Old 3rd November 2015, 14:16   #76

Re: SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India

Originally Posted by mikon View Post
I was driving from Pune to Mumbai and stopped in-between for refreshments (Actually stopped to avoid the fine on the expressway )
Sorry this is off topic but don't know where else to continue this (I'm headed on expressway day after). Do they actually time you from toll to toll and fine you? Is that actually implemented?

What's the minimum time they require between two toll nakas to not be fined?

On the VW engine in a Skoda, going by Vid's post, a twin charger setup, if it were to come here seems like an even bigger recipe for disaster in our country. I would be VERY worried about touching a VAG product with that set up.

Last edited by Axe77 : 3rd November 2015 at 14:19.
Old 4th November 2015, 12:01   #77

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Sorry this is off topic but don't know where else to continue this (I'm headed on expressway day after). Do they actually time you from toll to toll and fine you? Is that actually implemented?

What's the minimum time they require between two toll nakas to not be fined?

On the VW engine in a Skoda, going by Vid's post, a twin charger setup, if it were to come here seems like an even bigger recipe for disaster in our country. I would be VERY worried about touching a VAG product with that set up.

Yes, they were imposing fine at that time. Not sure about now.
I guess the minimum time between toll to toll should be 1 hour (need to confirm)
mikon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 14:02   #78

Is VW going premium only - Golf TSI to be launched here? Spied testing (Golf- TSI- LHD unit )in Pune!

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-12278821_931974136885379_393311685137649620_n.jpg
SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-12250051_931973750218751_1205099819580464594_n.jpg
SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-12250067_931974086885384_7022705167989776941_n.jpg
SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-12301510_931974056885387_2757203158873192931_n.jpg
SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-12308606_931973920218734_7171833335762529044_n.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/POWERDRIFTOFFICIAL

Last edited by volkman10 : 27th November 2015 at 14:11.
volkman10 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 14:47   #79

Looks really boring IMHO and will be a market Dud in our country.
The only way VW can make a comeback is if they make more blingy cars and also add loads of features. The feature bit they have addressed recently with the facelifts of the Polo and Vento but the designs remain a problem in our scenario. I love their cars and believe they're better than what the koreans and japs offer but the fact remains people in India love Aggressive/Fluidic designs. VW makes more classical designs.
nik_kapur is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 16:39   #80

The Octy and Jetta barely sell 500 units combined with various engine options.

The Golf could be just something that the Indian car market might actually accept with the likes of Jazz, Baleno and Polo.

A nice 1.4TSI engine with a manual and DSG option as well as the 1.5L and 2.0TDI engine priced in between the Vento and Jetta fills up a huge gap in this segment.

Earlier the Corolla, Laura and old Jetta were between 12-19 lakhs on road Bangalore. Right now the Vento maxes out at around 14 lakhs on road and the Jetta starts at 18 lakhs till 25 lakhs.

Between the top end Vento 1.5TDI DSG and the base model Jetta there is a huge gap for anyone to consider an upgrade.

Why not plug that gap with a Golf? The Jetta is perfect for the chauffeur driven and those who will use the boot a lot. But for someone who keeps a 2 car garage, the Golf will appeal to them for self drive.

VW is just too slow and it looks like they also don't want to take a risk or experiment.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 27th November 2015 at 22:09.
Vid6639 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 16:53   #81

My Volkswagen sources confirm that the Golf is not in Volkswagen India's launch plans for the next two years at least.

All energies are being directed right now towards the "Bora" compact sedan (to be unveiled at the 2016 Auto Expo) and after that, the Tiguan SUV will take center-stage in their future planning.
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 19:33   #82

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Golf TSI to be launched here? Spied testing

https://www.facebook.com/POWERDRIFTOFFICIAL
The Golf imported here seem to be the 1.2 TSI,

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-capture.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 27th November 2015 at 19:36.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 19:53   #83

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
The Golf imported here seem to be the 1.2 TSI,

Attachment 1444339
That INR value is quite astronomical for a Golf. Ofcourse it would be the retail price of the Golf in Germany.

Considering the Polo Tsi at 8L, we can approximate Made-in-India Golf at around 12L+.
Is there a market in India for a 14-15L OTR hatch? I think no.
Old 27th November 2015, 20:04   #84

I would have definitely considered Golf if it was available at a slight premium over Vento. Nothing beats the practicality of a hatchback.

Eventually I settled for a Polo TSI as it was the only car in my budget which "blew me away" with its performance.
Old 28th January 2016, 12:59   #85

Re: VW's Polo-based compact sedan. EDIT: Named Ameo!

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further. We request you to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 29th January 2016 at 13:29.
girimajiananth is offline   Received Infraction
Old 28th January 2016, 13:07   #86

Re: VW's Polo-based compact sedan. EDIT: Named Ameo!

I think you have missed this thread and rightly so as its about Polo and not Golf. The answer to your query lies in the post mentioned in the link. Add/Reduce another 2-5 Lac as margin for Exchange Fluctuations, Taxes, Profit Margin, other overheads, etc.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3899060

Last edited by GTO : 29th January 2016 at 13:29. Reason: Quoted post deleted, thanks
Old 19th March 2016, 09:41   #87

Thanks to Amol Chamle for sharing these pictures! VW continues to test the Golf in India.

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-20160317_120339.jpg

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-20160317_120544.jpg

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-20160317_120551.jpg

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-20160317_120557.jpg

SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-20160317_120611.jpg
GTO is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 30th March 2016, 12:44   #88

Now that we have the S-cross at the 10+ price range, this would be a lovely competitor to the S-cross albeit in the petrol form. Best option if you want an extra premium hatch/cross over
motorhead16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2016, 16:53   #89

Does anyone have any idea whether Golf would be launched in India ? I have just seen this testing pics and nowhere we have seen any news of the car going to be launched in India . Also VW@auto expo there was no showcase of Golf while all the other products were showcased .
Old 17th June 2016, 15:04   #90

Spotted a Golf in Pune, although it's a pretty old model but was certainly excited to see and could only click one picture as i was driving.
Getting fascinated by this car, had seen them in plenty while i was in Berlin, and thought it to be a counterpart of POLO then. Hope VW plans to launch this in India sooner, i am sure its gonna sell well.
SCOOP : VW Golf Spotted Testing In Pune, India-golf.jpg  

ashishmathur14 is offline   (1) Thanks