Old 1st September 2017, 20:45   #301

Re: The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh

Originally Posted by sunny310c View Post
This price hike will certainly dent the sales of the big Germans.
======
@84.monsoon, how's the car buddy?
Even if we booked. Cars aint there and not billed for the the showroom. So it doesn't help either.
Old 21st September 2017, 16:06   #302

Received the new prices from my dealer. 530D price has gone up by a whopping 4 lacs in Mumbai. Now costs 77 lacs on road Mumbai (individual).

Wasn't it like just a couple of years ago that we could get a 7 series or a S class for around 80 lacs.
manishk123 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st September 2017, 17:32   #303

Originally Posted by manishk123 View Post

Wasn't it like just a couple of years ago that we could get a 7 series or a S class for around 80 lacs.
They have always been around a crore or more OTR even with the previous generation's initial launch. The facelifts were even more but even after hefty discounts would come around a crore OTR in MH.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2017, 19:01   #304

These cars with very high import content should actually cost 10-12% less when compared to 6 months ago. . The rupee has strengthened by more than 12% versus the Euro since April this year. But our luxury car manufacturers keep all that extra profit in their pocket. But if the rupee ever weakens by even 2%, they are quick to pass on a price increase immediately.
84.monsoon is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2017, 11:29   #305

Hey Moderators, why isn't the review of the 5 series still not out ? Its really taking a long time.
Old 22nd September 2017, 12:03   #306

Originally Posted by manishk123 View Post
Received the new prices from my dealer. 530D price has gone up by a whopping 4 lacs in Mumbai. Now costs 77 lacs on road Mumbai (individual).

I got a quote from Cochin dealer with Ex showroom price of 63.80 post cess hike. F10 530D M Sport was priced 59.64 lakhs in July 2014, 59.90 lakhs in July 2015, 62 lakhs in July 2016 and 61.90 in July 2017 (G30). Where's the so called GST benefit?
nishad.hameed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2017, 14:46   #307

Originally Posted by nishad.hameed View Post
I got a quote from Cochin dealer with Ex showroom price of 63.80 post cess hike. F10 530D M Sport was priced 59.64 lakhs in July 2014, 59.90 lakhs in July 2015, 62 lakhs in July 2016 and 61.90 in July 2017 (G30). Where's the so called GST benefit?
How did you get all these figures? Is there a website that has historic pricelists for every model sold in India?
Old 22nd September 2017, 16:34   #308

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
How did you get all these figures? Is there a website that has historic pricelists for every model sold in India?
This is from my own records. I had taken quotations in all these dates and had to settle with pre-owned vehicles. Finally I booked machine with Cochin dealer @ 63.80 Lakhs
nishad.hameed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2017, 18:14   #309

BMW's revised price list post Cess Hike is out (attached). They have managed to contain price hikes on 5-series cars to about Rs. 2 Lakhs (around 4% for the Sportline). Very reasonable I would say, they started off with a compelling price for the Sportline versions and have kept the increases marginal to retain their competitive position vis-a-vis the E200/E220D.
File Type: pdf 605 BMW Models Price List 1 W.PDF (569.0 KB, 531 views)
84.monsoon is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2017, 23:12   #310

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
BMW's revised price list post Cess Hike is out (attached). They have managed to contain price hikes on 5-series cars to about Rs. 2 Lakhs (around 4% for the Sportline). Very reasonable I would say, they started off with a compelling price for the Sportline versions and have kept the increases marginal to retain their competitive position vis-a-vis the E200/E220D.
Thanks Bro. Been looking out for this. Now time to wait for my car delivery if they get the kits into India.
Old 23rd September 2017, 16:34   #311

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
They have always been around a crore or more OTR even with the previous generation's initial launch. The facelifts were even more but even after hefty discounts would come around a crore OTR in MH.
My neighbour managed to get an older gen 730D for 80 lacs when the new one was just launched. Another cousin got a Jaguar XJL for 76 lacs in Pune around 2.5 years ago. Didn't mean to say that official prices were that low.

Last edited by manishk123 : 23rd September 2017 at 16:47.
manishk123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 21:11   #312

Guys, thought of updating my experience, though on a different vehicle, but with the same B570 engine. This is totally different from the earlier generation and needs to be experienced. Anyone who is thinking of buying something in this segment or lower due to costs, famous proverbial holds good - beg, borrow or steal, but BUY 6 cylinder. It pulls as if it's an M engine, have a look, 120 Kmph at 1500 Rpm, don't know how BMW has done it, I think on old 5 series we do 100-110 at 1500 Rpm which was great but taking this even further and the way it pulls from 120 to unmentionable speeds can only be experienced

All this with fuel economy that may shame a Maruti, I did 300 km at 120 kmph and above with an overall mileage of over 15
The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-1.jpeg  

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-2.jpeg  

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 26th September 2017 at 07:22. Reason: Removing mention of speeding. Please refrain. Thanks!
Turbanator is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 26th September 2017, 04:46   #313

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh

👏 That is really cool! The 530i petrol does 120 kph at about 1750 rpm, but 1500 rpm for that kind of speed is so unimaginably relaxed. Clearly the 530D is superior in power and torque, with 600+NM and a Flat torque curve that starts very early.
Old 26th September 2017, 11:32   #314

updating my experience, though on a different vehicle, but with the same B570 engine
Clearly the 530D is superior in power and torque,
Sorry, I should have been more clear, these are from 730-D, but since engine & transmission are comon, so end results should be same or even better due to lower weight of 530-D.

Last edited by Turbanator : 26th September 2017 at 11:38.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2017, 12:18   #315

Sorry, I should have been more clear, these are from 730-D, but since engine & transmission are comon, so end results should be same or even better due to lower weight of 530-D.
15 kmpl? Maybe you route was downhill

RPM vs Speed is decided by gear ratios and wheel diameter. So if the car has bigger wheels and economy-oriented final gear ratio, it is possible to achieve lower RPM and not necessarily it is an engine characteristic. I don't mean to say the engine is not better but there could be other contributing factors.