Old 18th April 2014, 12:08   #76

Re: Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene

Originally Posted by dreamseller View Post
I think the Suzuki F8B is the longest running engine in production in India.
Mahindra collaborated with Peugeot for the XDP diesel engine in the late seventies. That motor also had a super long run. In fact, derivatives of that continue to be sold today. The Bolero / Xylo 2.5L CRDes are based on the XD3P which itself was based on the 2.1L XDP.

Originally Posted by D4D View Post
Hyundai used to sell getz as a 1.3 l, but it had a 1341 cc engine.
Which reminds me, the national engine of India is actually a 1.2L and not 1.3L (it's 1,248 cc).

Originally Posted by vish_wagon View Post
Recently, the best selling car for Nissan in India is the Terrano. It's is a car that's actually got the brandbadge changed (or should I say transferred) TWICE!
Nissan got it from Renault, and Renault have got it from Dacia.
The Logan has also seen a branding change from Dacia to Mahindra-Renault to only Mahindra now.

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
The 5 Speed MPFi version of the M800 was launched during the first half of 2000.
The 5-speed Maruti 800 MPFi was then the sole car whose needle could exceed the max speedometer marking. Someone had once done it on the ARAI track & uploaded a picture somewhere.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 12:58   #77

Originally Posted by voyageur View Post

3. The CBZ yet again was the first Indian bike (afaik) to offer 240mm Nissin front disc and had a mind blowing pick up (0-60 kmph in 5 secs and top speed of 114 kmph).
yes..but if I remember correctly, the disc on CBZ was optional.It was available with a 130 mm drum up-front too,with a lower price tag and there was a considerable demand for this variant too. I think it was the pulsar that made front disc brakes standard on mainstream 150cc + bikes in India. Please Correct me if I am wrong.

4. In my childhood, I have heard a rumour that Pulsar had to cut down its fuel tank size from 18 liters to 15 liters. (not so sure about this) The design was inspired by a muscular wide open muscular human arm.
Yes..that is correct.The first gen pulsars (both the classic and 1st Gen DTSi) had 18 litre fuel tanks. Even the Bullet didn't have such tank capacity. I own a 1st gen DTSi with such a massive tank. I have never done a tank full in these entire 11 years of owning it. 10 litre is the maximum that I have ever filled.

With the first upgrade of the DTSi series, Bajaj downsized both the tank and the rim size.

6. The Hero Honda CBZ was the only bike that I have seen that kicker lever hits the foot pegs if not folded. One had to fold the foot pegs and then kick start the bike and again unfold the foot pegs.
yes..that was a major design flaw on an otherwise superb bike.Used to be so annoying to fold the right-foot peg everytime before kick-starting the bike.
And Electric start was not a standard feature then.

But I remember,the same issue was tackled in a very simple and clever manner by TVS, by just giving an angular bend to the kick-lever.
I think it was on Apache or 1st gen RTR- can't remember the exact model and year.

Last edited by VinodDevil81 : 18th April 2014 at 13:07.
VinodDevil81 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 13:37   #78

[quote=voyageur;3415714]
Originally Posted by VinodDevil81 View Post
yes..but if I remember correctly, the disc on CBZ was optional.It was available with a 130 mm drum up-front too,with a lower price tag and there was a considerable demand for this variant too. I think it was the pulsar that made front disc brakes standard on mainstream 150cc + bikes in India. Please Correct me if I am wrong.
Right. CBZ had an option of disc/drum & Electric start.

I own a 1st gen DTSi with such a massive tank. I have never done a tank full in these entire 11 years of owning it. 10 litre is the maximum that I have ever filled.

With the first upgrade of the DTSi series, Bajaj downsized both the tank and the rim size.
Spot on. Was launched on 15th Oct 2003 (how time flies) & I got one on 4th Nov '03.

I remember,the same issue was tackled in a very simple and clever manner by TVS, by just giving an angular bend to the kick-lever.
I think it was on Apache or 1st gen RTR- can't remember the exact model and year.
In Apache as well you had to bend the footpeg to kick-start? The Apache 150 I think.

HH Ambition too had this weird starting set up IIRC.

----------------------------------------------

BTW, Car's badges being stolen isn't in the practice anymore?
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 13:41   #79

Thank you for such an informative thread(and fun to read too). Heard the Bajaj chetak too had this waiting period dilemma and people selling second hand for a higher margin. Looking forward to read more contributions from felow BHPians!
Old 18th April 2014, 14:01   #80

M&M started "Project Scorpio" way back in 1997 and Bolero was the entry strategy into non-commercial market.

