Old 10th July 2007, 21:56   #571

Well the TCIC model took the hit earlier and now its time for the 3.0 ltr, once the 2.2ltr is launched.

Thats the way it works.
Old 11th July 2007, 00:28   #572

Originally Posted by ranc View Post
Dadu

It seems that the 2.2 L will come at the same price points, 3.0 L might take the price point of the 1.9 L TCIC. This is what the source mentioned but you never know, I think its going to be decided more by the scorpio pricing and not by what they think that the price should be.
Its a 2.0 TCIC IIRC
Old 11th July 2007, 09:42   #573

busa : donno why they call it the 2.0L when the engine is actually 1948cc
Old 11th July 2007, 10:28   #574

the "cc" is rounded to the nearest high value and this is true for all vehicles.
Old 11th July 2007, 10:46   #575

i thought its rounded to the nearest value, irrespective of lower or higher
Old 11th July 2007, 11:36   #576

Originally Posted by BunnyPunia View Post
i thought its rounded to the nearest value, irrespective of lower or higher
naaaaa... no one wants to let go of a few cc's of the engine. Image the blasphemy caused by calling a 1948cc engine as 1.9l. what about the remaining 48ccs? on the other hand, it wont harm a lot calling it a 2.0l as there is nothing to lose anyway.
Old 11th July 2007, 15:35   #577

And it will hit new owners/deliveries from now till its launch(if as per source) to an extent of 2-3 lakhs (depending on the model) in its resale value in the seconds market.

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Well the TCIC model took the hit earlier and now its time for the 3.0 ltr, once the 2.2ltr is launched.

Thats the way it works.
Old 31st July 2007, 11:20   #578

This thread is being Reopened because a little birdy has given some new information
From 3 August 07 Safari 3.0 dicor is getting discontinued & production of only 2.2 is going to begin. But all those who have recntly purchased safari 3.0 dont worry as engine is not getting discontinued it will be plonked in Xenon.
The launch is slated somewhere in mid August once old stock is exausted. Some minor changes are there will keep all of you posted for the same.

The Beast is coming....!
Old 31st July 2007, 11:26   #579

Simply Lovely !!! Exactly at the time I am thinking of buying one. Going to wait now for 2-3 weeks to see what happens at Tata showrooms.

Come on Tata - give us a good facelift !!
Old 31st July 2007, 11:33   #580

Brilliant news. This should be one heck of a beast
Old 31st July 2007, 11:38   #581

So the beast will be unleashed soon, lets whip it and make it a workhorse.

It will be good to know, who's planning to buy the first lot ???
Old 31st July 2007, 11:40   #582

I call that timely info, I was about book 3.0L in an hour.

Now let's cross our fingers and hope this is true.
Old 31st July 2007, 11:41   #583

dont worry as engine is not getting discontinued it will be plonked in Xenon.
I am not so sure about this unless tata are planning different engines for the export model and the indian model.Its going to be manufactured in thailand as well shortly with a 2.0/2.2 L diesel engine.Similarly I think the other countries for export also are going to get the 2.0/2.2 L diesel engine.
Old 31st July 2007, 11:42   #584

am angry now...last month when i purchased, i spoke to the sales guy and he told me that there is nothing line for next 6 months, and now this news all of a sudden
Old 31st July 2007, 11:50   #585

Originally Posted by babureddy View Post
am angry now...last month when i purchased, i spoke to the sales guy and he told me that there is nothing line for next 6 months, and now this news all of a sudden
Babu, how do you expect a sales guy to let go of his willing customer.

You should have trusted some outside sources, but not to worry 3.0 ltr will be supported and serviced.

To buy or Not is always a dilemma for immediate buyers under these circumstances when the 2.2ltr was being talking about for more than a year back.

Last edited by dadu : 31st July 2007 at 11:51.