Old 12th July 2013, 13:24   #1

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi

Link to News Section

Even as Mercedes Benz India has lined up the facelifted E-Class E63 AMG for an Indian launch in the coming weeks, Audi India has beaten its competitor and compatriot to the post by launching the high performance S6 sports sedan in the country. The 2013 Audi S6 is priced at 85.99 lakh rupees, ex-showroom Delhi. The car is a high performance saloon that combines the comfort of the Audi A6 with the sporty characteristics associated with the S-badge.

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi-audi-s6-saloon-1.jpg

The Audi S6 features a 4 liter V8 engine that comes with twin turbochargers and direct injection technology. Good for 420 Bhp-550 Nm, this motor is a downsized version of the 5.2 liter V10 that's found on the Audi R8 supercar. Apart from downsizing, Audi has also given the 4 liter V8 motor cylinder deactivation technology. The cylinder deactivation technology turns off four cylinders of the V8 motor under low load conditions to conserve fuel.

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi-audi-s6-saloon-2.jpg

This technology, along with Start-Stop and brake energy regeneration, mean that the Audi S6 returns good fuel economy numbers despite its focus on out-and-out performance. Claimed fuel economy numbers for the S6 are over 10 Kmpl in the US testing cycle. The 4 liter V8 TFSI engine is mated to a seven speed dual clutch S-Tronic automatic gearbox that transmits torque to all four wheels of the S6 through the Quattro all wheel drive system.

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi-audi-s6-saloon-3.jpg

The 0-100 Kph run is achieved in 4.8 seconds while top speed is an electronically limited 250 Kph. Designed to look like a wolf in sheep's clothing, the Audi S6's exterior changes comprise of the S badge, chrome and aluminium inserts on the front grille, quad exhaust tips, taller 19 or 20 inch alloy wheels and low profile tyres. Sport suspension comes standard on the S6. A self locking center differential and torque vectoring are also standard on the S6.

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi-audi-s6-saloon-4.jpg

A sport differential can be specified as an option. On the inside, S-badging dominates proceedings with aluminum inserts, sporty pedals, a leather steering wheel and sporty seats. The car, imported through the completely built unit (CBU) route, will be sold through all Audi India dealers. The S6 is the second high performance car launch from Audi India in recent times as the German car maker just launched the RS5 on the 2nd of July.

Note from Support: A short Official Drive report added to Page.2- Link: Audi S6 Driven on Buddh International F1 Track

Last edited by .anshuman : 21st July 2013 at 13:09. Reason: Link added
JayPrashanth is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 13:29   #2

Re: Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi

An A4 costs aprox 32 Lakhs ex-showroom, the S4 (which is also CBU) when launched was about 45L ex showroom making it cost aprox 40% more than the normal A4s

Likewise if we consider an average A6 costing aprox 45L Ex-showroom and adding say 40% more money, the S6 should be worth no more than 65L ex-showroom.

Sadly this kind of math never seems to work with these German CBU's
karan561 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 14:10   #3

I think the pricing is not as bad as I expected. The 65L suggested price tag is not justified because thats almost how much the top of the line 3L A6 costs.

Since there is no RS6 Sedan, this car would be regarded as somewhat competitor to the M5 and E63AMG that are priced much higher. In that comparison the pricing is alright. They should have kept it in the mid to late 70s to get more takers.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 14:40   #4

If this car is fully loaded, and you don't have to add a few more lacs for options, I'd say this is a pretty damn good price after all the duty hikes and the rupee depreciation. It will be about 1cr on road, which makes its much more affordable than the M5 and E63, which are not direct competitors, but in India they are competitors nonetheless.

