Old 30th September 2013, 14:59   #76

Guys any news on when is the launch.. doesn't look like 3rd October is the launch as there is no news with the delarship
Old 30th September 2013, 16:34   #77

Re: VW Vento GT TSI to launch on 3rd October 2013

Originally Posted by vyasachetan View Post
Guys any news on when is the launch.. doesn't look like 3rd October is the launch as there is no news with the delarship
I dont think it will be launched on 3rd October. Skoda is launching Octavia on 3rd October so it is unlikely that VW will steal Octavia's thunder by launching Vento GT TSI.
Old 30th September 2013, 18:35   #78

Impossible to fit a 1.6L TDi engine in a Vento? The current version itself is a 1.6L TDi version.

Did you mean to say something else?
I mis read it. I thought he meant a 1.8L engine whixh doesnt exist in a jetta.

Originally Posted by Mohan Mathew A View Post

I don't know if the 2.0 litre TDI will fit into the Vento, maybe it will, maybe it won't. The experts can, maybe, comment.The 1.6 litre will definitely because the Vento currently uses it.
===============
Maybe VW will not launch it but i still feel sport diesel automatic C segment is a segment which is being missed out by all and VAG is best suited to cater to this segment because of Direct Shift
Superb base trim costs round 1 lac more than the octavia elegance 2.0 dsg. Otr for a superb will deffo be at least 3 to 4 lacs more than the octavia elegance trim ( including discounts) hope i am not mistaken. so I dont think they are wedged closer
Old 30th September 2013, 23:29   #79

This is probably what the Vento will look like when it receives a facelift next year. The Santana is a China specific version of the Vento but i get the feeling that they will use this design as their India facelift. I can be completely wrong though.

I am so confused as to whether i should wait for the facelift or just go in for the TSI DSG launching next week.

Image Source:
http://www.carnovo.com.br/novo-santana/
VW Vento TSI Launched at Rs.9.99 lakhs-novo_santana_2013_01.jpg  

VW Vento TSI Launched at Rs.9.99 lakhs-novo_santana_2013_04.jpg  

VW Vento TSI Launched at Rs.9.99 lakhs-novo_santana_2013_7.jpg  

VW Vento TSI Launched at Rs.9.99 lakhs-novo_santana_2013_051.jpg  

nik_kapur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2013, 01:18   #80

Nope.. thats the euro rapid-equivalent from VW. Based on MQB. Our rapid is based on Polo.
Old 1st October 2013, 10:33   #81

Looks more like a Jetta Facelift?
babhishek is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2013, 11:10   #82

Most definitely looks closer to the Jetta than the Vento. Especially the tail just gives it away...

Last edited by Omtoatom : 1st October 2013 at 11:32.
Omtoatom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2013, 11:41   #83

Originally Posted by dr.surgeon1985 View Post
I mis read it. I thought he meant a 1.8L engine whixh doesnt exist in a jetta.

Superb base trim costs round 1 lac more than the octavia elegance 2.0 dsg. Otr for a superb will deffo be at least 3 to 4 lacs more than the octavia elegance trim ( including discounts) hope i am not mistaken. so I dont think they are wedged closer
How can an ex-showroom price difference of 1 lac result in a OTR price difference of 3 to 4 lacks?

Also ex-showroom mumbai price of Superb Ambition 1.8TSI manual is 19.03. There is easily at least a lakh of discount. Right now we don't know the price of the new Octavia (but will in a few hours). If they price the new Octavia Diesel DSG elegance at 18 lakhs it will be wonderful and i will be happy to be proven wrong.
Old 3rd October 2013, 13:02   #84

Originally Posted by Mohan Mathew A View Post
How can an ex-showroom price difference of 1 lac result in a OTR price difference of 3 to 4 lacks?

Also ex-showroom mumbai price of Superb Ambition 1.8TSI manual is 19.03. There is easily at least a lakh of discount. Right now we don't know the price of the new Octavia (but will in a few hours). If they price the new Octavia Diesel DSG elegance at 18 lakhs it will be wonderful and i will be happy to be proven wrong.
To rephrase my sentence, the Skoda Superb Elegance 1.8 TSI AT costs roughly 24 lacs otr chennai. The expected price of Skoda Octavia Elegance 2.0 TDI dsg is between 22-23 (got from Skoda showroom Chennai). Thats what I meant when I said the base trim costs 1 lac more than the Octavia Elegance dsg. Agreed I should've been more specific as the AT doesnt actually count as the base trim.
The Skoda Superb 2.0 dsg would deffo cost 27 to 28 otr which is a good 4 to 5 lacs more than the expected price of Octavia Elegance 2.0 dsg.
Old 3rd October 2013, 15:08   #85

Any news on the launch? Overdrive tweet this morning said vento tsi and Octavia launch today.
Old 4th October 2013, 10:01   #86

Originally Posted by vyasachetan View Post
Any news on the launch? Overdrive tweet this morning said vento tsi and Octavia launch today.
Got a call from Vinayak Skoda yesterday saying that the Octavia will be available for display and test drive from today ie 04/10. When asked about the variants and 1.4 TSI, he was not sure which all variants would make it to their showroom and will be known only today. May be they are holding the news to generate some anxiety and thereby increase the foot falls.
Old 4th October 2013, 22:58   #87

Hope VW springs a massive surprise and launches the Vento 1.4 tsi with dsg . In any case they seem to be shelving the Jetta as per reports in another thread,
Old 6th October 2013, 09:10   #88

Any news on the launch ?

Originally Posted by JishD View Post
Hope VW springs a massive surprise and launches the Vento 1.4 tsi with dsg . In any case they seem to be shelving the Jetta as per reports in another thread,
Is Jetta being shelved ? Could you please point out the thread. Couldn't find any info regarding it.
Old 6th October 2013, 10:29   #89

Originally Posted by karty_83 View Post
Is Jetta being shelved ? Could you please point out the thread. Couldn't find any info regarding it.
Here you are...

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post3249422

Seems production is stopped till the facelift Jetta is launched next year.
Old 6th October 2013, 13:32   #90

One of my friends had gone to pick up his uncle's polo GT (i don't know if it was the TDi or TSi). At the VW godown he saw the 1.2tsi vento. He confirmed with someone there that it is going to be launched in this week. Lets hope something good actually comes up!
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (1) Thanks