as follows :
3. Ford Fiesta ZXI TDCi yr 2006- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand 26K Km on odo- now odo reads about 50K km- Held for 3 years 2009 to 2012- Our first diesel car. -- Bought for INR 4.45 L, took a loan of 3.44L and paid high interest due to old car! Spent about 1.5L so far including new music system,changed speedo signal sensors.new tyres and alloys and one set of shocker and repaint + minor body damage and Lubes change. Today's Kolkata valuation wont be more than 2.2 L, but this runs as good as a new Ford Classic. City 14 and Highway 22 with moderate driving. There is a small glitch in the gearbox, ie can not downshift to 1st gear when the vehicle is in motion, rather have to manage with 2nd gear.Happily living with it, only need to guide new drivers.!!

4. Honda City 1.3Dx 2005- bought from a dealer as 2nd hand at 28K on odo - held 1.5 yrs between 2009-2010 and run upto 32K on odo- fully restored as hobby - sold off very cheap to same dealer due to some sudden financial crisis.- Still miss this car!--- Bought for 2.4L cash , so no loss in way of interest, sold off for silly 1.3L. Meanwhile had spent 25K for a set of 5 Pyrelli tyres and music system and small body repair+paint-job+seat cover.One year Later had seen ads in local classifieds, the next owner had advertised as a Merchant Navy Officer maintaned car and was asking for 2.5L-do not know after that.

These two I would agree has been a bit on the loss side,However my observation is Kolkata rates are a little lower.

5. Logan Dls 1.5 Diesel -2008 model- bought with 31K on odo three months back, well restored and now rum another 1000 km. this vacation this has remained the family's workhorse. Personally I find this is a very handsome and utility design, wonder why many dont like it.-- This one asking price was 3.1L, but I burgained and bought for 2.55L. Spent another 1.05L in new Yoko tyres and alloy set, music system,new shocker set and suspension parts, seat cover and full paint job. total spent about 3.56L. This I consider just right cost wise.

Hope you find this information useful. Thank you.
Old 10th November 2012, 22:14   #97

Originally Posted by sanyal779 View Post
@ Auto Indian,
Sir, I had spent as follows :

Hope you find this information useful. Thank you.
Thanks for sharing the details buddy, good useful insights for me. I see you have spent on suspension, both for Fiesta & Logan. Was there any issue with the suspension, or you replaced it just as preventive maintenance? A bit , but my Indica, which will be completing 1,20,000 kms this month, is still on stock suspension. I now find the ride a bit stiff though & have a feeling that useful life of the shockers is well over now.

If I find a Logan, which has run @ 30K kms & being offered for 3+ lacs, I will grab it with both hands in exchange of my Indica
Old 10th November 2012, 22:14   #98

1994 zen lxi - held it till 2001, loved the 3rd gear
sold reluctantly in 2001 (to a friend who is careful with cars,) coz juniors wont by big cars coz boss has small car - wife says dont be stingy and threatened to buy a car of her choice hence bought Ikon 1.8D

2001 wife bought zen D
sold in 2004 - small niggles, wife thinks cars should be sold after 3 years becoz the maintenance costs would go up, argued for keeping the car but you know who wins arguments!

wife bought Accent CRDI in 2004
sold in 2007 - same philosophy

2007 wife bought Safari
sold in 2010 - same logic, Tata quality validated her views.

2010 wife bought Fortuner - let us see if arguments win - an eternal optimist!

2001 bought Ford Ikon 1.8 D
sold in 2010 - as the costs of maintaining the car were humungous - roughly i spent as much as i bought it for - like to maintain my cars to the best possible limit, since my life depends on them - also like to keep them in pristine condition, i came to a conclusion a ford you cannot afford to maintain! must confess I loved the driving dynamics and boy did i enjoy driving it! decided never to buy a Ford.

2007 bought a Corolla Automatic, done 90000 KM was planning replace till I read GTO's take on old cars. Plan to keep it. Needs some touch up, and a few things to be replaced.
soonya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2012, 23:27   #99

@ Auto Indian,
I do compulsively change the suspension in all cars as this is the component that goes bad in Kolkata roads. Moreover all our cars get driven by different temporary drivers in my absence as wife does not drive. I do it for safety and comfort, however admit it is possible to stretch the suspension job a little longer. These three cars that I bought second hand were all maintained by some small companies. I have strong feeling that they might have been using them as under-cover rental cars [ all consequent abuses] and later sold them off with tamprered odometer [ both digital and analog odo's can be tampered for a small fee in Kolkata, my mechanic confirmed]. However I got the engines fairly good. Had changed the clutch in the Logan once, and many times in the Zen- credit goes to the drivers.
I like your choice of Logan over indica- if the boxy 80's look-factor is no problem with you, this car in well maintained mechanicals is a very solid car with a very durable dacia engine. Also maxm inside space in the segment. More frugal than Fiesta, some say it is under-powered, I find it is OK, Particularly in Kolkata we hardly get a chance to speed up above 80 km. Parts and service is cheaper than Ford, part availability is a small problem in the outside market, but Mahindra Verito parts are available from the workshop. Perhaps your side of India , parts issue will not be there.
Sharing another info about logan. two months back I bought a Logan petrol for my brother -in-law for just 1.5L, 2007 model. Logan petrols are available at this range only. I found it another very smooth car with nice milage [ did not exactly measure, but the feel is that of economy and power in good balance]. This car had done 74K on the odo but still very good.
Hope these inputs help you. Thank you.
Old 10th November 2012, 23:39   #100

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
EDIT: My next car would be a Toyota for sure and am buying a toyota as it would easily last for 10+ years with their Build quality.
Please make sure it is either the Innova or the pre-Altis Corolla ; the other Toyotas can be ignored.

