Old 27th April 2015, 03:21   #106

Re: Why 2015 Mustang sports car makes sense for the Indian Auto enthusiast - A fanboy’s ta

Originally Posted by Shivjeet View Post
1 cr for the 2.3 ecoboost makes no sense at all. I'd rather import the GT V8 from the UK. Its for 33,000 £ in the UK and even if you triple that, it will touch 1 cr.
Yup an import would cost less than a purchase from Ford India if charged 1cr so its highly unlikely!
Old 27th April 2015, 11:50   #107

Re: Why 2015 Mustang sports car makes sense for the Indian Auto enthusiast - A fanboy’s ta

1 cr for the 2.3 ecoboost makes no sense at all. I'd rather import the GT V8 from the UK. Its for 33,000 £ in the UK and even if you triple that, it will touch 1 cr.
Saif Ali Khans car which was brought by a dealer in the early 2000's costed him 1 cr plus then.

Originally Posted by johannskaria View Post
Yup an import would cost less than a purchase from Ford India if charged 1cr so its highly unlikely!
Well assuming it does cost cheaper than what Ford India sells the car, The direct import will hold no warranties from Ford India. Which means anything goes wrong, pay the full bill at ford or then go to an imported car mechanic to get it fixed.
Old 27th April 2015, 13:45   #108

re: Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs

Nope its even cheaper, the 2.3 Ecoboost is £29k in the UK, its the V8 that's £33k. That's some pricing especially considering UK's heavy duties/taxes on out of EU imports. Therefore I find it highly unlikely that the Mustang will be anywhere near a crore when it reaches India. To get an idea the Mustang's starting price in the US is less than half that of the basic Boxter.

I believe the Mustang will be priced about 65lacs if not less!

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
Saif Ali Khans car which was brought by a dealer in the early 2000's costed him 1 cr plus then.
Didn't he have a GT 500, which then underwent an expensive RHD conversion job (the previous Mustang was LHD only), therefore it wont be surprising if it was close to a crore.
Old 27th April 2015, 13:58   #109

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
Nope its even cheaper, the 2.3 Ecoboost is £29k in the UK, its the V8 that's £33k. That's some pricing especially considering UK's heavy duties/taxes on out of EU imports. Therefore I find it highly unlikely that the Mustang will be anywhere near a crore when it reaches India. To get an idea the Mustang's starting price in the US is less than half that of the basic Boxter.

I believe the Mustang will be priced about 65lacs if not less!

Didn't he have a GT 500, which then underwent an expensive RHD conversion job (the previous Mustang was LHD only), therefore it wont be surprising if it was close to a crore.
Shortbread, we live in India and not the UK or America, so the whole process is completely different. When my family got the California in London, it costed about Rs 85 Lakhs, the same car in India then was at the 2 cr plus range.

Audi TT and the Mustang at the same price highly unlikely. The 4cyl i estimate would be in the CLA 45 AMG range.

Both the GT 500's were converted (mind you not by Ford, or official dealerships) in Dubai. The cost was not close to a crore, it was above it, around 1.5 mark.
Old 27th April 2015, 14:44   #110

Well assuming it does cost cheaper than what Ford India sells the car, The direct import will hold no warranties from Ford India. Which means anything goes wrong, pay the full bill at ford or then go to an imported car mechanic to get it fixed.
Agreed. Warranty is a risk, though I would guess a few people would be willing to take that risk once the car has sold enough numbers in UK to ensure no design flaws are found.

However, even if you buy from dealership, parts availability and price would be high considering everything needs to be imported.
zenren is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2015, 14:51   #111

Shortbread, we live in India and not the UK or America, so the whole process is completely different. When my family got the California in London, it costed about Rs 85 Lakhs, the same car in India then was at the 2 cr plus range.

Audi TT and the Mustang at the same price highly unlikely. The 4cyl i estimate would be in the CLA 45 AMG range.
If the premiums are more than eye popping then it does make lot of sense to maintain the car at a very good mechanic with parts imported from UK!
The dealership bills are not going to be small amounts by any chance!
Obviously I won't be preferring it , but still i would seriously consider if there are the economic benefits.

