Old 1st April 2014, 16:40   #16

Re: Snapdeal.com to sell Bullet-proof Kits for the Scorpio

I just confirmed from a friend working in snapdeal, he said its NOT a joke.

Last edited by Mohitkumaar : 1st April 2014 at 16:47.
Mohitkumaar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st April 2014, 18:22   #17
M35

Originally Posted by M35 View Post
Snapdeal.com to sell Mahindra Defense Bullet-proof kits for Scorpio !

Total Price of Product : Rs 12.67 lacs
Actually there are three variants available !

1.Executive

Total Price of Product : Rs 12.67 lakhs

2.Premium

Total Price of Product : Rs 16.07 lakhs

3.VVIP

Total Price of Product : Rs 18.33 lakhs
M35 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st April 2014, 20:06   #18

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
is the 12.67 lacs just for the standalone kit or is the price inclusive of the Scorpio?

I guess it is 12.67 lacs for an bolt-on kit + another 12 lacs for a scorpio. So we are looking at close to 30 lacs OTR.

His bank balance would be in zillions, where he could afford the ML370 Bulletproof edition if he an SUV fan or the A8L Armoured edition if he likes Sedans.
To clarify two things. One, the car you are talking about is the ML350.
Secondly, there are thousands of people in this country who travel by cheaper SUV's on their names to save for the taxes. So those are the viable customers. Just saying.
Its a stupid idea though.
Old 1st April 2014, 23:10   #19

Originally Posted by devilwearsprada View Post
To clarify two things. One, the car you are talking about is the ML350.
Secondly, there are thousands of people in this country who travel by cheaper SUV's on their names to save for the taxes. So those are the viable customers. Just saying.
Its a stupid idea though.
I was referring to ML370 only. This SUV can be armoured on request. (https://www.google.co.in/search?q=me...w=1366&bih=651)

There are thousands of people who travel by cheaper SUVs, but the percentage of people who require bullet-proofing / Armouring is miniscule.
Old 3rd April 2014, 15:07   #20

I wouldn't go around bashing Mahindra and Snapdeal on this, after all it is to create awareness of such product existing in the market. And even if 1 or 2 customers come via this model, the complete effort would be paid off. The point that we are discussing is a success in itself. If you are wondering who would order one such thing? I would, if I live near Maoist prone area or the J&K of late 90s. It would give a certain amount of peace of mind that your family would be protected in a worst case scenario. Again I could be wrong here, Mr. & Mrs. Terrorist/Moaist have long been using automatic high calibre weapons, for which this product is not designed for.

Like someone else said in that case it's the Marauder/ Beast for me.

D.
Old 3rd April 2014, 19:27   #21

This is an interesting read for the Safari kit , especially the excerpt

"There is no such thing as absolute bullet-proof. A bullet-proof vehicle is able to shield from the first bullet only." Before the second bullet penetrates, there is an inch gap and that enables one to be on guard and evade the next bullet." So when you invest in armour car, what you really buy is time, time to react and make right decisions," Parikh adds."

http://tata.com/article/inside/7CKdz...=/TLYVr3YPkMU=
Old 3rd April 2014, 20:34   #22

This kind of protection is what one would call a VR2 level of protection, only from small hand guns (9 mm). However, with assault rifles not that common in India I think its good enough for the builders/politicians and their likes.

But if one is actually attacked by Assault Rifles or Magnums this kind of bullet-proofing wouldn't help.

Mercedes E-Guard is VR4, S-Guard & G-Guard is VR6/VR7 level of protection so the extra dough spent here is worth each penny because of the kind of resistance these vehicles provide compared to our humble Scorpio here.