My cars:

Premier Padmini 1993 - arrived Jan1998 departed dec2000 -used 6000kms- wanted to upgrade

Esteem1995 - arrived dec2000 departed jul2004 - used 14000kms - was getting old

Versa 2003 - arrived Jul2004 departed dec 2010 - used 35000kms - wanted to but a Corolla

CorollaAT H4 2003 - arrived Oct2010 departed Jul2012 - used 7000kms - relocating from Surat to Chennai

Corolla H5 2005 - arrived Jul2012 - done 4000 kms in 3 months - no plans to change for now

All cars save the corolla AT have been white,and have given me great learnings.

The Padmini made me a restoration specialist for flood affected cars while the Corolla AT made me an ac expert.
vigsom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2012, 00:38   #101

My Cars:-

1992 Maruti 800DX arrived at 50k went in 1996 at 1L kms- too many issues cropping up

1996-2005:- Maruti 800 DX (the one with Honeycomb mesh grill)-used for 2L kms without any major issues sold due to upgrade for Dad.

2003-2007:-Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi (the last batch of Japanese Lancers) used for 2.3L kms without any engine or transmission or body issue.

2008-2010:- 99 OHC arrived at 67k on odo departed at 77k had spend lot on this car, but sadly had to sell off due to issues.

My Current cars

2005-2012 -Euro3 Maruti 800AC 55168.2kms on the clock no issues till date.

2007-2012 - Euro3 Lancer done 1.4L on Odo still drives Like a New car.

2010-2012 - Civic VAT (07) done 55775.5kms nothing much except for Tires and normal servicing.

Last edited by jatinpatel : 11th November 2012 at 00:39.
Old 11th November 2012, 09:40   #102

These are the cars I bought new:

Ford Escort Hatch, bought with help of a Ford promotional deal for students in the US, in Aug 1983.
Got bored with the car, wanted something new.
Sold in March 1986 with about 30,000 miles (approx 48,000 kms)

Toyota Celica GT, bought in March 1986 in US
Had to sell the car in Aug 1988 with a heavy heart as I was moving to Germany, not even a hint of a problem under all weather conditions. The Celica had again about 30,000 miles on it when sold.

Nissan Sentra GXE, bought in October 1992 in US.
Again had to sell the car in Sept 1994 when we were moving to settle in India. Again had absolutely no issues with it in all weather conditions including blizzards. Had about 30,000 miles in it as well when selling.

Maruti 800, bought in March 1999.
Had some issues with brakes and suspension. Sold it finally in 2004 with about 50,000 kms.

Maruti WagonR Lxi, bought in February 2004
Absolutely trouble free for the first 3 years. After that it needed some fix-ups here and there. We still have the car (>80,000 kms so far), but now is the time to sell it before it gets too old. We want to get a petrol sedan under 10 Lakhs soon.

Hyundai Getz Prime, bought in January 2008.
Absolutely trouble free for nearly 5 years of ownership till now, not even a single rattle. The car has benefitted quite significantly from a tyre upgrade to 175 Michelins/Bridgstones and also a switch to fully synthetic oil. Low end torque is good and nice to drive, obviously runs out of breadth at the high end. Very nice and comfortable for city rides. We would keep this car for a while now. This car is used daily for office commute and weekend shopping and has very low mileage (approx 18,000 kms till now).

Other than the above, I have bought several used cars like a Chevy Nova in the US, an Opel Ascona and a Ford Escort wagon (much better than the American Escort) in Germany, and Maruti Omni in India. All of them were useful in their own way and were sold in due time.

Regards.
Old 11th November 2012, 16:05   #103

My cars:

Zen VX Petrol - was my first car. I bought it in 2001 Feb and sold it in 2007 January (almost 7 yrs). Drove it for around 72000 kms. Sold since I wanted to upgrade

Hyundai Verna Diesel - bought in Feb 2007 and still using it. Has covered more than 1 Lakh kms till now and it is still going strong. Want to keep it for some more time, unless there are any major issues coming up.
Old 12th November 2012, 11:26   #104

If it is a jeep or a pick up truck , i would not sell it . If it is an suv or a car , i would sell it off probably after a couple of years of use . Jeeps and 4*4 pick up trucks have a character of their own for some reason this happens especially when they get old .
Old 12th November 2012, 15:58   #105

Maruti Baleno
Bought in Jan 2005, sold in Aug 2012
Had run about 55000 kms.

Reasons for Sale :
1) Got a good deal which I wouldn't have got normally.
2) Model was obsolete
3) Spares were expensive (being SGP and not MGP).