Lets get the facts right.
A Ferrari California retails approximately for the following prices :-

U.K - ₤ 153,000 - Rs 1,48,00,000/-
U.S - $ 199,000 - Rs 1,27,00,000/-
Ind - - Rs 2,20,00,000/-

Even if you go by the rule of thumb that the prices of the exotics in India are twice the retail prices of U.S or U.K it would be safe to assume that Ford in India will/can most likely price at or around 60 lakhs give or take 10 lakhs.

Now the Audi TT retails around $44,000 - Rs 28,00,000
₤,34,000 - Rs 33,00,000 &
Merc CLA 45 AMG for $ 48,500 - Rs 31,00,000
₤42,000 - Rs 40,55,000

Even with premiums the EcoBoost Mustang can be priced comfortably near to Audi TT and the V8 dangerously near the Merc CLA 45 AMG!
It's gonna be a win win for us!

Last edited by johannskaria : 27th April 2015 at 14:52.
johannskaria is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2015, 15:08   #112

First of congratulations on the California, I have only sat in a Ferrari once and it was a wonderful experience.

But, I cannot understand the Rs.85 lac valuation, because if true you got a Ferrari at nearly half price.

The Cali starts at £150k + in the UK as far as I am aware. It is an EU import so the duties/taxes wont be as hefty as a US car, nonetheless as per current currency valuations a UK Cali equates to close to 1.5 crores and not 85 lacs.

Again you are very wrong I am afraid.

In the UK, the base Audi TT which is a German/EU import (thus lower duty/tax than a US import, sorry to sound repetitive) costs £29.8 k, while the 2.3 Ecoboost Mustang costs 29k.

Yes I know, it sounds ridiculous but the Ford Mustang is cheaper than a base TT. I know which I would rather have.

Now to make this even more ridiculous,

The 435 bhp V8 is just £33k, white the tarted up TT S model with 300 horses costs £39k!

Shocking I know, that a V8 Ford Mustang is much cheaper than a 4 cyl TT in the 'SAME' foreign market.

The CLA AMG is £40k+,making it appalling VFM

Both the GT 500's were converted (mind you not by Ford, or official dealerships) in Dubai. The cost was not close to a crore, it was above it, around 1.5 mark.
The GT500 is almost twice the price of the base Mustang if I'm not mistaken, plus the conversion costs. I wont be surprised by the hefty price tag but the standard factory line version is much more affordable and reliable.
Old 27th April 2015, 15:13   #113

Originally Posted by zenren View Post
Agreed. Warranty is a risk, though I would guess a few people would be willing to take that risk once the car has sold enough numbers in UK to ensure no design flaws are found.

However, even if you buy from dealership, parts availability and price would be high considering everything needs to be imported.
There are many who can get the car down directly, but still have not. In both cases the parts would be imported, but the question of skilled people to do the job is the issue. please do remember there are only two New shape Mustangs in India. The cost would be higher, but for someone buying a car at a higher price is mental peace at a dealership.

Originally Posted by johannskaria View Post
If the premiums are more than eye popping then it does make lot of sense to maintain the car at a very good mechanic with parts imported from UK!
The dealership bills are not going to be small amounts by any chance!
Obviously I won't be preferring it , but still i would seriously consider if there are the economic benefits.
Even with premiums the EcoBoost Mustang can be priced comfortably near to Audi TT and the V8 dangerously near the Merc CLA 45 AMG!
It's gonna be a win win for us!
The dealer service bill even for smaller cars are not cheap, as that is where they make their money, so for someone who has bought a car worth a crore, knows his bill is going to be high. If you talk of parts..UK is not the best place to shop for a Mustang.

Sir i really don't understand why you keep compering UK prices with Indian Prices. My families Maserati GC costed 1.65 or 1.75 in India and directly imported by us. This was around 2007 or 2008.

The Audi TT in India is 60 lakhs ex showroom delhi. The CLA 45 AMG is in the 90 lakhs region.

Lets just wait for Ford India to make its announcement and release a price.

Last edited by Technocrat : 1st May 2015 at 02:54. Reason: Please quote selectively as a large quoted post causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
Old 27th April 2015, 15:42   #114

One thing is for sure that if the mustang retails around 60lacs then it'll make a lot of people a lot happier. In recent times though a lot of cars have disappointed (me atleast) with there pricing.
Look at CLA45 AMG, should have been priced around 50-60lacs but retails for 90, one would rather put in 10-15 extra and get a proven performer like a M3 or M5, another car that disappointed me a lot was the Macan, a baby suv for 1cr, that's insane, I was quite bemused when it was speculated to debut around 70-80lacs.

