Old 20th April 2013, 00:09   #631
vcx

Hello all, today I got an opportunity to spot Ecosport at Inorbit mall in Hyderabad.

I must say it has the best looks in the category from most angles.

Felt getting in and out of this muv/suv is good enough, nice seating position and ford sync in the electronics for Bluetooth , etc.

The rear passenger can feel its not spacious and bit cramped .The boot space is decent.

Overall , some one like to own an SUV with tomorrow looks but can comprise on space as hatch , this would be perfect .

Duster may see some dust .All the best ford.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-image896367143.jpg  

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-image3528755197.jpg  

Old 20th April 2013, 00:40   #632

Re: Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!

Originally Posted by vcx View Post
Hello all, today I got an opportunity to spot Ecosport at Inorbit mall in Hyderabad.

I must say it has the best looks in the category from most angles.

Felt getting in and out of this muv/suv is good enough, nice seating position and ford sync in the electronics for Bluetooth , etc.

The rear passenger can feel its not spacious and bit cramped .The boot space is decent.

Overall , some one like to own an SUV with tomorrow looks but can comprise on space as hatch , this would be perfect .

Duster may see some dust .All the best ford.
Seems like I missed it. I was at Inorbit mall till 2PM and had no idea the Ecosport was on display there. Did they start it in the evening?
Old 20th April 2013, 00:54   #633
vcx

Originally Posted by asdfvinay View Post

Seems like I missed it. I was at Inorbit mall till 2PM and had no idea the Ecosport was on display there. Did they start it in the evening?
I was at Inorbit between 7-9pm and it was displayed on Level2 I recollect.
vcx is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 14:19   #634

Ecosport is a WagonR with bells and whistles, except that the WagonR has more space for the rear seat passenger and Suzuki pitches it as a MUV ;-).

Knowing Ford, my guess at pricing would be 9 to 14 lakhs ex showroom. Going by my guess, the top end variant will cost about 16 lakhs on road.
pareyshaan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 15:14   #635

Originally Posted by pareyshaan View Post
Ecosport is a WagonR with bells and whistles, except that the WagonR has more space for the rear seat passenger and Suzuki pitches it as a MUV ;-).
Please. Wagon R and Ecosport are leagues apart. Be it build quality, features or looks. The only part where wagon R is in comparison would be the rear bench space. Even at that, I don't think wagon R would beat Ecosport. It has as much space as a large hatch, though not in comparison to an SUV
Old 20th April 2013, 15:35   #636

Knowing Ford, my guess at pricing would be 9 to 14 lakhs ex showroom. Going by my guess, the top end variant will cost about 16 lakhs on road.
and what about swift, ritz, polo, i20; they are all wagonr with few bells here and there.
And wagon r is an MUV and ecosport is wagon r with few extra whistles.
What a stress buster of the day!
Dr.Abhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 16:10   #637

PERSONAL ATTACKS:

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Personal attacks on fellow BHPians are STRICTLY prohibited on Team-BHP.
All members are part of the Team-BHP family and any discriminating or derogatory comment is uncalled for.

We advise you to read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further, and to prevent your account from being permanently disabled.

Last edited by aah78 : 20th April 2013 at 18:53. Reason: See note.
Sebring is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 16:36   #638

Buddy, are you really serious?. This is not a fair comparison at all.
Old 20th April 2013, 16:38   #639

The best post on this thread so far! Now if only I could own a wagon R with a boot and some bells and whistles, aka an Audi Q7, I could probably give the ES miss. Or maybe the A8 a wagon R with more back seat space and some bells and whistles.
sharninder is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 17:14   #640

Wagon R is Nano with bells and whistles, they both have paper thin sheet metal

Wagon does not deserve to be compared to even a Figo forget about ES.
silverado is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 17:18   #641

Saw a few reviews about the 1.0 Ecoboost. The Fifth Gear team test gave the new Focus pretty high rating because they were so impressed with the 1.0L Ecoboost. And recently saw Car Buyer UK’s review of the face-lifted Fiesta hatchback – again, excellent comments mainly because of the engine.
Old 20th April 2013, 18:16   #642

C'mon guys, I am increasingly seeing unfair comparisons every now and then on various threads here. Looks like Mods are going to have tough time in the future !!