The project captured the spirit of company’s intention - to sting the competition with a superior market offer. For this purpose the company started the product development process termed as IDAM - Integrated Design and Manufacturing. The Initial team consisted of 7 people drawn from different functional departments. The team was further increased to 120 people drawn from all the different departments of the company. This IDAM team, consisting of people from various functions such as design and development, testing and validation, marketing, manufacturing, and supplier development, etc., was further divided into 19 cross-functional teams. The cross-functional nature of the team ensured quick decisions with built-in checks and balances.

The IDAM team followed a systematic sequence of steps in the product development
process. For evaluating market opportunity, the members of different cross-functional teams visited various locations and interacted with about 500 customers to obtain insight into customer requirements, usage of products and their expectations and perceptions.

Regarding name of the vehicle as Scorpio those suggested included Warrior, Terrainer, Stormer, Stallion, Fusion, and Sting.
These and other names were subjected to extensive qualitative and quantitative consumer research. Some of the names did fit the off-road properties and provided connotations of strength, toughness and power. But most did not suggest luxury or good aesthetic appearance. Scorpio emerged as a strong contender brand name in the research and the familiarity of the company executives with the name tilted the decision in the favour of this brand name. The name Scorpio was a registered brand name of Ford. However, they gave permission to M & M to use the name except in markets where Ford had competing offers.
rahul_sinha is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 14:20   #81

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene

Great thread GTO.
A real good collection of some amazing facts. Thanks
Something interesting about my grandfathers rajdoot. He had used it for more than 10 years. In 1998 he suffered a heart attack and my mom asked one of my uncles to take the rajdoot and forced my grandfather to buy a scooty as the doctor had advised him to use a light vehicle. As soon my uncle took the bike
Home his neighbour who had diary wanted to buy the rajdoot for the milk supplying business. I don't know the year my grandfather got the bike in but he had bought it for 6k and when sold we got 12k for that bike. A profit of 6k even after using it for 10+ years

Originally Posted by voyageur View Post

6. The Hero Honda CBZ was the only bike that I have seen that kicker lever hits the foot pegs if not folded. One had to fold the foot pegs and then kick start the bike and again unfold the foot pegs.

I just would like to correct you here. The CBZ isn't the only bike with such a problem. Even the Yamaha Fz16/Fazer's manufactured after 2011 suffer from this problem. The kick doesn't go down until you fold the foot peg.

Last edited by asit.kulkarni93 : 18th April 2014 at 14:28.
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 14:30   #82

M800 5-speed was the only car i guess which could go beyond marked 140kmph on the speedometer in the stock form
Old 18th April 2014, 14:32   #83

Originally Posted by rahul_sinha View Post
M&M started "Project Scorpio" way back in 1997 and Bolero was the entry strategy into non-commercial market.
Scorpio emerged as a strong contender brand name in the research and the familiarity of the company executives with the name tilted the decision in the favour of this brand name. The name Scorpio was a registered brand name of Ford. However, they gave permission to M & M to use the name except in markets where Ford had competing offers.
Mahindra also formed a Security Services group to keep the development of Scorpio as a secret. The group (MSSG) now is Mahindra's independent Security Services provider to anybody who wants it. Interestingly, TATA motors is one of the name in their client list.

Also, I believe 'Scorpio' was adopted to continue the new trend to name Mahindra cars with 'O' (Bolero, Scorpio, Xylo, Verito and so on).
sourabhzen is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 14:34   #84

1. Apart from the Qualis, I think "Maruti 800 5-speed" is the only Indian car to be axed when the sales was at its peak. The reason cited was that the margins were very low, and it was eating into the sales of the Alto 800 which had higher margins.

2. Sipani Dolphin and Montana were the only Indian cars with fibre body (and then the new Reva?).
See this thread for details http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...i-dolphin.html

Last edited by jinojohnt : 18th April 2014 at 14:50.
jinojohnt is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 15:46   #85

Originally Posted by jinojohnt View Post
2. Sipani Dolphin and Montana were the only Indian cars with fibre body (and then the new Reva?).
See this thread for details http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...i-dolphin.html
Kinetic City car too had a fibre body. But it did not see the light of the day actually. It was a 500 (or 550CC?) car developed by Kinetic for city. The car was developed and prototypes were test driven too. But finally the car never made to the public roads.

Last edited by saket77 : 18th April 2014 at 15:57.
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 15:55   #86

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
In Apache as well you had to bend the footpeg to kick-start? The Apache 150 I think.
No..you don't need to bend the footpeg to kick-start in Apache. That is exactly what I was trying to say.Though the rear-set footrest was in the way of the kick-lever's travel just like CBZ, TVS gave the kick-lever such a bend-angle, that while kicking,the lever would go past the footrest without touching it anywhere.Thus there was no need to bend the foot-peg each time before kick-starting. I think it was RTR.