A lot of cars are over priced in our country but such exorbitant pricing like the cla45 or the macan is insane. Lets just hope that the Mustang comes at a price which is affordable by many not a few.
Old 27th April 2015, 16:04   #115

please do remember there are only two New shape Mustangs in India.

You mean the 2015 Mustang? I had no clue that they're already in India. Can you please tell us about specs and which cities?
Old 27th April 2015, 16:15   #116

Originally Posted by Vikram_agg View Post
Just read in May's autocar issue that the mustang will debut at 1cr, that's the price for the lowest spec'd mustang, the 2.3L v6 eco-boost. They generally are not far from the exact price but will have to wait till it's launched.

PS: would love it and probably buy it, IF it's launched around 60L (unlikely though)
First of all eco-boost is not a V6 . Eco boost is strictly a 4 banger. And the pricing is totally OFF. It will and should be priced around 50 Lakh for the Eco Boost. The 5.0 litre around 75-80 Lakhs is more realistic.

If prices are going to be more than this , we can just get it from UK and pay the taxes in India, I'm sure it will work out a lot cheaper.

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post

Again you are very wrong I am afraid.

In the UK, the base Audi TT which is a German/EU import (thus lower duty/tax than a US import, sorry to sound repetitive) costs £29.8 k, while the 2.3 Ecoboost Mustang costs 29k.

The 435 bhp V8 is just £33k, white the tarted up TT S model with 300 horses costs £39k!

Shocking I know, that a V8 Ford Mustang is much cheaper than a 4 cyl TT in the 'SAME' foreign market.
Mustangs are usually known for their very good performance to price value proposition at least in the US. If they are going to price it close to the German sport sedans in India, what is the point of releasing it here ?

A lot of cars are over priced in our country but such exorbitant pricing like the cla45 or the macan is insane. Lets just hope that the Mustang comes at a price which is affordable by many not a few.
So true , I guess everyone remembers what happened to the Evolution from Mitsubishi once it's price was announced in India. Ford can probably learn a lesson from that at least.

We know it's a Halo car , but if Ford can price it reasonably well compared to the German sports cars in India, who knows , it may just sell much more ( with nuts like us ready to spend for it )

Last edited by Technocrat : 1st May 2015 at 02:55. Reason: Please quote selectively as a large quoted post causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
Old 29th April 2015, 11:15   #117

Look at CLA45 AMG, should have been priced around 50-60lacs but retails for 90, one would rather put in 10-15 extra and get a proven performer like a M3 or M5, another car that disappointed me a lot was the Macan, a baby suv for 1cr, that's insane, I was quite bemused when it was speculated to debut around 70-80lacs.

One would have to put more then 10-15 to get a M3-M4 and even more to get a M5. Macan is 1 cr plus for the base car, the turbo goes in the 1.5 range.

Thats a dream to think the car would be affordable by many..companies are here to milk the public and not get milked themselves.

You mean the 2015 Mustang? I had no clue that they're already in India. Can you please tell us about specs and which cities?
No Sir, not the 2015 models but the 2007/08 models. The Black one is in the south and the red one is in Bombay. Pictures of both cars are on the forum.
Old 29th April 2015, 12:06   #118

Then I think milking has gone terribly wrong, haven't seen a single macan on delhi roads and m3, m4 and m5 have been in negligible numbers.

Yes these cars are not supposed to sell in big numbers but negligible numbers is also something that these brands don't expect.

If these brands want to milk people then they should stop shocking them with exorbitant prices. Nobody expects the prices to be reasonable but they should be achievable by a larger demographic.
Old 30th April 2015, 23:30   #119

Then I think milking has gone terribly wrong, haven't seen a single macan on delhi roads and m3, m4 and m5 have been in negligible numbers.
A friend of mine bought a Macan in Vijayawada at launch. Not just it's price but I know that the vehicle was severely supply constrained when it was launched. I hope it isn't the case anymore.

Last edited by Technocrat : 1st May 2015 at 02:56. Reason: Please quote selectively as a large quoted post causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
Old 1st May 2015, 10:55   #120

Seeing a Mustang itself will be like a dream for many. Can't compare it to the luxury brands. Altogether different animals. But yes, now that Mustang in India is confirmed, waiting for the dream to come true - test driving one at least!