Old 4th October 2006, 06:30   #61

Originally Posted by yeis
Astra is still alive and fetches good resale value if car is of 2002 or later. But Cielo and Escort are not only lost but have no value if you go to sell them off. Saw an ad on some autoportal for 97 Escort 1.8 for just 38k!

Yes, even i sow that ad which you are talking about.... for now. .I'm very much impressed with cielo. what if i buy that and try my luck? we can't able to use some other car's spare to this?

=--
Old 18th April 2007, 13:02   #62

Sorry to bump up an old thread, but I didn't want to open a new thread just to post some pics of a modded Cielo.

This car had come to my installer's place for audio work last week. I met the guy who did the body-work (he'd brought the car over), and apparently this is a bit too radical an example of his work. He generally does not use flashy colors or OTT mods. This car was done as per the customer's (college-going guy) specs. No engine or performance mods. All body-panels are metal, no fibreglass or plastic. The paint-work was due for a final polish the next day, and (wheel) spacers were going in.

The car is too overdone for my taste, but I didn't want to go as far as call it whacky, esp. after meeting the really nice guy who did the mods.

Sorry about the quality of the pics. I used my cell.
Old 18th April 2007, 17:06   #63

Man. if this aint whacky, then nothing ain't. Hydra, you are such a gentleman, I salute you sir.

Those wheels are good though.
Old 18th April 2007, 21:03   #64

Maybe the overall stuff looks whacky (which as Hydrashok points out was based on the college going kids flash requirements) but gotta admit that there is a lot of potential of this modder with respect to the quality of the fabrication of the panels. (Look closely the rear wheel arch has been touched as well). The front bumper though could have been flush with the body on the fenders or narrower than what it is now. But that apart, the fabrication is really good.

How many times we think of some or the other understated mods but cannot execute for the lack of quality fabrication.
Old 18th April 2007, 21:45   #65

In Delhi one gets too see a lot astras and cielos.
Most of them have been converted into lpg or cng because as it is they didnt have a very good fuel efficiency.
Personally i would prefer astra anyday.
Cielos in delhi are available below a lakh. Astras compartively have a higher price.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 18th April 2007 at 22:46.
Old 18th April 2007, 23:00   #66

@ e_l, I saw pics of lots and lots of really well done & understated mods (mostly Lancers) on his laptop that I really don't think he really had much of a choice in this car. Among other current cars, I also saw stage by stage pics of 2 pristine restores of Standard Heralds and a 1940s scooter.

@1100D, you're right. His garage seems to do really good work, going on the pics I saw in his lappie.
Old 19th April 2007, 02:13   #67

Is the guy from cochin.(who did those mods)
Old 21st May 2007, 10:29   #68

What Happened to these cars?

I have been thinking about following cars which made it big a few years back but suddenly there is a silence about these.

- Fiat NE
- Fiat UNO
- Fiat Siena
- Contessa Classic
- Maruti Gypsy
- Amby.

Any comments... as to what happened to them. What lead to the downfall.

Note from moderator : Threads Merged

Last edited by adya33 : 21st May 2007 at 12:34.
Old 21st May 2007, 11:05   #69

Some More

To add on to the list
- Ford Escort
- Ford Mondeo
Old 21st May 2007, 12:32   #70

Padmini NE: Died with the company
Fiat UNO: Long in the tooth upon release itself. Palio made more money to Fiat
Siena: Let down by Fiat
Contessa Classic: Advent of the more efficient Japs killed it. Altho I'm sure HM still will sell you one from their still-born inventory if you ask
Gypsy: Still under production. Made to order. But - you want a 5 kmpl petrol vehicle for city use?
Amby: Still around. Will be for our great-grandchildren's grandchildren
Escort: The contemporary Ikon took care of it
Mondeo: Pay another 5 lakhs and you got a Merc C-class
Old 21st May 2007, 12:33   #71

Originally Posted by i_m_anaconda View Post

I have been thinking about following cars which made it big a few years back but suddenly there is a silence about these.

- Fiat NE - It was Premier 118 NE and the company is shut. just makes the Sigma van.
- Fiat UNO - Discontinued
- Fiat Siena - Discontinued
- Contessa Classic - Still available but better options are also available
- Maruti Gypsy - Seems like they give it only to armed forces. Very capable offroader.
- Amby. - You haven't been to delhi? or Kolkota???

Any comments... as to what happened to them. What lead to the downfall.

Mods: Please move this thread to relevent section if this is not correct section for this.
Apart from these cars, you would still find a lot of other cars which are in a poor state of sale but are very capable and good cars.
Old 12th August 2007, 09:39   #72

Originally Posted by sandeep108 View Post
What about the Standard 2000? One of India's first 'luxury' cars? Our family owned one - not too bad at all - it could do 110 kph, holding the road very well. Of course with it's 55 bhp carb engine and terrible gearbox (but it did have a 5th gear - real novelty), it was not very fun to drive, but compared with the 35 bhp fiats and ambis, it felt quite quick...! The handling, suspension and brakes were great and so were the interiors/instrument panel. And it was quite a huge car, almost accord size, I would think.
Standard 2000 originally(Introduced in India) only had a 4 speed tranny. It had an upgraded vanguard engine, twin carb and failed miserably due to low fuel efficiancy and high price. I used to own one, and later fixed 1.8 isz engine and gear box in it. Its one of the vehicles I have driven in Indian roads which has given me one of the best highway highspeed confidences. The road handling is just tooo excellent. It had that 'gimme mooore' attitude on highways, cud cruize 150+ on coimbatore salem highways.
Old 12th August 2007, 14:35   #73

Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Mondeo: Pay another 5 lakhs and you got a Merc C-class
Mondeo was somewhere 17-18ish on road and the C is approx 28ish on road. So its more by 10 laks.

Mondeo failed coz it had nothing more to offer comparatively apart from being the best handler. Ford have to realise that they could not sell anything which is almost 2 laks more expensive than the then Accord which used to sell for 16ish. and reliability was a big issue with the Mondeo.

Last edited by dipen : 12th August 2007 at 14:37.
Old 12th August 2007, 16:16   #74

Mondeo was somewhere 17-18ish on road and the C is approx 28ish on road. So its more by 10 laks.
At that point of time the C came for around 22lacs OTR. I remember GTO getting his white one for around 20L
Old 13th August 2007, 10:23   #75

i have a opel astra diesel GSI model and it is literally showroom condition after completing 130000km also .it was a limited edition when opel was near its end.
i have a white cielo as well and is run on petrol .as some accidents with it so not a very fine example.
amannarwal is offline   (2) Thanks