Also its got great mod potential, with just a remap it can be putting out 500 odd horses.
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 15:05   #5

Pretty neutral pricing IMHO! Neither has it got blockbuster pricing like the Volvo S60 T6 nor it has got outrageous pricing like the Porsche Boxster which is 80 odd lakhs ex-showroom (highly, utterly expensive). 420 horses this side of crore seem to be good when you compare it to the F-Type which is 375 horses at ₹1.35 crore. To add to it, it also has 4-seats and a usable boot which should end at 1 crore on-road. Moreover, in typical Audi fashion, you get loads of options to exploit your bank balance and a pure luxury interior. I wouldn't call this pricing insane, infact it's good when you compare it to it's nearest competitors in India, namely the BMW M5 and the soon-to-be-launched Mercedes E AMG. Obviously, this segment is still niche and devoid of many takers but if I had spare 1 crore lying in my bank account and wanted to be different from the crowd, I won't mind spending money for this. I just wonder if this has that utmost important good-to-drive feeling and dynamics to rival an M5!

Keep revvin'
S@ndy

Last edited by S@ndy : 12th July 2013 at 15:07.
Old 12th July 2013, 15:06   #6

The interiors are awesome, Audi should have given a more exciting alloy design, if this is the one that they are offering. The design shown in the regular A6 ads(of course) look better than this.
Old 12th July 2013, 20:42   #7

Wow ! Nice specs and a neat looking car. But 85 lacs ex-showroom ? Are you kidding me Audi ? For that price, anyone would go for a better looking car even if it means compromising on bhp. I wonder what's the main competition for this car ? The only names that come to my mind is the m5. And the m5 is well above 1.2 cr right ?
Old 13th July 2013, 02:52   #8

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
If this car is fully loaded, and you don't have to add a few more lacs for options.
It definitely wouldn't be fully loaded nor will the options be cheap. Although these CBU performance cars are highly customizable you are pretty much stuck with what the dealer ordered. Hence you often pay for things you might not need or things that they claim are standard options as per Pre order.
For instance I'm sure every S6 will be with the LED headlamps options but they will charge you for it. Things like adaptive drive, mmi high,reverse camera etc will all be extras costing over a few Lakhs each.
Likewise in the S4 even the flat bottom steering is a charged options!

Car makers need to give these CBUs are decent standard kit level for the base price!!
Old 13th July 2013, 04:06   #9

Very nice! Wow, but the price is near double that here in the US.

I think it looks fantastic in the Estoril Blue colour with the Lunar seats.
Old 13th July 2013, 13:55   #10

Here is Autocar INDIA review of the S6: http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/3...t-drive.aspx/1

I was wrong in hoping every S6 would be fitted with the LED headlamps, seems like the test car was not !

Their verdict is as expected, great car but not as aggressive as the M5 or E63 AMG. I guess only the RS versions in the Audi stable match that peak. When I test drove the S4 too I felt it needed to be more aggressive and loud.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2013, 19:19   #11

Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
Very nice! Wow, but the price is near double that here in the US.

I think it looks fantastic in the Estoril Blue colour with the Lunar seats.
The pricing is as expected then, if not better.
Lovely looking car though.
Old 13th July 2013, 20:25   #12
PPS

Originally Posted by avira_tk View Post
Audi should have given a more exciting alloy design, if this is the one that they are offering.
Completely agree with you! They should have just plonked these delicious alloys from the Avant.

Audi S6 priced at 85.99 lakhs, ex-Delhi-s6.jpg
Old 13th July 2013, 20:26   #13

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Completely agree with you! They should have just plonked these delicious alloys from the Avant.

Attachment 1109930
The car wouldn't make it over Peddar road to customers houses from the showroom on the 21" rims
Old 13th July 2013, 20:42   #14
PPS

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
The car wouldn't make it over Peddar road to customers houses from the showroom on the 21" rims
True that. Considering the facelifted RS5 launched last month came with 20" rims standard i was hoping they go one up on that with the S6.

Last edited by PPS : 13th July 2013 at 20:43.
Old 13th July 2013, 20:46   #15

Originally Posted by PPS View Post

Attachment 1109930
This is the RS6 hence the better alloys.
Audi should seriously consider an RS6 sedan to really take on the M5 and E63