Old 1st May 2015, 12:52   #121

Just a thought... Better to not bring the car here at all than to release it at 1 crore.

The German manufacturers have always priced anything that's remotely "performance" at such a premium that it becomes unreachable to anyone except the 1%.

The beauty of the Mustang, the Camaro and the Charger is that they are middle class performance. A regular guy can actually buy those cars and enjoy tuning and driving them.
If you price them at prices equivalent to halo cars like the M3 and M4, then honestly they betray their raison d'etre.
sleepyk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th May 2015, 18:38   #122

re: Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs

First proper RHS Mustangs review by Autocar!
And its thumbs up for V8.

Ford Mustang Fastback 5.0 V8 review (link here)

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-fm.jpg

Ford Mustang Fastback 2.3 EcoBoost review (link here)

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-fm2.jpg

Last edited by johannskaria : 6th May 2015 at 18:55.
johannskaria is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2015, 23:10   #123
MAS

I had been to MPL Ford service centre for 90K kms service of my Fiesta. While, the service was quick, efficient resulting in my car running like new, the news about Mustang got me excited.

I was told by a highly connected person at the service centre that Ford has already started investments in their plants in Chennai and Gujarat. Training on Mustang has already begun and technicians from Chennai plant are at Sanand for this purpose.

The person also added that the New Endeavour will be launched in 2 months and it will tip the 30 Lakh mark.

I may not end up buying the Mustang, but it will be great to test-drive a muscle car on Indian roads.

Last edited by MAS : 7th May 2015 at 23:26.
MAS is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th May 2015, 07:16   #124

As per autocars May edition, Mustang is pipped at 1Cr price point!!!! :banghead: I hope the news is mere speculation and Ford honchos bring in at competitive pricing.
Source of the image - Auto car India magazine, May 2015 edition.
Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-1431049444391.jpg  

Old 12th May 2015, 12:23   #125

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
As per autocars May edition, Mustang is pipped at 1Cr price point!!!! :banghead: I hope the news is mere speculation and Ford honchos bring in at competitive pricing.
Source of the image - Auto car India magazine, May 2015 edition.
This article effectively makes our long wait, irrelevant.

The search for an affordable roadster continues.

Unfortunately, the mustang was meeting many Indian needs

a) decent ground clearance.
b) designed and capable of being abused
c) well priced convertibles
d) well priced overall
e) cubic capacity for cheap

Alas!

at 50, or even 60, I would be first in line to book one. at 1 Cr, I and assuming many others, are out of the race.

what a shame!

Even this thread has slowed down after that nugget of information. We can only hope that Ford would realise that the marketshare would shrink by 90% or more, if they bought it in, above 60

- Nucliomaniac
Old 14th May 2015, 17:16   #126

Hoping Ford reads our minds like it read the EcoSport timing and desire!
Till then something to ogle!
(Spoiler :- He gives a for V8 + MT)

Last edited by johannskaria : 14th May 2015 at 17:22.
Old 18th May 2015, 16:04   #127

Ford Mustang Pricing is out;

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-2016fordmustangpricelistpublishedstartsat23800videophotogallery_1.jpg

With the kind of pricing trend of CBU sportscars going i see it priced 3x the value of the US pricing, so that translates to;

Base V6;

US Price: INR 14.9L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 44.9L

Base Ecoboost;

US Price: 15.93L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 47.79L

Base GT V8;

US Price: INR 20.34L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 61.04L

What do you think

Last edited by karan561 : 18th May 2015 at 16:07.
karan561 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th May 2015, 20:22   #128

There's a smile on my face every time I see there's a new post, expecting to see the launch date or something on similar lines. I think ford should open the bookings already to see the response they get. I'm really getting the urge to book one right away :(
Old 23rd May 2015, 15:19   #129

A search on zauba.com reveals that a Ford Mustang GT Premium Fastback has been imported into the country for R&D Purposes.
Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-ford-mustang-zauba.jpg
SwapnilNalavade is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2015, 17:23   #130
//M

Originally Posted by SwapnilNalavade View Post
A search on zauba.com reveals that a Ford Mustang GT Premium Fastback has been imported into the country for R&D Purposes.
Attachment 1373799
This Mustang GT Fastback is currently in the ARAI facility in Pune, I am told.
//M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2015, 14:00   #131

But, the only credible data point is the Autocar scoop on the Mustang being a Crore. Nothing on body types too.

And the way the foreign firms are focussed on India, and on the sub 4 Metre compact sedan, and on the sub 8 lakh SUV, I feel that the 1 Crore pricing for the Mustang may actually be a possibility.

Am slowly giving up on my deep seated desire to get the opportunity to own a reasonably priced, fun convertible or a roadster.

And no the crap A3 convertible doesn't qualify.

- Nucliomaniac
Old 29th May 2015, 10:33   #132

Though its going to be a CBU, 1 Crore would be too exorbitant. It might be 50-60 lakhs IMO.
Sources say that it took 2 hours to clear customs for the pony as people around poured in to get a sneak peek.
Old 29th May 2015, 10:49   #133

OMG guys ! We have had it, prepare your dreams to be shattered as this car is definitely going to cross a CRORE mark

Reason / comparison;

BMW M4 when imported the unit cost was INR 32.03L

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-untitled.jpg

& when launched M4 was finally priced @ 1.25 Crore (ex-showroom)

Now the Mustang is imported at unit cost of INR 35.75L

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-ford-mustang-zauba.jpg

So that should be self explanatory what we can expect

Last edited by karan561 : 29th May 2015 at 10:52.
Old 29th May 2015, 11:04   #134

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post

BMW M4 when imported the unit cost was INR 32.03L

Attachment 1376127

& when launched M4 was finally priced @ 1.25 Crore (ex-showroom)

Now the Mustang is imported at unit cost of INR 35.75L

Attachment 1376122

So that should be self explanatory what we can expect
Another member Shivjeet had a very good explanation. The Mustang has been flown in by air cargo, which probably raises the cost a fair amount. The M4 comes in by sea. So when the Mustang comes in by sea the price will be a fair amount lower. Though I expect the Mustang V8 to still just about cross the crore mark on road.
Old 29th May 2015, 11:18   #135

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Another member Shivjeet had a very good explanation. The Mustang has been flown in by air cargo, which probably raises the cost a fair amount. The M4 comes in by sea. So when the Mustang comes in by sea the price will be a fair amount lower. Though I expect the Mustang V8 to still just about cross the crore mark on road.
AFAIK FCL (20 ft. container) charges aprox 1800-2000 U$ port to port from US to India.

So if we estimate shipping costs to be almost a lakh more than the cost what is in USA then the post which i made here;

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3709545

^ makes the most sense if Ford people are in their "Senses"