There can be 10 different cars which top their respective categories but that does not mean we go and start comparing apples with oranges(or say apple iPad itself)

EcoSport is sub 4m, so space is going to be a premium anyway. There are premium hatches like i20, Polo, Jazz, Even Swift Zdi that are overlapping with the sedan territory now.

If Ecosport brings SUV characterists such as looks and better ground clearance and decent ride and handling too at similar price point ? It is these premium hatchbacks that will face the heat due to EcoSport. So please dont bring stuff like WagonR and i10 here.
Old 20th April 2013, 18:17   #643

No buddy, the WagonR is probably a Bajaj AutoRickshaw with a few bells and whistles like steering wheel and music system. However not to forget that a typical Rickshaw in a metro can easily seat 7 people and Bajaj calls it a "People Mover".

In this case, Bajaj should have priced it around 3 lacs and it would have been the most VFM buy!!

Last edited by swarnava.m : 20th April 2013 at 18:19.
swarnava.m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 23:34   #644

I got a chance to look Ecosport in flesh at Hyderabad today.

Here is my impression after spending half hour in and around the vehicle.

The stance is very impressive, Marsh Red color looks good.

Has a good presence....
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_105950.jpg

Interior plastic quality is good.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_110345.jpg

Doors feel solid...built to last...
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_110649.jpg

Center console with Ecosport badge....Fit & finish here is not up to the mark....Post productions vehicle's should be better.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_110753.jpg

Angular AC vents....nicely positioned.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_110655.jpg

Many visitors had tough time to find to unlock boot.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_110908.jpg

Electric adjustable mirrors with Joystick.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_111057.jpg

Legs space seems to be more than adequate, should be OK for long rides.

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_112221.jpg

Three can be comfortable at the back if they are normally built, for heavily built can be uncomfortable on long journeys.

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_112225.jpg

12v socket nicely integrated for rear bench too...

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_112230.jpg

Ecosport will be having two tire sizes 195/65 R15 91T (low variants) and
205/60 R16 92H ( high variants)
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_113158.jpg

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114113.jpg

Anti theft nut for spare wheel.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114126.jpg

Boot space is good considering it as under 4 meter car
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114135.jpg

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114329.jpg

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114349.jpg

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114409.jpg

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114417.jpg

Seat covers are much better what displayed at Mumbai or Delhi....will be even better in production vehicles.

Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114432.jpg

Liked the recline option very useful for long journey's...
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114437.jpg

Nice clear head lamps
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_114509.jpg

Many were eager to know the price....when I told should be lac and half lesser than Duster...they were not believing. Many feel it to be a premium vehicle.

If Ford gets the pricing right with variants should be a instant winner.
Ford EcoSport revealed with PICTURES : Inside & Out!-img_20130420_111052.jpg  

Last edited by bageherath : 20th April 2013 at 23:38.
bageherath is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th April 2013, 23:47   #645

Slightly OT, a question to all the mod guru's (though this might not be a question about a common mod).

How easy/difficult is it to move the rear bench of the Eco-sport back by say 4 inches (I remember someone suggesting this to Ford in this thread)? Compromise a bit on the boot space and increase the rear leg room.

1. Is this possible?
2. If yes, what could be the cost involved?
3. Would it drastically negatively affect vehicle behaviour in any way?

With my limited knowledge my guess would be that it should be easier to do this in a vehicle like Ecosport and almost impossible in Sedans, any thoughts?

<Edit> After looking at the pics of the boot in the above post (it was posted while I typed my post), i feel there is no space between the rear wheen arches and the back of the rear bench (those who have seen the vehicle in person, help! Does this have anything to do with the "recline" option?)

Looks like the vehicle is loaded with features; ACC (I see an "auto" button in AC panel), electrically adjustable OVRM. I hope it is not only in the demo vehicles.

Last edited by vasanthn21 : 20th April 2013 at 23:54.