Old 12th November 2013, 10:05   #91

Re: Grand i10 Diesel AT - End of a long wait?

Perfect to the point, RSR!

Coming back to the point, if indeed, Grand i10 Diesel AT is launched without safety features (as the current petrol one) then it will be a huge let down. I for one, would opt for the one with safety features than go with convenience! Of course, at the end of the line, Vitamin M has the dictating power. There is a saying in Marathi "One can fake anything he wants in life, but not the money he has!"

I really agree with your point that we should be able to customize the features even in the basic version, one can be happy with the features in Magna version but would want to pay the premium amount to get Airbags or ABS. It's as if the life of a person paying 7.5L for the top end variant is more valuable than a person paying 6.5L for a lower version.

For this attitude all I have to say to the OEM's is same as the Krishna from Mahabharat would say "Swayam vichaar kijiyega"!
teemus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th November 2013, 10:26   #92

Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
Hormazd Sorabjee in this podcast on AutocarIndia website denies that there would be a Grandi10 diesel AT http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-vid...ee-363462.aspx
Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
The Grand i10 Diesel Automatic will be launched on December 5th, as scooped up and reported exclusively by fly-wheel.com. http://fly-wheel.com/scoop-hyundai-g...on-december-5/
I think there should be a lot more attention at this juncture to determine whether this offering is actually coming through or not. Hormazd is a senior auto journalist and he seemed very emphatic that there wouldn't be such a product. Personally I do hope this is incorrect but I think if people with the right connections to try and find out more on this it would be very useful.

In the meantime detailed discussions around MT vs AT, diesel vs petrol automatic etc become blunted and moot.

Fingers crossed, really looking forward to the launch being true.
Axe77 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 12th November 2013, 11:32   #93

I hate this feature tie up of trim levels with safety packages. I strongly feel they should be kept separate. Every trim level should come as is, and there should be a safety package (airbags + ABS + EBD) which the buyer can add to any trim. Off course - this can only be possible when the buyer is ready to wait for sometime, as the car shall then be manufactured to his specs (cars in the dealer lot may not have the desired option pack). Also - a larger upfront payment may be requested by the dealership as the car is being built to user specs and it might be difficult for them to sell it to someone else.
The same is true for transmission types.

If only the above can be implemented we can escape from this issue of AT being offered in lower/higher trims only, thus offending a portion of the buyers.

Last edited by blackasta : 12th November 2013 at 11:34.
blackasta is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th November 2013, 15:38   #94

I for one would not look at power that a machine can deliver, yet would definitely consider if there is a sub-million diesel automatic car for my daily running, and this is something that I expect the manufacturers to consider that for a diesel hatch with auto-box, buyer interest and sales would not be a problem and if I have to believe that Hyundai i10 Grand will soon be available in a diesel auto avatar - I think coming days will tell that other manufacturers who are not considering this as their offerings will soon line up in the market with diesel auto options.

I am in for such a car for myself. It is definitely a good option.

Last edited by i74js : 12th November 2013 at 15:40.
Old 12th November 2013, 17:04   #95

Originally Posted by RSR View Post

Hyundai is set to change all this, thank God! They have always been the pioneers in introducing what the immature Indian market felt as "luxury" or "premium" features in affordable cars, especially hatchbacks.

After the bouquets for Hyundai from me, it's time for brickbats. I'm very annoyed that they haven't launched the Asta(O) trim level on the Grand i10 petrol AT. This is a huge surprise, considering their pioneering record in providing safety features on hatchbacks. I hope they correct this anomaly immediately, and also launch the Grand i10 diesel auto in Asta(O) trim level right from the word go.
This is definitely not expected from a reputed manufacturer like Hyundai, to give safety features a miss. Their AT offerings are a big joke - the i20 AT costs 9.5L and comes with a single airbag, the Grand i10 Asta AT costs 7.3L and forget airbags it doesn't even have ABS. The have handed out the AT market to Honda on a platter, with Brio VX AT being loaded and VFM.

Hyundai was one manufacturer who treated the Indian market on par with the European ones by launching the same products here, but unfortunately they have decided to go the India specific models way, and we have to be content with sub-standard and under kitted products.
Old 12th November 2013, 17:33   #96

Originally Posted by msmatic View Post
This is definitely not expected from a reputed manufacturer like Hyundai, to give safety features a miss. Their AT offerings are a big joke - the i20 AT costs 9.5L and comes with a single airbag, the Grand i10 Asta AT costs 7.3L and forget airbags it doesn't even have ABS. The have handed out the AT market to Honda on a platter, with Brio VX AT being loaded and VFM.

Hyundai was one manufacturer who treated the Indian market on par with the European ones by launching the same products here, but unfortunately they have decided to go the India specific models way, and we have to be content with sub-standard and under kitted products.
I do not agree with few things. But, let me quote few details re Hyundai automatic models:

1. Hyundai Santro Xing Auto was available in XG variant & not the top end XS variant. If it were to be sold in XS variant, it would have easily breached the Rs.5 lacs, on road mark 10 years back in many cities in India.
2. For Verna the Automatic variant missed out the side & curtain airbags with otherwise would land up in Civic/ Corolla territory for the diesel variant.
3. The i20 1.4L Petrol Automatic is available in Sportz variant & yet costs ~ Rs.8 lacs, ex-showroom, i.e. Rs.9 lacs on road in most cities.
4. The recently launched Grand i10 Automatic Asta (not the Asta-O) costs Rs.6.5 lacs +, on road in any city. And, if the diesel automatic variant is brought into consideration, it would cost minimum Rs.6.5 lacs +, ex-showroom for the Sports Variant & Rs.7.25 lacs+, ex-showroom for the Asta variant.

