Old 2nd August 2007, 13:08   #661

Originally Posted by turbanman View Post
EX and LX to take on Scorpio and Innova and VX with all its bells and whistles to take on the Grand Vitara, Endeavor and Captiva. Just thinking out loud guys so don't pounce.

valid points. But I always thought, Tatas will launch the Crossover to take on the Innova .

Anyways it would be nice to have 2 options on Safari. By the way what could be the price difference between 2.2L and 3.0L
Old 2nd August 2007, 13:29   #662

I could not get what do you mean by old stock & production stop. You mean they ar stopping the production for Safari3.0
Old 2nd August 2007, 13:34   #663

Bruty - As per information YES Safari 3.0 LX & EX production is stopped..... on the VX part nobody is sure..... But the service will be there for 3.0

Tushky.......can you do a favour....

Now the news is out........... so, the testing of the vehicle ( 2.2lt ) will be very rigorous as they have to launch in by this month end or next month........

If possible can you try to locate this vehicle & get some more pictures....Everybody knows that u can do.....All the best..
Old 2nd August 2007, 13:56   #664

Spoke to 2 dealers in HYD.

1st One Malik Motors -- He told me that the 2.2 vehicle will be launched around Nov-Dec-Jan period.

2nd One Concorde -- Far saner executive this side. He told me that the vehicle will come in Sept-Oct. He confirmed that he too has heard that 3.0 production is to stop in this week and Tata will start pushing out 2.2. The company he said will try and finish the 3.0 stock before launching the 2.2. He also told me that there may be some difference in price, the 2.2 may be a bit more costly. He further said that from what he has heard the VX will get wood finish interiors and all models to get different looking headlamps than the one currently.

Will keep this thread updated with more info as and when available.
Old 2nd August 2007, 14:00   #665

Originally Posted by bruty View Post
I could not get what do you mean by old stock & production stop. You mean they ar stopping the production for Safari3.0
Yes, as mentioned earlier in the thread, the 3.0L engine productin will stop by 3rd August and 2.2L engine production will start.

Now to launch 2.2L they need to exhaust their 3.0L engine stocks. If it happens tomorrow, they will launch 2.2L tomorrow else everyone will have to wait. Speculation is by end aug/begining Sep.

Last edited by dadu : 2nd August 2007 at 14:02.
Old 2nd August 2007, 14:29   #666

Originally Posted by kdeepakk View Post
Tushky.......can you do a favour....

Now the news is out........... so, the testing of the vehicle ( 2.2lt ) will be very rigorous as they have to launch in by this month end or next month........

If possible can you try to locate this vehicle & get some more pictures....Everybody knows that u can do.....All the best..
Come on Tushky do Pune Proud!!! Get us 'em pics!!!
Old 2nd August 2007, 15:09   #667

Still have some doubts of exhausting the present stock..........

The news of 2.2 has spread like a fire & everybody knows it will be launched in a months time.........

Now who will buy the 3.0, when they know they are getting a better engine (might be) better interiors etc.
Old 2nd August 2007, 15:21   #668

Still have some doubts of exhausting the present stock..........

The news of 2.2 has spread like a fire & everybody knows it will be launched in a months time.........

Now who will buy the 3.0, when they know they are getting a better engine (might be) better interiors etc.
There are still many people in India who will remain uninformed of this and unawaringly buy 3.0 (majority buyers do not fall into the category of enthusiast)
Old 2nd August 2007, 15:25   #669

Actually lot of people will. So new Safari is coming. You know that I know that, but there are 100s others who just casually stroll in to buy. They just have the moolah but hardly do such deep research. They will end up buying since you can be damn sure the showrooms will not proactively reveal this info.

Then there are the neta sheta types and the govt. depts. They do not give a hoot to all these. The moment the fund gets sanctioned the vehicle is ordered for.

A third type are the bargain hunters. You can bet your last pretty penny on it that the vehicle will now come with massive discounts. You probably can pull in a cash discount of 80,000 or more. 30-40,000 was anyhow available upto now, depending on the city. So for some this is a golden opportunity to pick up a new safari at bargain rates.
Old 2nd August 2007, 15:26   #670

It might not be true, since most of the testing is done before they turn to the production assembly lines and before they submit it to ARAI. Tushky had already given us spy pics of Safari standing outside ARAI.

The way manufacturing industry work is, design, test and then release to production. No changes are made once its released to production and on the assembly lines. All parts, spares and accessories are planned and ordered accordngly so that the assembly lines do not stop.

Unless, they find some glitch at the last moment, then the release will be delayed to uncertainty, if an immediate breakfix cannot be provided and some people will loose their jobs.

The track tests are done inside the TATA motors facility, so you will not see them on public roads.

Last edited by dadu : 2nd August 2007 at 15:30.
Old 2nd August 2007, 16:00   #671
LLL

So anyone has any clue now whats the discount on safari ?
Old 2nd August 2007, 16:10   #672

Thanks Dadu..........that was one good explanation for people like me who dont know the process.....

Thanks.....
Old 2nd August 2007, 16:23   #673

Originally Posted by LLL View Post
So anyone has any clue now whats the discount on safari ?
Well, even if the discounts are still not very high you can be pretty sure that by the middle of Aug or max after 20th if they realize that there is still a lot of stock lying around (and that I reckon will happen) the discounts will go up, as close to a lakh as possible. Or could be even more.
Old 2nd August 2007, 16:26   #674
HSV

Can anyone throw some light on what actually happened with respect to discounts on TCIC 2.0 when the DICOR 3.0 was going to be launched? that'd give us an idea what to expect in the coming few weeks.
Old 2nd August 2007, 17:30   #675

Safari 3.0 engine was tested and mostly all the issues with the engine were sorted out, The 2.2 engine wil be new and seeing the history of TATA, they do all the testing online i mean on cutomers, who spend their hard earned money.
Can someone throw some light on reliability of 2.2l engine?

Last edited by Zappo : 2nd August 2007 at 17:52. Reason: Spelling corrections done. Please re-read your post after submitting and rectify errors if any by using the Edit button.