Old 31st July 2007, 20:39   #616

mmmm....so my hunch came out to be true.
i talked to one of the persons I know and asked him about the 3 ltr and new one 2.2 specifically about the phasing out of 3 ltr one and here's what the conversation looked like...

me: kya sir, mujhe 3 ltr kharidwa ke 1 saal mein usse outdate kara rahe ho.?

him: arre nahi boss.. 3ltr is going to be around for some more time (giggle....)

(in my mind I curse him real bad)

me: so whats the plan...will I get the spare parts in time for meri gaadi

him: haan atleast for coming years yes...See.. we are still accepting TCIC model on order basis as its still in demand and we are supporting it. 2.2 and 3 ltr are going to be offered to customers but LX and EX 3ltr will be somewhat made to order like after 6months n beyond

me: so that means it will be subsequently phased out like TCIC...?
him: yes.. but aap chinta mat karo.. humlog hai na aapke liye..
LX and EX will be 2.2 and VX would be 160+VGT 3 ltr engine..so see the point the 3ltr engine would be still around for u to get parts (i can see him smirk some ~@*&*#$)
me: all right ...thanks

challo baat cheet to hogayi.. damn i am in dilema.:( but no regrets as fellow 3.0 ltr dicorians are here along with me
(my personal opinions.....)
Somehow I need to pass my four years degree with my dicor and the day ext warranty is going to expire..ill see off my SUV to a new owner)

I can see a pattern building now..earlier it was indigo...new-indigo...imed-new indigo dicor, then came, XETA.. new (less CC)Xeta and topend XETA (org XETA 75bhp), and 2 yrs back TCIC replaced by DICOR and fully rectified dicor Oct 06 nd improvised dicor march 07...

Now again the same pattern... Dicor LX and EX 3.0 (getting replaced with 2.2) and top end get the much desired VGT 160+bhp whack) then the same some time nxt in two years when the new chassis of safari comein with new fiat engine EuroV.
Old 31st July 2007, 20:41   #617

The new Sumo will have the 3L Dicor and hence phasing it out wont happen in near future
Old 31st July 2007, 20:53   #618

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
Now again the same pattern... Dicor LX and EX 3.0 (getting replaced with 2.2) and top end get the much desired VGT 160+bhp whack) then the same some time nxt in two years when the new chassis of safari comein with new fiat engine EuroV.
Is the 3 Litre VGT (160 bhp) a new Engine, or the current 3 Litre DICOR with a VGT? Anyway, I think I need one of that.
Old 31st July 2007, 20:57   #619

Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
Is the 3 Litre VGT (160 bhp) a new Engine, or the current 3 Litre DICOR with a VGT? Anyway, I think I need one of that.
I think it maybe the current 3ltr with VGT and increased compression ratio to pump out 160BHP and more than 300+ torque more of a fuel guzzler than the current one

Lets see whats tata coming out with
Old 31st July 2007, 20:59   #620

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
I think it maybe the current 3ltr with VGT and increased compression ratio to pump out 160BHP and more than 300+ torque more of a fuel guzzler than the current one

Lets see whats tata coming out with
I doubt. Would be current engine handle that? SHould be for the 2.2L
Old 31st July 2007, 21:31   #621

out 160BHP and more than 300+ torque
The Stock Safari has 300NM, so torque will be around 350NM.

But what he is talking about 160bhp is surely not a diesel engine. Long time on the forum i read a 200BHP 3.0L V6 Safari will be coming. Must be that.
Old 31st July 2007, 21:37   #622

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
The Stock Safari has 300NM, so torque will be around 350NM.
One stock Safari (not mine) will soon be running around with about 140 bhp and 375 nm. No VGT, mind you.

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
But what he is talking about 160bhp is surely not a diesel engine. Long time on the forum i read a 200BHP 3.0L V6 Safari will be coming. Must be that.
It surely is the 3.0 diesel and not the 3.0 'compact V6' thats still under wraps and is allegedly in the region of 220 bhp.

See we really confuse people here. Those that came looking for the 3.0 were told the story of the 2.2. Those that now believe in the 2.2 are being told the story of the 3.0 diesel. Those that believe in the 3.0 diesel will be told to believe in the 3.0 V6 Petrol.

And so on and so forth.
Old 31st July 2007, 21:42   #623

Excatly my state, what is Tata planing to do? Launch 2.2L now and lauch the 3.0L VGT in the X2?

Last edited by BUSA : 31st July 2007 at 21:58.
Old 31st July 2007, 23:58   #624

all DICORians opps BHPians check this out
TATA Italia > prodotti

here specs of new safari are given which is140bhp or 138 hp 320nm torque
and new indica dicor will be launched with 71-72 bhp 140nm torque
motor.
and most important is that 3.0l won't be discontinued(now 90% sure about this).
and 165 bhp motor is still R&D phase.
There are review of new 2.2l safari but were in language that i couldn't understand.

Last edited by overdose14 : 1st August 2007 at 00:01.
Old 1st August 2007, 00:10   #625

Cool, the car is finally here.

but howcome Tata's updates (I mean webpage) always seem to come mainly from their Italian website. When did they become Italian. don't they consider important to divulge info to us???
Old 1st August 2007, 00:38   #626

Originally Posted by indian21r View Post
Cool, the car is finally here.

but howcome Tata's updates (I mean webpage) always seem to come mainly from their Italian website. When did they become Italian. don't they consider important to divulge info to us???
Haa haa haaaa. Nice one. Just like the Kingfisher and somedays back the Jet guys got a blasting from me for feigining to be americans.

No, the fact is although they are launching the vehicle here now, but they started selling these in European markets before that. And hence their website has the details.
Old 1st August 2007, 01:45   #627

Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
No, the fact is although they are launching the vehicle here now, but they started selling these in European markets before that. And hence their website has the details.
Feeling quite happy that they are actually making the Europeans the guinea pigs of their experiments!
Old 1st August 2007, 02:16   #628

Originally Posted by Su-47 View Post
Looks like I've an expertise in picking up cars that are about to go out of production: First, it was the Matiz and now Safari-Dicor (which is barely four months old!) Next time I buy a car, I will make a BIG announcement for everyone's benefit.
Mine is only 3 months old, but I am not regretting my purchase. After all, the car still meets my requirements. At least for another 4 years, Tata folks are supposed to take care of it.
Old 1st August 2007, 10:22   #629

Originally Posted by overdose14 View Post
all DICORians opps BHPians check this out
TATA Italia > prodotti
There are review of new 2.2l safari but were in language that i couldn't understand.
Did u try it translating using Google or Altavista translation.
Coz I read that link after translating from Italian to English, and it worked fine. Anyways please provide the review links.
Old 1st August 2007, 11:36   #630

Originally Posted by THE-U- View Post
Mine is only 3 months old, but I am not regretting my purchase. After all, the car still meets my requirements. At least for another 4 years, Tata folks are supposed to take care of it.
The U, Even I am not regretting! After all, we all knew that 2.2L is imminent when we bought this one.
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
One stock Safari (not mine) will soon be running around with about 140 bhp and 375 nm. No VGT, mind you.
Godfather, are you listening?