IMO price of the vehicle plays an important factor in decision making at the time of buy, for most buyers & many would refrain for paying the amount for which the safety package costs in the small car. Hence, Hyundai have modified their strategy in India, which is better than, or at worst, in line with most manufacturers selling cars in India.

But, that safety features should be allowed as option so that conscious buyers can opt for these.
Old 12th November 2013, 20:50   #97

IAB reports, – Hyundai Grand i10 Diesel AT does not exist!

A spokesman for the company said there were no plans to make a diesel version of the Grand i10 AT, leave alone firming up a launch date.
http://indianautosblog.com/2013/11/h...variant-103710
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th November 2013, 13:49   #98

http://zeenews.india.com/business/au...nth_88648.html

New Delhi: After launching the automatic version of its compact car Grand i10 in the country, Hyundai Motor is gearing up for the launch diesel version launch.

Reports have it that the diesel automatic will be offered in three variants— Sportz, Asta and Asta.

Reports also have it that the car will be priced Rs one lakh more than the petrol automatic variant. We can expect the diesel version to come at a starting price of around 6.60-6.65 lakh. The car will have teh same 1.1 2nd Gen U2 CRDi Diesel engine.
lurker is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th November 2013, 14:24   #99

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
IAB reports, – Hyundai Grand i10 Diesel AT does not exist!

http://indianautosblog.com/2013/11/h...variant-103710
This is the final nail in the coffin I guess.

But why not? They dont import the diesel enginers nor the auto gear box anymore. So whats the big deal?
Old 18th November 2013, 23:32   #100

With so many conflicting media reports, whether the i10 diesel AT will ever see the light of day is anybody's guess. Plus, there hasn't been a single test mule spotted. Period.

Now, there's another update. Thanks to Mridul Sharma for sharing this information.

The owner's manual of the Grand i10 makes a specific reference to the diesel Automatic. It's found under the heading "starting the diesel engine" and points out the AT gear position to choose when starting.

Considering Hyundai isn't known to make mistakes in printed material, this might just be a dead giveaway. Plus, all the other data on this page is relevant to a turbo-diesel engine. There isn't a doubt that the rumoured i10 diesel AT will create an all-new segment. Currently, the cheapest diesel AT hatchbacks one can buy in India are the Mercedes A-Class & BMW 1-Series.

Grand i10 Diesel AT - End of a long wait?-image00001.jpg
GTO is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 19th November 2013, 10:12   #101

The owner's manual of the Grand i10 makes a specific reference to the diesel Automatic. It's found under the heading "starting the diesel engine" and points out the AT gear position to choose when starting.
Attachment 1168327
I think an owners manual is the least accurate way of figuring out whether an engine/gearbox/feature is going to be added to a car. Most manufacturers make generic owners manuals which include lots of feature and engine options which may or may not be offered in every country. Its quite likely that this is the case for the Grand i10. I think we need to look for better clues like a test mule as a better indicator of an impending launch.

Having said that does Hyundai really have a gearbox for the Grand diesel? I'm sure that they cant plonk in the petrol AT gearbox without extensive modifications to handle the torque characteristics of a diesel engine and the Verna's gearbox might just be too expensive.
Old 19th November 2013, 11:03   #102

Probably an every Indian's dream - a sub 10L AT Diesel car. It is the case of who is going to tie the bell to a cat. If one manufacturer makes this daring move,then the others too would be forced to follow. So there seems to be a syndicate or unity among the manufacturers for not coming up with such a segment.

It is simply because they(manufacturers) treat our market in a very biased and unfair manner. Tho, who ever develops such a product would actually be creating a new segment and could enjoy the fruits till a competition comes up. The best example of this would be the Compact SUV where Duster enjoyed the monopoly success until the Ecosport arrived. I think it is time that they take our market a little more seriously and start giving products that we actually want and not simply dump the crap load they have. End of the day, I would definitely trade in my diesel Figo for an grand i10 AT even if have to pay a couple of lakhs extra.
Old 19th November 2013, 11:06   #103
KPS

Originally Posted by Potenza View Post
I think an owners manual is the least accurate way of figuring out whether an engine/gearbox/feature is going to be added to a car. Most manufacturers make generic owners manuals which include lots of feature and engine options which may or may not be offered in every country. Its quite likely that this is the case for the Grand i10. I think we need to look for better clues like a test mule as a better indicator of an impending launch.

What is say on the manual is true in most cases. But in the case of Grand one has keep in mind that this car is manufactured in India and is newly launched. Currently being sold largely in India. Secondly, if you note, though Europe is a diesel market, there is a very high preference for manual shift. Hence auto Grand for Europe is largely ruled out. This leaves India as probably the biggest market for the Auto diesel should it be launched here.

As you say test mules etc would confirm, but we can only speculate based on what evidence is available.

If this really does happen, it will be a very exciting launch to track

KPS
KPS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2013, 12:48   #104

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
As you say test mules etc would confirm, but we can only speculate based on what evidence is available.

KPS
May be Hyundai ALREADY HAS test mules on road camouflaged under petrol Grand i10 badges. We will never know in that case. The only give-away is black smoke if the driver steps on it.
pgsagar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2013, 14:32   #105

I checked with HMP sales guy, he never said no on the diesel i10 Grand enquiry. He was simply tight lipped and after the conversation, he hung up saying that he will get back to me soon.

I am not sure how to take this - positive, yes a diesel version is going to be there soon or negative, nothing of that sort; well I want to be tight lipped too !