Team-BHP - Chevrolet SRV Launced

-   -   Chevrolet SRV Launced (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/14696-chevrolet-srv-launced-9.html)

Looks quite cool...
But they should have given sporty pedals as standard...

A good looker for sure.. has that classy european look to it..

should be a killer in metallic red or black...

any idea what is the OTR price in Bangalore?

In my view i think its a best looking premium hatchback clap:. But still would like to have sporty things just like Palio GTX1.6 . Something sporty:)

highly pricy no vfm...... so i would nt go for it........................

Originally Posted by adi

Man what a bought and paid for review. I wonder what GM paid this guy to push the SRV.

Anyone who wants to "thrash" this kind of car is going to "trash" it pretty quick.

He says the gearbox is bad (because anyone who drives the car will automatically figure it out), and then tries to convince you that it's ok, the car is still sporty even if the gears are crap. How the hell do a thrash a car with a bad gearbox? You'll get killed if it jams while trying to shift.

Also, I didn't know painting a car "Subaru blue" automatically made it an STi. In that case, where can I get Ferrari scarlett for my car??

Ok I guess I'm off topic, but so called corporate suck-up journalists like these taking people for a ride pisses me off.

Sell the car on its own merits (which I'm sure it has). Don't scam people.

I too feel SRV is highly overpriced. And GM has killed another good car!
The last one was hatch too (Corsa Sail).
At the moment if anyone need a Sporty Hatch, Palio 1.6 Sports is the Best one! And it costs just 5.2 lacs (OTR price in Bangalore).

Man what a bought and paid for review. I wonder what GM paid this guy to push the SRV.
LOL, you said it. What a desperate effort to sell the SRV on a huge-traffic website.

GM appears to been paying off pretty well.

For those interested in the SRV's price/performance ratio there is a link on the test drive thread as well.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/new-ca...rv-driven.html

I too wonder what GM was thinking. Yes the 1.8 Holden engine would offer 11hp more (in the present tune) but given that the SRV is being positioned as a "hot hatch" the same Holden engine could be tuned to produce more. Holden for example sells a 120+hp Astra (see link) http://www.gminsidenews.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=28205 this car competes with Nissan's Tiida with it's 126HP 1.8L powerplant.

GM has been in trouble for years. It is not that they dont have the technology or the knowledge base it is just they make a hash or harnessing their international infrastructure and alliances. It is not like they dont know how to produce a "hot hatch" (see the Astra VXR Turbo hatch).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hot_hatch
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/ca...h_faceoff.html

101 ps is something like 94 or 95 bhp, isnt it? (100 bhp = 107 ps, or is it the other way around?)

That's pathetic for a car positioned as a "hot hatch"! I guess thats why it doesnt have ABS or dual airbags, cuz its never gonna go fast enough to need those. Some car mag timed it at 11.7 for a 0-100... correct me if I'm wrong but isnt the Esteem quicker than that?

That's pathetic for a car positioned as a "hot hatch"!
Exactly my point. An impotent hot hatch, if you please. People who want true performance will always opt for a Baleno / Vtec / Fiesta 1.6.

101 ps is something like 94 or 95 bhp, isnt it? (100 bhp = 107 ps, or is it the other way around?)
Incorrect. 1 BHP = 1.014 PS

Originally Posted by GTO
People who want true performance will always opt for a Baleno / Vtec / Fiesta 1.6.

GTO, you missed out Palio 1.6 !!!

C&D has ranked Suzuki Reno/Chevy SRV the worst in their subcompact face off.
http://automobiles.honda.com/images/...141_eprint.pdf

the SRV is supposed to a hot hatch. right? well apart from me there are quite a few that dont think it is so hot.

compare the srv to the palio 1.6 which cost a few Lakh less. the Palio 1.6 has better timings. Ok it does not have better legroom but is this the point of a hot hatch? even so the SRV would have to match the Palio's performance AND offer better legroom and interiors to justify costing 50% more.

Compare the SRV to the Vtec. The Vtec runs circles around it in performance esp since hte SRV does not like being revved above 3000rpm and offers the about the same level of trim. so unless one is willing to sacrifice quite a bit of performance for a bit more legroom why buy the SRV (boot or no boot).

I would love the SRV to be a better car. believe me my mom waitied for it to be released as she wanted a hatch that could match the Vtec's performance and have some more luxury (in the front) like better interiors, ACC, etc.. the SRV sadly has disappointed atleast this buyer.

SRV at such high price is robbery.
Going from reviews posted here, if it had better timing more goodies it could have been justified.

adya33, what hurts most is that GM has the ingredients. They had a 1.8L engire that can be tuned to 120hp and nice Aveo interiors etc...