HH Ambition too had this weird starting set up IIRC.
No, HH Ambition had an upright seating position with relatively forward-set footpegs. So this weird issue was not present in Ambition. May be, its the Karizma.
Old 18th April 2014, 16:04   #87

I own a Honda Eterno and adding a couple of pointers of this wonder machine which was so very unique to Honda and also to the Indian scooter market.

In the history of Honda (read that as two wheelers), nowhere else in world has it manufactured a hand operated, geared, side engined scooter! Eterno was a completely unique product for Honda itself!

Eterno was the only side engined, 4 stroke scooter to use a body on chassis (tubular) construction. (Bajaj Legend sported a side engined, monocoque construction and the TVS Spectra sported a body on chassis construction with engine in the center)

Honda on the Eterno came up with a simple gear shift locker (on the clutch lever) that ensured the vehicle would not slot into a gear without the clutch being depressed. Also, the geart shift followed the 'all down' pattern that enabled a user to quickly shift to neutral or first gear with less fuss. These were some of the drawbacks (gear shift locker, one up and three down shift pattenr) Honda noticed on a Bajaj and Vespa scooters and improved it to a great length on the Eterno.

The Eterno used a single cable mechanism for both clutch and gear shift operations and used lubricated cable jacket (even for the front and rear brakes) to improve cable longevity (I have not changed a single cable on my scooter since I bought it in 2004!!!).

Another interesting bit about this scooter, to improve straight line stability and balance while braking, the front and rear wheels are offset at a angle and are not in a straight line!

Last edited by vinair : 18th April 2014 at 16:06.
vinair is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 16:23   #88

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
The RX 100 could not cope up with the newly implemented emission norms. They introduced the RX 135 claiming its less polluting and later the RXG (G for Green according to Escorts).
Anjan Sir,
Due apologies, RX 100 was succeeded by RXG. The RXG failed to set the sales due to a very bad jerky ride in lower speeds due to an imbalanced counterweights. Yamaha did rectify it by adding counter weight on the magnets to offset the jerky ride. This had solved the issue but sales continued to drop forcing them to switch back to RX convention and dropping the G letter.
ku69rd is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 16:26   #89

My Dad had booked a Bajaj 150 sometime in 1975, in my name. The waiting list was too long and every two years someone from the family would go to the showroom to enquire about the delivery position and waiting time. The employees at the showroom were more arrogant than some babus.They knew customers could be made to dance to their tunes and drums.In fact, many of the dealers and their workforce indulged in such behaviour be it cars or scooters.

By 1978, the Bajaj 150 had been upgraded and had become the more chic Bajaj Super, donning the old Vespa like speedo, metallic aluminium coloured wheel discs (change from the body coloured earlier), sharp edged side panels and the signature headlights of the Vespas from the 1970's. After a few years, around 1983, this classic Vespa shape was given a desi look by Bajaj Auto with rounded headlights, round speedometer but the body shape remained almost the same.The wheel disc colour became grey (non metallic).

Now after ten years of waiting patiently, the booking matured in early October 1985.I went to the showroom with dad. To our surprise, the dealer himself showed us a newly launched Bajaj Cub with the 125 cc engine. He said that this had the same performance but would be frugal, as far as its fuel consumption was concerned. I test drove but was not impressed.

Moreover, teambhp and teambhpians were non-existent in 1985, so I could pose queries and get some logical answers. But I could follow that this was the Vespa XE and Vespa PL 170 syndrome that Bajaj Auto was suffering from. Bajaj, it appeared, was the least bothered about the multiple Vijais (Super, Allwyn Pushpak, Lambretta Cento by SIL and so on) in the market and also the Lamby (the Lamby Polo was launched around then) that was dying its death due to a prolonged illness.But eventually the Vespa XE and PL 170 would be beaten black and blue.

I finally discussed with my Dad and rejected the Cub, zeroing in on the Super. It donned the light parrot green colour. The delivery was taken on 15/10/1985 at a cost price of Rs 13,000 odd. I handed over the scooter to my brother after a few months of use. Till today he maintains it very caringly, with its original paint.

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene-page3-056.jpg

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene-page3-032.jpg

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene-page3-053.jpg

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene-picture-345.jpg

Fun & Interesting Trivia on the Indian Car Scene-bajaj-cub.jpg
anjan_c2007 is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 18th April 2014, 16:36   #90

Originally Posted by ku69rd View Post
Anjan Sir,
Due apologies, RX 100 was succeeded by RXG. The RXG failed to set the sales due to a very bad jerky ride in lower speeds due to an imbalanced counterweights. Yamaha did rectify it by adding counter weight on the magnets to offset the jerky ride. This had solved the issue but sales continued to drop forcing them to switch back to RX convention and dropping the G letter.
True, friend I stand corrected,the RX 135 succeeded the RXG.
anjan_c2007 is online now   (1) Thanks